Skip to main content

2021 in Formula One: Calendar, Teams, Riders and Point Scoring System

Formula One is the premier class of international racing for single-seater racing cars. The F1 Championship is sanctioned by the FIA (Federation Internationale de l'Automobile). The 2021 season starts in Bahrain on March 28.



Formula One racing has its roots in the Grand Prix Motor Racing Series. The 1906 season is regarded as the first Grand Prix Series season. This wasn't an official world championship. As the years went by, the Grand Prix Series underwent many changes in its rules.

The foundation of the modern Grand Prix Racing began with the standardization of the rules by the FIA in 1946. The FIA introduced "Formula One" as the premier single-seater category in worldwide car racing. The first official FIA Formula One World Championship was held in 1950.

Most successful

Who are the most successful drivers in the history of Formula One? Michael Schumacher (Germany) and Lewis Hamilton (United Kingdom) hold the record for the most championships. Both won the title on seven occasions. Juan Manuel Fangio (Argentina) won five titles.

GP Monaco

The most famous and prestigious race in Formula One is the "Grand Prix de Monaco". The race is held annually in the streets of Monaco on the last weekend in May. It is widely considered to be one of the three most important car races in the world, along with the 24 Hours of Le Mans and the Indianapolis 500. The most successful driver in the history of the Monaco Grand Prix is Ayrton Senna (Brazil). He won the race six times.

2021 Calendar Formula One

  • March 28: Bahrain Grand Prix (Sakhir)
  • April 18: Emilia Romagna Grand Prix (Imola, Italy)
  • May 2: Portuguese GP (Portimão, Algarve)
  • May 9: Spanish Grand Prix (Barcelona-Catalunya)
  • May 23: Monaco Grand Prix (Monte Carlo)
  • June 6: Azerbaijan GP (Baku City Circuit)
  • June 13: Cancelled (COVID-19), Canadian Grand Prix
  • June 20: French Grand Prix (Circuit Paul Ricard)
  • June 27: Austrian F1 GP (Red Bull Ring, Spielberg)
  • July 4: Styrian (Stiermarken) Grand Prix (Red Bull Ring, Spielberg)
  • July 18: British Grand Prix (Silverstone Circuit, United Kingdom)
  • August 1: Hungarian GP (Hungaroring, Mogyoród)
  • August 29: Belgian Grand Prix (Spa-Francorchamps, Stavelot)
  • September 5: Dutch Grand Prix (Zandvoort, The Netherlands)
  • September 12: Italian Grand Prix (Monza, Italy)
  • September 26: Russian Grand Prix (Sochi Autodrom)
  • October 3: Singapore F1 GP (Marina Bay Street Circuit)
  • October 10: Japanese Grand Prix (Suzuka International Racing Course)
  • October 24: United States Grand Prix (Circuit of the Americas in Austin, Texas)
  • October 31: Mexico City F1 GP (Mexico Autódromo Hermanos Rodríguez)
  • November 7: Brazilian Grand Prix (São Paulo, Autódromo José Carlos Pace)
  • November 21: Australian Grand Prix (Albert Park Circuit, Melbourne)
  • December 5: Saudi Arabian Grand Prix (Jeddah Street Circuit)
  • December 12: Abu Dhabi Grand Prix (United Arab Emirates, Yas Marina Circuit)

Comeback in 2021: Dutch GP (Zandvoort)

The first Dutch Grand Prix in Zandvoort took place in 1948. The race was permanent fixture on the Formula One calendar for many years, until 1985. The 1985 Dutch Grand Prix seemed to be the race's final running. The Dutch race is being revived in 2021. The enormous popularity of the Dutch driver Max Verstappen is the main reason for the revival of the Zandvoort Grand Prix. The Dutch race had already been included on the 2020 Formule One calendar, but was cancelled in response of the COVID-19 pandemic.

Debut in 2021: Saudi Arabian Grand Prix

The inaugural edition of the Saudi Arabian Grand Prix is set to be held on December 5, 2021. The race takes place in Jeddah. The circuit will be built on the Jeddah Corniche, adjoining the Red Sea. It is designed by the famous German circuit designer Hermann Tilke.


Competitors 2021 season Formula One: teams and riders

Who are the competitors in the 2021 Formula One World Championship? Here's the list of the F1 teams and riders. Lewis Hamilton is the defending world champion. Two-time world champion Fernando Alonso will make a Formula One comeback with Alpine-Renault in the 2021 season. Alonso left Formula One at the end of the 2018 season.

Mercedes-AMG Petronas Formula One

  • 44: Lewis Hamilton
  • 77: Valtteri Bottas

Red Bull Racing-Honda

  • 11: Sergio Pérez
  • 33: Max Verstappen

Aston Martin-Mercedes

  • 5: Sebastian Vettel
  • 18: Lance Stroll

Scuderia Ferrari

  • 16: Charles Leclerc
  • 55: Carlos Sainz Jr.

McLaren F1 Team-Mercedes

Scroll to Continue
  • 3: Daniel Ricciardo
  • 4: Lando Norris

Alpine F1 Team-Renault

  • 14: Fernando Alonso
  • 31: Esteban Ocon

Alfa Romeo Sauber-Ferrari

  • 7: Kimi Räikkönen
  • 99: Antonio Giovinazzi

Scuderia AlphaTauri-Honda

  • 10: Pierre Gasly
  • 22: Yuki Tsunoda

Uralkali Haas F1 Team-Ferrari

  • 9: Nikita Mazepin
  • 47: Mick Schumacher

Williams Racing-Mercedes

  • 6: Nicholas Latifi
  • 63: George Russell

Point Scoring System Formula One

Points are awarded to the first ten finishers. There is one bonus point available for the driver of the fastest lap of the Grand Prix. However, he must also finish in the top 10 in order to qualify for the bonus point. The Formula One champions is awarded to the driver who accumulates the most championship points over the course of the season.

F1 Point Scoring System:

  • 1: 25 points
  • 2: 18 p.
  • 3: 15 p.
  • 4: 12 p.
  • 5: 10 p.
  • 6: 8 p.
  • 7: 6 p.
  • 8: 4 p.
  • 9: 2 p.
  • 10: 1 p.

How to watch Formula One? Official Broadcasters

Who are the official broadcasters of the 2021 Formula One Season?

United States and Canada

ESPN is the official broadcast partner (tv and live stream) for the USA. Four races can also be watched live on ABC (the races in Mexico, Canada, USA and Monaco). The broadcast partners for Formula One in Canada are TSN (English) and RDS (French).


Sky Sports is an official broadcast partner (tv and live stream) for many European countries, including the United Kingdom, Ireland, Switzerland and Germany. Telenet Play Sports is the official broadcast partner (tv and live stream) for Belgium. Ziggo Sport Totaal is the official broadcast partner (tv and live stream) for the Netherlands.

F1 Tv Pro

F1 Tv Pro is an official online broadcaster in many countries. Every Grand Prix, qualification and practice is streaming live on their site and app. Only customers of F1 Tv Pro can watch the live stream.


© 2021 Van Staveren

Related Articles