Updated date:

Indian State Uttrakhand History


Dev Bhoomi Uttarakhand

In mythological texts, the Kurmanchal region was popularly known as Manaskhand. In the mythological texts, the creation of Siddha Gandharva, Yaksha, Kinnar castes in the northern Himalayas and Kuber, the king of this world have been described. The capital of Kubera is said to be Alkapuri (above Badrinath). According to the Puranas, sage-sages used to meditate and meditate in the ashram in the kingdom of King Kubera. According to the British historians, the Hun, Shaka, Nag, Khas etc. castes also lived in the Himalayan region. In the mythological texts, there is a widespread mention of this area in the name of Kedar Khand and Manas Khand. This area has been considered as Devbhoomi and Tapobhumi.

The names of Kurmanchal and Kumaon of Manas Khand came into existence during the rule of Chand kings. The rule of the Chand kings on Kurmanchal started after the Katyuris and lasted till 1790. In 1890, the Gorkha army of Nepal invaded Kumaon and subjugated the Kumaon state. The Gurkhas ruled Kumaon from 1890 to 1815. After the final defeat of the British in 1815, the Gorkha army went back to Nepal, but the British did not give the rule of Kumaon to the Chand kings under the East India Company. In this way, the British rule over Kumaon started from 1815.

Uttarakhand, part of the United Provinces, 1903

According to historical accounts, Kedar Khand was divided into several strongholds (forts). These strongholds had different kings who had their own hegemony. According to historians, the king of the Panwar dynasty subordinated these strongholds and established a unified Garhwal kingdom and made Srinagar his capital. The name Garhwal of Kedar Khand came into vogue only then. In 1803, the Gurkha army of Nepal invaded the state of Garhwal and subjugated it. This attack is popularly known as Gorkhali in Lokjan. Maharaja Garhwal sought help from the British to free the state from the suzerainty of the Gorkha army of Nepal. The British army finally defeated the Gorkha army of Nepal near Dehradun in 1815. But due to the inability of the then Maharaja of Garhwal to pay the prescribed amount of war expenditure, the British did not hand over the entire Garhwal state to King Garhwal and included the former part of Alaknanda-Mandakini under the rule of East India Company and the Maharaja of Garhwal. Returned only the territory of Tehri district (including present-day Uttarkashi). Sudarshan Shah, the then Maharaja of Garhwal, established his capital on 24 December 1815 at a place called Tehri, a small village at the confluence of the Bhagirathi and Bhilangana rivers. After some years, his successor Maharaja Narendra Shah established another capital named Narendranagar at a place called Odathali. From 1815, Dehradun and Pauri Garhwal (including Agastyamuni and Ukhimath development block of present Chamoli district and Rudraprayag district) were under the British and Tehri Garhwal was under Maharaja Tehri. [8] [9]

The state of Tehri was merged with the Indian Republic in August 1979 and Tehri was declared a district in the then United Provinces (Uttar Pradesh). Three border districts Uttarkashi, Chamoli and Pithoragarh were formed in the year 1980 with a view to developing border areas against the backdrop of the Indo-China war of 1962. As a result of the reorganization of Uttar Pradesh as a new state (Uttar Pradesh Reorganization Act, 2000), Uttarakhand was established on 8 November 2000. Hence, this day is celebrated as the Foundation Day in Uttarakhand.

Till 1949, except Dehradun, all the districts of Uttarakhand were under the Kumaon division. The Garhwal division was established in 1949 with its headquarters as Pauri. In the year 1985, Dehradun district which was included in Meerut division was included in Garhwal division. This increased the number of districts in Garhwal division to five. Numaital, Almora, Pithoragarh and three districts were included in the Kumaon division. Before the formation of Udhamsingh Nagar in 1949 and Rudraprayag, Champawat and Bageshwar districts in 196, Garhwal and Kumaon divisions consisted of six districts each before the formation of Uttarakhand state. After the inclusion of Haridwar district in the state of Uttarakhand, there are seven districts in the Garhwal division and six districts in the Kumaon division. The name of the state has been changed from "Uttaranchal" to "Uttarakhand" with effect from 1 January 2007.

Related Articles