Skip to main content

How to Start Your Kundalini Yoga Practices?

PS is practicing yoga since the age of 11. Her yoga retreats in India have helped her gain deep insights into self-awareness.

How to Start Your Kundalini Yoga Practices?

How to Start Your Kundalini Yoga Practices?

Kundalini yoga is an advanced version of all forms of yoga. Before starting with this form, you need to practice the rest of the forms of yoga especially Hatha yoga, Ashtang yoga, and Raja yoga. If you start without mastering these forms, kundalini practices can be dangerous for your mental health.

Kundalini yoga demands intense mental attention, so it’s important to first bring calmness and stability to your mind. The techniques of kundalini yoga must be followed systematically. The best way is to start with the sadhana specific to a single chakra and master it in the time of a month. Then, begin with the sadhana related to the next chakra. In this manner, all your practices will take the time of 8 months at least.

If you are already practicing yoga for two or more years, then the awakening of each chakra won’t take you more than a month. While Mooladhara is the basic chakra, it is recommended to start your practices from Ajna. It’s because the awakening of Ajna chakra activates three major Nadis (Ida, Pingala, and Sushumna) and also mildly affects the lower chakras. The psychic consciousness that you gain from Ajna chakra helps you better adapt to the changes occurring from the awakening of other chakras (from Mooladhara to Vishuddhi).

Practices for awakening the chakras

Here is a summary of practices for each chakra:

Ajna chakra (Third Eye Chakra)

Ajna chakra (Third Eye Chakra)

Month 1:

Practices for Ajna chakra (Third Eye Chakra)

  1. Anuloma Viloma Pranayama (Alternate nostril breathing)
  2. Trataka (Fixed gaze on a point of a lighted candle)
  3. Shambhavi mudra with the mantra Om (Looking at the eyebrow center)

How to Awake the Ajna Chakra?

Mooladhara chakra (Root chakra)

Mooladhara chakra (Root chakra)

Month 2:

Practices for Mooladhara chakra (Root chakra)

  1. Concentrating on the chakra location
  2. Moola bandha (Root lock)
  3. Nasikagra Drishti / Kriya / Mudra (Focusing on the nose tip)

How to Awake the Mooladhara Chakra?

Swadhisthana chakra (Sacral Chakra)

Swadhisthana chakra (Sacral Chakra)

Month 3:

Practices for Swadhisthana chakra (Sacral Chakra)

  1. Focusing on the chakra location
  2. Focusing on the Kshetram location
  3. Ashwini mudra (Horse gesture practice)
  4. Vajroli (For men) / Sahajoli (For women) mudra (Thunderbolt attitude)

How to Awake the Swadhisthana Chakra?

Manipura chakra (Solar Plexus Chakra)

Manipura chakra (Solar Plexus Chakra)

Month 4:

Practices for Manipura chakra (Solar Plexus Chakra)

  1. Concentration on chakra and Kshetram locations
  2. Manipura chakra purification
  3. Agnisar kriya (Heating up the digestive fire)
  4. Uddiyana bandha (Abdominal lock)
  5. Nauli Kriya (Madhyama Nauli, Varna Nauli, Dakshina Nauli, and last form)
  6. Union of Prana and Apana in the navel

How to Awake the Manipura Chakra?

Anahata chakra (Heart chakra)

Anahata chakra (Heart chakra)

Scroll to Continue

Month 5:

Practices for Anahata chakra (Heart chakra)

  1. Focusing the awareness on chakra and Kshetram locations
  2. Anahata chakra purification
  3. Bhramari pranayama (Humming sound / Bee Breathing Technique)
  4. Ajapa Japa meditation (mantra repetition)
  5. Deep state meditation focusing on the heart space

How to Awake the Anahata Chakra?

Vishuddhi chakra (Throat chakra)

Vishuddhi chakra (Throat chakra)

Month 6:

Practices for Vishuddhi chakra (Throat chakra)

  1. Jalandhara bandha (Chin lock)
  2. Khechari mudra (Tongue lock)
  3. Ujjayi pranayama (Breath of victory / Ocean breath / Cobra breathing / Breath regulation technique)
  4. Focusing on the chakra and Kshetram locations
  5. Purification of Vishuddhi chakra
  6. Vipareeta Karani mudra (Half shoulder stand / Legs up the wall pose)

How to Awake the Vishuddhi Chakra?

Bindu Visarga (Point of creation of nectar Amrit)

Bindu Visarga (Point of creation of nectar Amrit)

Month 7:

Practices for Bindu Visarga (Point of creation of nectar Amrit)

  1. Moorchha pranayama (Advanced breathing technique)
  2. Vajroli / Sahajoli mudra with Bindu awareness
  3. Acknowledging the subtle inner sounds
  4. Yoni mudra / Shanmukhi mudra (Locking the seven gates of external perception)

How to Awake the Bindu Visarga?

Sahasrara Chakra (Crown chakra)

Sahasrara Chakra (Crown chakra)

Month 8:

Practices for Sahasrara Chakra (Crown chakra)

  1. Chakra meditation with Om intonation
  2. Musical chakra meditation using Latin or Sanskrit musical scales
  3. Chaturtha pranayama (Fourth state of pranayama/ breathing technique)
  4. Nidra yoga / Nidra meditation
  5. Unmani mudra (State of stillness/ thoughtlessness)
  6. Bija mantra sanchalana (Conduction of seed sound)
  7. Drawing the mandalas (Traditional practice of drawing chakras before commencing the practices)

How to Awake the Sahasrara Chakra?

Prerequisites for chakras’ awakening

The awakening of chakras urges you to be:

  • Determined
  • Cautious about your eating habits (light and high-fiber vegetarian food is recommended)
  • Mentally calm and strong
  • Disciplined

Effects of chakras’ awakening

Always remember the awakening of kundalini is an essential part of everyone’s life. It affects your life in the following manner:

  • Boosts your will-power
  • Kills your ego
  • Refines your communication skills
  • Improves your family life
  • Makes you influential
  • Enhances your mental and physical health
  • Slows down the aging effects
  • Helps you empathize with others and much more.

The awakening of chakras has different effects on different persons. To ensure their permanent awakening, you must practice daily with no break. The best time of the day is early in the morning between 4 am to 6 am.

© 2020 Prachi Sharma


Umesh Chandra Bhatt from Kharghar, Navi Mumbai, India on August 24, 2020:

Great write up. Next step on the Yoga ladder.

Related Articles