Skip to main content

6 Ways to Figure Out If Someone Blocked You on Instagram

Hi! I’m Javeria Nazar. I’m a creative content and copywriter, and SEO expert.

When someone bans you on Instagram, you are not notified. Here's how to see whether someone has blocked you on Instagram if you have a nagging hunch about someone you haven't heard from in a while. Everyone already knows that there are numerous tools available on the Internet for growing an Instagram account or learning about other topics such as block status or unfollowing. However, here are a few quick and easy ways to determine if somebody has blocked you.


Search the name of the person you believe has blocked you. You'll be able to see the username if you've already looked for it.
Once you've located the person you're looking for, click on his or her name to view their profile. You should be able to see his/her photos without issue, but if you can't, it's possible that you've been blocked or that their Instagram account has been cancelled.

2: Check user’s Instagram on web page


You can also double-check this by going to find user on search bar the person’s Instagram page on the internet. Add their Instagram ID to the end of the "www.instagram.com/(username)" link if you recall it.
If Instagram notifies you that the page doesn't exist, it's possible that they've blocked you or cancelled their account.

3: Search for their chat thread


The discussion thread for both sides is buried when you ban someone on Instagram. Go to Direct Messages (DM) and look for their conversation thread if you think someone is blocking you.
If the conversation thread exists, you will not be barred. It's possible that he/she has blocked you if it isn't there. However, the chat thread may have been disabled due to the person's profile being disabled. You can double-check by searching prominent Instagram groups. Make a group chat where both of you can participate. If you can only view their profile in the group and nowhere else on Instagram, you are blocked.

4: Look for a comment


If the individual has deactivated or destroyed their account, or if they have blocked you, look for a comment in which the account has been tagged. This was the only way we could discover an account within the programme that had barred you. The profile of an account that blocked you will appear when you click the tag of that account in a comment. You'll be able to see how many posts they've made, but where posts are usually available, it'll state "No Posts Yet," which is a telling clue that they've been blocked.

5: Try to follow again


If you can read their profile, you can try to follow them by selecting the Follow option. If you've been blocked, you won't be able to follow the person. Tapping the Follow button has no impact, and you will be presented with the same button again. They will not be notified by Instagram.

6: Check profile through another account


Go to the second Instagram account and view their profile if you have two. Also, if you only have one profile, have a close family member or friend look it up for you. If the profile opens normally, you should consider

Scroll to Continue

This content reflects the personal opinions of the author. It is accurate and true to the best of the author’s knowledge and should not be substituted for impartial fact or advice in legal, political, or personal matters.

© 2022 Javeria Nazar

Related Articles