Updated date:

2021 in MotoGP: Calendar, riders, teams and point scoring system

MotoGP is the premier class of motorcycle road racing. The MotoGP World Championship is sanctioned by the FIM (Federation Internationale de Motocyclisme). The 2021 season starts in Qatar on March 28.



The Road Racing World Championship was first organized in 1949. The first season consisted of six Grand Prix events. There were several races at each event for various classes of motorbikes, based on engine size. The classes for solo machines were 125cc, 250cc, 350cc and 500cc. The class for sidecars was 600cc. Cc (cubic centimeters) is the measure of the cylinder volume.


For many years, the largest class for solo machines was 500cc. Rule changes were introduced in 2002. The premier class was rebranded MotoGP. In this class, the competitors would be permitted to use engines up to 990cc. In 2012, the maximum engine capacity was increased to 1,000cc.

Most successful

Who are the most successful riders in the history of the premier class of motorcycle road racing? Valentino Rossi (Italy) won the world title seven times. Marc Marquez (Spain) won the MotoGP title six times.

Dutch TT Assen

The most prestigious race in MotoGP is the Dutch TT (Tourist Trophy) in Assen. This motorsport event was established in 1925. It attained world championship status in 1949, as a part of the inaugural FIM Road Racing Championship. It's the only circuit to have an event on the Grand Prix calendar every year since the championship was created. The circuit is Assen is known as the "Cathedral of Speed".


2021 Calendar MotoGP

  • March 28: Grand Prix of Qatar (Losail)
  • April 4: Grand Prix of Doha (Losail)
  • April 18: Grande Prémio de Portugal (Algarve, Portimão)
  • May 2 May: Gran Premio de España (Jerez de la Frontera)
  • May 16: Grand Prix de France (Le Mans)
  • May 30: Gran Premio d'Italia (Mugello)
  • June 6: Gran Premi de Catalunya (Barcelona)
  • June 20: Grand Prix Deutschland (Sachsenring)
  • June 27: Dutch TT Assen (Drenthe)
  • July 11: Cancelled (COVID-19) - Grand Prix of Finland (Kymi Ring, Iitti)
  • August 8: Grand Prix von Österreich (Red Bull Ring, Spielberg)
  • August 15: Grand Prix von Österreich (Red Bull Ring, Spielberg)
  • August 29: British Grand Prix (Silverstone)
  • September 12: Gran Premio de Aragón (Alcañiz)
  • September 19: Gran Premio Octo di San Marino (Rimini, Misano)
  • October 3: Grand Prix of Japan (Motegi)
  • October 10: Thailand Grand Prix (Buriram)
  • October 24: Australian Motorcycle Grand Prix (Phillip Island)
  • October 31: Malaysia Motorcycle Grand Prix (Sepang)
  • November 14: Valencian Community Gran Premio (Ricardo Tormo, Valencia)

Cancelled: Finnish Grand Prix

The Finnish Grand Prix would be reintroduced to the MotoGP calendar in 2021 (after a 38-year absence). The location of the race should be the Kymi Ring in Litti. However, the race is cancelled due to the COVID-19 crisis.

2021 Grand Prix of the Americas?

The 2021 American Grand Prix is postponed due to the COVID-19 crisis. It will potential be rescheduled for the final quarter of 2021.

The Motorcycle Grand Prix of the Americas was held for the first time in 2013. The location of the race is the Circuit of the Americas in Austin, Texas.

Competitors: Teams and riders

Who are the competitors in the 2021 FIM MotoGP World Championship? Here's the list of teams and riders. How do the riders get their numbers? In MotoGP numbers are a second identity of the racers. Most riders try to use the same number throughout their whole career.

Team Suzuki Ecstar

  • 36: Joan Mir
  • 42: Álex Rins

Repsol Honda Team

  • 44: Pol Espargaró
  • 93: Marc Márquez

Malaysia Petronas Yamaha

  • 21: Franco Morbidelli
  • 46: Valentino Rossi

Japan Monster Energy Yamaha MotoGP

  • 12: Maverick Viñales
  • 20: Fabio Quartararo

Ducati Lenovo

  • 43: Jack Miller
  • 63: Francesco Bagnaia

Aprilia Racing Team Gresini

  • 32: Lorenzo Savadori
  • 41: Aleix Espargaró

Pramac Racing

  • 5: Johann Zarco
  • 89: Jorge Martín

Esponsorama Racing

  • 10: Luca Marini
  • 23: Enea Bastianini

Monaco LCR Honda Idemitsu

  • 30: Takaaki Nakagami
  • 73: Álex Márquez

Austria Red Bull KTM

  • 33: Brad Binder
  • 88: Miguel Oliveira

Tech3 KTM

  • 9: Danilo Petrucci
  • 27: Iker Lecuona

Defending champion?

Joan Mir is the defending riders' champion in the MotoGP.


All teams use Michelin tyres.

Important changes

The legendary Valentino Rossi has left the Yahama Factory Team after 15 seasons (over two stints). He joins the Petronas Team for the 2021 MotoGP season. Andrea Dovizioso left the MotoGP series for a sabbatical year. He focusses on a return in 2022. Fabio Quartararo moves up from Petronas to the Yamaha Factory Team in the 2021 MotoGP season.

Point Scoring System MotoGP 2021

  • 1: 25 points
  • 2: 20 p.
  • 3: 16 p.
  • 4: 13 p.
  • 5: 11 p.
  • 6: 10 p.
  • 7: 9 p.
  • 8: 8 p.
  • 9: 7 p.
  • 10: 6 p.
  • 11: 5 p.
  • 12: 4 p.
  • 13: 3 p.
  • 14. 2 p.
  • 15: 1 p.

How to watch MotoGP? Official Broadcasters

Who are the official broadcasters of the 2021 MotoGP season (tv and live stream)?

United States

The official broadcaster in the USA is NBC Sports. Each season, five races are live. The have delayed broadcast of the other races.


BT Sports is the official broadcaster in Ireland en the United Kingdom. Eurosport is the official broadcaster in The Netherlands, Belgium and Luxembourg. All races, qualifications and practices are live (tv and stream) on Eurosport. In many other European countries (Germany, Spain, Switzerland, Italy, Austria, San Marino and Andorra) DAZN is an official broadcaster. They broadcast all the events only online by live stream. The official broadcast partner in France is Canal+ (tv and stream).


© 2021 Van Staveren

Related Articles