Skip to main content
Updated date:

Positive Review of Wal-Mart Straight Talk Basic Cell Phone Service Plan

My Samsung flip phone. It came with my Straight Talk plan.

My Samsung flip phone. It came with my Straight Talk plan.

Is Straight Talk any good?

Is Wal-Mart’s Straight Talk phone service very good? You’ve heard that the plans are cheap and don’t require a contract.

But is having a Straight Talk plan worth the low price? I’ve had a Straight Talk plan for about two years now, and, for me, it’s totally worth it.

When I was tired of paying what I thought was too much on cellular phone service, I opted to try Wal-Mart’s Straight Talk phone service. Why not? There is no contract to tie a person in, so I could switch back to another provider after a month or so if I didn’t like it.

Around Christmas time, year before last, there was a sale on Straight Talk phones, so I picked up one. You pay for a month of minutes, with the phone included in the price.

The screen is small but readable.

The screen is small but readable.

The keypad

The keypad

Straight Talk Plans

There are two basic Straight Talk plans. Neither requires an activation fee or contract. I have a landline at home, and so I don’t use my cell phone exclusively. I use its minutes for mostly long distance calls, and I text only occasionally, so I don’t need a fancy phone with unlimited minutes. For only $45, though, you get a great plan with unlimited phone minutes, texting, and internet. There is even a $60 plan that includes nationwide and international minutes. Not needing all that, I opted for the $30 plan that comes with 1000 phone minutes and 1000 texts—plenty for me.

The downside of these inexpensive phones is that there is more difficulty in texting and obtaining internet access. Having several letters on one key makes texting a little tedious. Getting online isn’t an easy process, either, but that doesn’t matter to me. I have a great laptop at home that I use all the time for internet access, so I don’t need to access the internet on a tiny little phone screen. The phone that comes with the $45 plan looks to be a little larger and perhaps a bit easier to use, but it is nothing fancy either. Still, the service is cheap and you can upgrade your phone to something more user-friendly for you--either through Straight Talk's phone selection or a phone of your own, as long as it is compatible.


4 star for $30 phone due to limited texting & internet access. Still, this service is all I need! Try the $45 plan for more!

Discounts on Straight Talk Plans

You can take in a cell phone of your choosing to the store to see if it is compatible with the Straight Talk plan. Many phones will work with Straight Talk, including some smart phones. You can also purchase a SIM card from Straight Talk to insert into your existing cell phone..

Don’t knock getting your mobile phone service at Wal-Mart. While not a big name brand, Straight Talk offers a dependable service at a low price. As if the price isn’t low enough, you can save even more online by using a Straight Talk coupon code. I wish I had known that when I bought my Straight Talk cell phone plan. Check out Straight Talk promo codes, too, when you’re considering your Straight Talk options. If you want to save on a reliable, basic phone service, Wal-Mart’s Straight Talk can save you a bundle!


Opinions on Straight Talk

More telephone options

Straight Talk works with the iPhone! Here's how:

Comments

Victoria Lynn (author) from Arkansas, USA on February 06, 2014:

aaron838 I'm sorry you had a bad experience with them. Did you have to sign up for a year long service plan? I didn't think they did that. I was going to sign up for the home service but then changed my mind. I was on the phone for an hour before I got anyone from customer service. I haven't had any issues with the cell phone plan. I've had it for years. I dread the day I have to call customer service for anything, though. My only experience with that didn't go too well either. Customer service isn't their strong suit. I signed up because it was cheap, and the service has been fine. I can certainly understand your frustration, though.

aaron838 on February 05, 2014:

straight talk has by far the WORST customer service of any company I have dealt with in my entire life.

they are completely incompetent and under-trained. they have also lied to me to get me off the phone. promising one thing, only to be disappointed.

i have called about this particular issue FOUR (4) times and just checked my account to see that, again, i have been lied to and will have to call AGAIN for the fifth time.

my issue is straight talk royally screwed up my phone transfer. story short, i ended up buying a year long service plan + a 30 day service plan + they gave me a free month for the huge mess up on their part.

that means my service plan, with all the time added up, should expire 3/4/15. of course, since NO ONE at STRAIGHT TALK has any idea of what they are doing (they barely speak/understand English) i'll have to call in for the 5TH time.

the last four times, i tell them they need to escalate the call to a real manager (they lie and say they are a manager -- don't believe them!). they assure my the dates are changed. i call them liars. again, they assure me. i usually have to submit to their incompetence cause by then i am just so frustrated.

a couple days after each call, i log back into my account only to see the dates changed back!

i am done trying to get what i paid for.

STRAIGHT TALK IS HORRIBLE. DO NOT SWITCH TO THIS COMPANY.

Victoria Lynn (author) from Arkansas, USA on May 17, 2013:

Takeittopieces--Thanks for the information. I appreciate it.

Takeittopieces on May 15, 2013:

Good article, please note the details however that only gsm compatible phones (AT&T or T-Mobile) are capable of taking advantage of the BYOP service by straight talk. Although not stated very clearly in their literature you can decode the service that each handset uses by reading the badge on the lower left of the package i.e. GSM-A=AT&T, GSM=T-Mobile, CDMA or CDMA-V=Verizon and CDMA-S is Sprint.

Victoria Lynn (author) from Arkansas, USA on May 01, 2013:

Thanks, juniper, for the input. It's Verizon here. Do you use Straight Talk there--and do you like the service?

juniper77 on May 01, 2013:

Straight Talk is owned by TracFone. Depending on where you live, and which phone you buy, you may go off the towers of several different providers. For instance; if you live in Oregon, and buy a CDMA-V ST phone, then you will get your service through Verizon towers. If you live elsewhere, and buy a GSM phone, you may go off of Sprint or another providers towers.

Victoria Lynn (author) from Arkansas, USA on April 30, 2013:

Veronica--That's neat. Verizon now owns ST. Did they when you switched?

Veronica on April 30, 2013:

My husband & I switched to ST 2years ago from Verizon, best move we made.

Victoria Lynn (author) from Arkansas, USA on April 25, 2013:

Margaret Teague--The service does provide the internet, but the $30 plan that I have is hard to use. I can't tell how to get there, and the screen is so small. I know that it's much easier on the phone that comes with the $45 plan. You should be able to access your email from that phone. I hope that helps!

Margaret Teague on April 25, 2013:

Does this service provide the internet? Would I be able to use my email at cox.net?

Victoria Lynn (author) from Arkansas, USA on March 14, 2013:

Sean--thanks for the input. ST works great for me. I text a little, but I don't need the apps or internet. Good to know!

Sean on March 12, 2013:

Saw your article as came up for 3rd ranking when google ST. If all you want phone for is talk/text good deal. If you are going to use apps, or internet (i.e. most Android or Iphone) you gonna be slammed fast with their 250 mb throttle, i.e. your internet access speed will drop down drastically. So not good deal with Andriod or iPhones as pretty much paper weights. See article: http://www.pcworld.com/article/248360/t_mobile_and...

Victoria Lynn (author) from Arkansas, USA on March 10, 2013:

James, thanks for that input! That's great info for iPhone users and families. Thanks so much! I'm not going to try Straight Talk for my home phone, too!

James on March 10, 2013:

We've been a Straight Talk family going on 2 years. We've had no service problems. I know what is coming for they are about a year behind the big carriers, for example you can now use an IPhone. The Iphone 5 from them is $650 and $45 a month, and over a 24 month period that works out to $72 a month. The big carrier is $299 plus $110 a month which comes out to $125 a month for 24 mos. They automatically deduct my account so I never have to worry about running out. To those who asked on the $30 plan minutes do not roll over. I did calculate though if you get up to 4-5 phones on your plan big carriers are competitive at that point.

Victoria Lynn (author) from Arkansas, USA on February 28, 2013:

Tom S--Thanks for the input! Yes, Straight Talk would be great as a quick backup! I do understand that you can get a card to put into your iPhone if you want to save money that way, too. At any rate, Straight Talk is definitely an excellent option.

Tom Schumacher from Huntington Beach, CA on February 28, 2013:

Victoria, about a year ago while traveling I broke my iPhone and needed a replacement ASAP. So, I purchased a prepaid from Wal-Mart with Net10 service. It was great! I paid $53 for one month of unlimited everything service. As you stated, "there's no contract." I did, however, return to my smart phone because it has many features I enjoy and found texting and surfing the internet much easier. But, as a backup option, or even a primary cell for users that don't require all the bells and whistles, getting a prepaid is the smart choice.

Victoria Lynn (author) from Arkansas, USA on February 26, 2013:

Kasman--I've been really happy with my service. I've had it for several years now. I'm not thinking about getting Straight Talk's home phone service for $15/month. If I do, I'll write a review of that, too! Thanks for your input--and for voting and sharing!

Kas from Bartlett, Tennessee on February 26, 2013:

My wife and I are looking for a good cell phone plan to get onto when our contract runs out in a few months. Ready to save money and this gives me a good idea of another option to look into. Also, as long as I can put this sim in an iPhone, I might be on board. Thanks for writing this article and I'm voting up and sharing as very useful!

Victoria Lynn (author) from Arkansas, USA on February 23, 2013:

Kevin--I think you're right. It depends on how many minutes are needed. Now that I don't need my cell for work, I might be able to go even cheaper. Thanks for the input!

Kevin Pulliam on February 23, 2013:

look into the net 10 service, minute wise it is cheaper than tracphone, just depends on how many minutes you need and use tracphone minutes bout .15 to .20 a minute and net 10 is .10ct a min and .05ct for text

Victoria Lynn (author) from Arkansas, USA on February 13, 2013:

Diane Harrington--I don't use mine for internet either. I wonder if I could get by with a Tracfone. I thought what I was paying was cheap--but $9.00! Wow! Thanks for sharing that!

Diane Harrington on February 13, 2013:

I have had a Nokia Tracfone for several years....I am frugal, and just normally get what I need....don't need texting or internet access on my phone....really like the Tracfone....( use it for long distance and in auto for all needs, etc...)..I have basic hardline phone with no frills for just over $20.00 monthly, and an internet server for $10.00, monthly...

Most know that I don't have special long distance service, so they call me, and I email them, or call them when it's important.....Tracfone is the most reasonable I found, with no contract....a small fee for the phone....to keep the phone active, you need to add minutes once a year, at least.....any minutes left from previous year, you keep....I add $100.00 to phone each year, usually have minutes left from previous year, and there's usually promo where I get extra minutes as well...so, my monthly fee is approx. $9.00 per month...

Victoria Lynn (author) from Arkansas, USA on January 15, 2013:

Yes, tommyjohnson, Straight Talk is a great deal. I don't know anything about the Southgate Mall, though.

tommyjohnson on January 15, 2013:

This seems like it could be a good deal. Do you happen to know of a good Bell stores in the Southgate Mall?

http://www.storelocator.bell.ca

Victoria Lynn (author) from Arkansas, USA on January 06, 2013:

bobby j ross--That sounds like a good deal. I think Straight Talk is a great service. Thanks for reading.

bobby j ross on January 04, 2013:

if i purchase the cell phone with the 1000 minutes will the minutes roll over

Victoria Lynn (author) from Arkansas, USA on December 10, 2012:

ptosis--It's nice not to have a contract--AND a cheap bill each month!

ptosis from Arizona on December 10, 2012:

Great hub - can't wait to get out of my contract with Verizon (sigh)

Victoria Lynn (author) from Arkansas, USA on June 05, 2012:

Interesting, screaming. I'll have a look at your hub!

screaming on June 05, 2012:

Victoria Lynn, yes it is but unlike ST it works on cdma towers giving you the best nationwide service. I just did a hub on it.

Victoria Lynn (author) from Arkansas, USA on June 05, 2012:

screaming--Thanks for the comment, and I understand your choice. I've never heard of Pageplus; is it a similar type of phone service?

screaming on June 05, 2012:

Good info, but not a choice for me. Straight Talk is a Mexican owned company, meaning more jobs not available in the United States. Owned by the richest man in the world Carlos Slim. I went with Pageplus, an American owned company with great service.

Victoria Lynn (author) from Arkansas, USA on May 28, 2012:

clarkee--That's great for you! I had to have one for my job. Seems like a lot of people do. If you ever need a cell phone, consider Straight Talk!

clarkee on May 28, 2012:

Boring because I don't have or need a cell phone

Victoria Lynn (author) from Arkansas, USA on May 17, 2012:

Cool, swb! I'll check out your hub on Straight Talk, too, and compare notes. Thanks for reading and voting up!

Victoria Lynn (author) from Arkansas, USA on May 17, 2012:

teaches--It's nothing fancy, but it IS cheap and reliable. Thanks for the input.

Victoria Lynn (author) from Arkansas, USA on May 17, 2012:

Thanks, writer! I always wondered about Straight Talk before I purchased it myself, so maybe this hub will help others decide!

Scott Biddulph from Gainesville Georgia on May 17, 2012:

I did a hub on this topic as well. Straight Talk is great, they use Verizon towers and have the exact same national coverage. Voting up!

Dianna Mendez on May 17, 2012:

Interesting information and a great option in cell phone purchase. I do know a person who bought one and she is very happy with the phone and service. She paid a really cheap price for it as well.

Joyce Haragsim from Southern Nevada on May 17, 2012:

Good hub to help followers get inexpensive phones.

Voted up and awesome.

Victoria Lynn (author) from Arkansas, USA on May 17, 2012:

Yep, effer, I'm always looking for ways to save. I don't have to do everything in the palm of my hand. To me, a cell phone is just a phone. Mine doesn't even take decent pictures, but that's why I have a camera! My cell phone is more of a convenience and safety thing, too. Some people pay three times as much on their cell phone bills. I pay 33 bucks with tax. Works for me! Thanks for commenting, like-minded frugal lady!

Victoria Lynn (author) from Arkansas, USA on May 17, 2012:

xstatic, it works great for me. It's not the fanciest phone, but if you just basically need a decent cell phone, it's fine. With taxes, I pay only $33/month. Now, I'm on to a cheaper landline service! Good luck with your and your wife's decision!

Suzie from Carson City on May 17, 2012:

Victoria....Good for you! You went the sensible, less expensive route. Save, where ever we can save. That's my motto. Whatever works!

Because we have a home phone for personal & our Businesses, a cell phone is merely a convenience/safety matter used only when we're not at home My hubby and I have the pay-up-front Trac phones and have since they first came out. They are perfect for us.

Our adult kids all have "whatever it is" that does EVERYTHING in the palm of your hand. I've never asked what they pay per month......I'd probably pass out from the answer......frugal lady that I am. UP+++

Jim Higgins from Eugene, Oregon on May 17, 2012:

Thank you, Victoria, for this informative Hub! We are in the process of deciding what kind of change we will make as of July 1. We too are tired of the rate we are paying. We do not use a land line anymore, but due to my wife's work at home job, she has a "virtual" phone line (what ever that is) through Vonnage.

I will ask her to read this as well.

Related Articles