Skip to main content

How to Read Tarot Cards? Basics and Numerology.

Engelta loves sharing the spiritual world in the hope to give healing.


A Tarot Card deck is usually composed of 78 cards, from which 22 cards are called the Major Arcana, and the rest are called the Minor Arcana.

The Major Arcana cards are The Fool, The Magician, The High Priestess, The Empress, The Emperor, The Hierophant, The Lovers, The Chariot, Strength, The Hermit, The Wheel of Fortune, Justice, The Hanged Man, Death, Temperance, The Devil, The Tower, The Star, The Moon, The Sun, Judgment, The World.

The Major Arcana, if they come up during a tarot card reading, they represent the major events of your life, relationship, or energy you are reading. The Minor Arcana show the details of the main energy, they show you what has happened, what is happening, and what will happen. They will give you a solution, they will show you the path you need to walk, and the measurements you need to take.

The Minor Arcana is composed of the Suits: Wands, Cups, Swords, and Pentacles.


Wands represent the Fire element. They talk about spirit, motion, and action. Zodiac signs associated with the Fire element are Aries, Sagittarius, and Leo.

Cups represent the Water element. They talk about emotion, relationships, intuition, and inner self. Zodiac signs associated with the Water element are Pisces, Scorpio, and Cancer.

Swords represent the Air element. They talk about thoughts, state of mind, letting go, and planning on the action. Zodiac signs associated with the Air Element are Gemini, Libra, and Aquarius.

Pentacles represent the Earth element. They talk about the material world, physical body, finances, and common sense. Zodiac signs associated with the Earth element: Taurus, Capricorn, and Virgo.


Numerology, Tarot Cards

If it happens that in one reading you pull out 3 or more tarot cards that hold the same number then you have to consider the message that the card has for you, and the direction you need to grow. Other than that, you will also have to keep an eye for synchronicities, seeing the same number elsewhere, as it is considered a sign from the Universe.

Ace - ideas, beginnings, potential, gifts, new projects, a spark of inspiration, impulsive decisions.

2 - balance, reflection, duality, opposites, decisions, union, offers.

Scroll to Continue

3 - growth, cooperation, groups, friendship, the results of cooperation and inspiration (Ace + 2).

4 - foundation, structure, inward focus, stability, achievement, first rewards, a time to rest and reflect before acting again, planning the future or the next steps.

5 - challenge, conflict, loss, need for spirituality, a change of heart or status that may bring conflict but also hope, rebuild from what was destroyed.

6 - advancement, excitement, reciprocated feelings, success, satisfaction, reward, relaxation at the moment, problem-solving solution or mindset, harmony.

7 - discipline, work ethic, changing course, struggle, you need patience, trust and commitment, think long term, faith, wisdom, reflect, understand.

8 - re-evaluation, move from one phase to the other, evolution, move forward in a structured way, progress and priorities, look at the steps that need to be taken, movement, change, attainment.

9 - fulfilment, luck, fate, achievement of a goal, a time of clarity and culmination, you can see the end and you know how to reach it, fruition.

10 - end of cycles, karma, taking responsibility, the end of the journey, lesson learned, consequences and rewards reaped, transformation, cycles.


How to tell time through Tarot Cards?

Major Arcana can be used to represent time:

  • The Fool - associated with the Air element and ruled by Planet Uranus, it tells you that the event you are waiting on will come to you when you least expect it.
  • The Magician - ruled by Planet Mercury, it indicates that there is no timing on the situation but the energy is moving fast.
  • The High Priestess - ruled by the Moon, it indicates that timing is hidden or a secret. You have to be patient.
  • The Empress - ruled by Planet Venus, it indicates that the timing may depend on someone else's actions or divine timing.
  • The Emperor - it indicates the period of Zodiac Sign Aries
  • The Hierophant - it indicates the period of Zodiac Sign Taurus The Lovers - it indicates the period of Zodiac Sign Gemini
  • The Chariot - it indicates the period of Zodiac Sign Cancer
  • Strength - it indicates the period of Zodiac Sign Leo The Hermit - it indicates the period of Zodiac Sign Virgo
  • The Wheel of Fortune - ruled by Planet Jupiter, no certain timing indicated, but it is considered a lucky sign
  • Justice - it indicates the period of Zodiac Sign Libra
  • The Hanged Man - associated with the Water element, ruled by Planet Neptune, it indicates delay and no timing available
  • Death - it indicates the period of Zodiac Sign Scorpio
  • Temperance - it indicates the period of Zodiac Sign Sagittarius
  • The Devil - it indicates the period of Zodiac Sign Capricorn
  • The Tower - ruled by Planet Mars, it indicates that the event will come unexpectedly with force, and it will be unavoidable.
  • The Star - it indicates the period of Zodiac Sign Aquarius The Moon - it indicates the period of Zodiac Sign Pisces
  • The Sun - ruled by the Sun, it indicates daytime or summertime
  • Judgment - associated with the Fire element, ruled by Planet Pluto, it indicates that 2 different outcomes are as likely as each-other to happen, no timing available.
  • The World - ruled by Planet Saturn, it indicates winter time, delays and trials ahead.

Read more in depth about the Major Arcana Tarot Cards.

Tarot Cards: Major Arcana Reading

A Tarot Cards Deck is composed of two Arcana, the Major Arcana which is said to govern the fated events in your life, and the Minor Arcana which is said to govern over daily details and events that you may change in your life.

  • 1 - the Fool, the Magician
  • 2 - the High Priestess, Justice (Karma), Judgment
  • 3 - the Empress, the Hanged Man, the World
  • 4 - the Emperor, Death
  • 5 - the Hierophant (the High Priest), Temperance 6 - the Lovers, the Devil (Shadow Work)
  • 7 - the Chariot, the Tower
  • 8 - Strength, the Star
  • 9 - the Hermit, the Moon
  • 10 - the Wheel of Fortune, the Sun
  • Pages - represent Potential
  • Knights - represent Opportunity
  • Queens - represent Satisfaction
  • Kings - represent Stability

© 2022 Ensorcelie

Related Articles