Skip to main content

Argentina: FIFA World Cup Finals History

Arslan is from Pakistan with high ambitions to achieve his goals in life. MAK760 is a freelance writer. Writing articles is his passion.


Argentina's FIFA World Cup Finals

Argentina has been one of the most successful national football teams globally, having won two World Cups in 1978 and 1986. In 1930, 1990, and 2014, Argentina was runner-up three times. The team has been in all four World Cups. However, the number of shows lags behind Brazil, Italy, and Germany. Argentina won Copa America 14 times, less than Uruguay. Besides, Argentina also won the Confederation Cup and Gold Medals at the 2004 and 2008 Olympic Football Tournaments. Earlier, Argentina had won two silver medals in the 1928 and 1996 editions. At other levels of international competition, Argentina has won the FIFA Under-20 World Cup record six times. The FIFA Under-17 World Cup is the only FIFA international competition that Argentina has won.

“I am Maradona, who makes goals, who makes mistakes. I can take it all, I have shoulders big enough to fight with everybody.” “When God decides its time, I guess he'll come for us.” “All the people that criticized me should eat their words.”

— Diego Maradona


1930 v Uruguay

1930 FIFA World Cup Final A football match between Uruguay and Argentina to determine the 1930 FIFA World Cup winner. The final was the rematch of the 1928 Olympics gold medal match, which Uruguay won after playing again.

On Wednesday, July 30, the final was held at the Estadio Centenario in Montevideo, Uruguay. To date, this is the 1966 FIFA World Cup Final, the only World Cup final to be played on Sunday (played on Saturday). Furthermore, this World Cup Final will not be played on just one weekend. Six hours before the kick-off, the stadium's gates were open at eight o'clock, and the field was packed in the afternoon, officially 93,000 people. As teams disagreed on who should deliver the match ball, the differences overcame the game. Finally, FIFA intervened, deciding that the Argentine team would provide the ball in the first half and that the Uruguayan players would give one another. In Uruguay, which trailed 2–1 at halftime, the game ended 4–2, winning the World Cup winners' title as Olympic champions. At 31 years old, Uruguay manager Alberto Sapiski is the youngest coach to win the FIFA World Cup. FIFA President Jules Rimette awarded the Uruguay team a World Cup trophy and was later named. The next day was declared a national holiday in Uruguay; In Buenos Aires, the Argentine capital, a mob threw stones at the Uruguay Consulate.

The last remaining player in the final, Francisco Varlo (who played for Argentina as a striker), died on August 30, 2010, at 100. On the other hand, Ernesto, the last survivor of the winning team, died on July 3, 1984, at 76.


1978 v Netherlands

The 1978 FIFA World Cup Final is a football match to determine the 1978 FIFA World Cup winner. The game was played by Estadio Manuel, the hosts of Argentina, and the Netherlands in the Argentine capital city of Buenos Aires, the largest stadium used in the tournament. Argentina won the match 3–1 in overtime. Mario Kemps, the tournament's top scorer, was named Man of the Match. After losing to West Germany in 1974, the Netherlands suffered a second consecutive World Cup final defeat to the hosts.


1986 v West Germany

It was an exciting and memorable World Cup final. Jose Luis Brown opened the scoring for Argentina in the 23rd minute after a free-kick from the right. Ten minutes into the second half, Jorge Valdano doubled Argentina's lead, cutting the back of the adventure goalkeeper. Karl-Heinz Ramenig scored his first goal in the 74th minute for West Germany. In the 83rd minute, West Germany equalized with Rudy Voller helping to lift the game with top-class titles. Although Lothar Mathews had much to say about Diego Maradona for the entire game, the magnificent pass to George Buruchaga in the 86th minute gave Argentina a 3–2 lead when they saw the ball from the right and the teacher turned around the net.

Scroll to Continue

Six yellow cards were issued in this match, a record number for the 2010 FIFA World Cup final. As the clock stopped, Argentina celebrated its World Cup triumph in three tournaments.


1990 v West Germany

1990 FIFA World Cup Final A football match between West Germany and Argentina to determine the 1990 FIFA World Cup winner. On July 8, 1990, the game took place at the Stadio Olimpico in the Italian capital and largest city of Rome, and West Germany won 1-0, the sole goal of a late kick by Andreas Brehm.

The match was for the first time in World Cup history. It was the first rematch of the final and the only back-to-back remake of the last as Argentina defeated West Germany in the previous final. Argentina became the first team to fail to score in the World Cup Final and became the first defending champion to reach the final. West Germany's victory over Argentina was the first time the UEFA team had defeated the Conmebol team in a final (South Americans had won all the previous finals between the two continents).

West Germany became the first team to play in three consecutive finals (in the 1982 and 1986 finals) and was repeated by Brazil in 1994, 1998, and 2002. It was West Germany's last World Cup match; The team played three more games before the unified German team was formed in 1990, resulting in the country's reunification for more than 40 years.


2014 v Germany

The 2014 FIFA World Cup Final is a football match determining the 2014 FIFA World Cup champions on 13 July 2014 at the Maracanã Stadium in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. The game between the two countries was the third final between 1986 and 1990, a World Cup record, and a bill between the world's best player (Lionel Messi) and the best team (Germany).

Before the match, Germany reached the World Cup Final seven times (six times West Germany from 1954 to 1990), won three (1954, 1974, 1990) and four times (1966, 1982, 1986, 1986, 2002), and finished runner-up; Argentina has reached four finals, won twice (1978, 1986) and twice (1930, 1990).

The result marked Germany's fourth World Cup title and first World Championship as a unified nation. This victory means that teams from the same continent have won three consecutive World Cups, the first in World Cup history after Italy and Spain in 2006 and 2010. This is the first time in 90 straight World Cup finals. The continental team did not win the World Cup in the US for the first time in the finals.

On the winning German team, Miroslav Kloss, the top scorer in World Cup history in the semi-final victory over Brazil, was one of the few players to win golGoldilver, and bronze medals at the World Cup (Silver in 2006, Silver in 2010, Gold 2014). He joined the club with German players such as Wolfgang Overt (1966-1974).

According to FIFA, 1.013 billion people worldwide watched the final match of the tournament.

© 2020 Arslan Khan

Related Articles