Skip to main content

How the Planets Affect Your Personality

Our Solar System and the Astrological Planets

Our astrological solar system also provides more information about ourselves, as individuals. It is similar to our astronomical solar system however there are a couple of differences. The Sun, Moon, Pluto, and the asteroid Chiron are considered astrological planets. A birth chart, also called a natal chart, is a snapshot of the sky at the exact moment and place someone is born. Since a birth chart is drawn from the Earth, the Earth is not considered an astrological planet.

We have inner planets that help identify who we are as individuals. They are the first 7 planets which include Sun, Moon, Mercury, Venus, Mars, Jupiter, and Saturn. The outer planets represent more generational traits since it takes so long for them to orbit the Sun, passing through the Zodiac signs or constellations.

The Sun

The Sun, being the center of our solar system, represents the center of you. This astrological planet is viewed as one that is your life source; your soul. This is one of the most powerful influences. If there were to be no other influences in your birth chart (which is impossible), the Sun’s placement would provide a perfect description of who you are.

The placement of the Sun determines the “sign” of someone. For example, if you were born on July 4th, you are considered a Cancer because on that day each year, the Sun is in the constellation of Cancer. If you were born on January 1st, you are a Capricorn because on that day each year, the Sun is in the constellation of Capricorn.

The Sun naturally rules the sign of Leo and the 5th house in a birth chart.

The Moon

Just like the tides, our emotions are pulled on a regular basis by the Moon. This astrological planet represents our moods and emotions. It can also indicate the type of relationship one has with the mother.

The sign or constellation that holds the Moon at the time of your birth is appropriately referred to as your Moon sign. This is representation of your feelings that are inside. Therefore, it is important to understand the influence of the placement to understand how one may feel about a specific subject.

The Moon naturally rules the sign of Cancer and the 4th house in a birth chart.

More from Mmargie1966:


Mercury is the planet of communication and intellect. This planet influences your thought process, and how you communicate with others. Communication comes in more than one form. This shows that a placement of Mercury, in any given area, can change the type and amount of communication one is most comfortable with.

Mercury naturally rules the signs of Gemini/Virgo and the 3rd/6th houses in a birth in a birth chart.


This lovely planet represents beauty, love, and the 5 physical senses. Venus touches the possessions side of our personalities. Venus explains what we love, who we love, and why depending on the placement of the planet in a personal birth chart.

Venus naturally rules the signs of Taurus/Libra and the 2nd/7th houses in a birth chart.

Scroll to Continue


Before continuing, notice that the Earth has been excluded from the list. This is because we chart the planets based on the view of the sky here on Earth.

The planet Mars is our masculine side. Mars represents energy, assertiveness, aggression, war, passion, sex, and anger. Mars gives us courage and confidence. Mars gives us energy and strength.

Mars naturally rules the signs of Aries/Scorpio and the 1st/8th houses in a birth chart.


The second to last of the inner planets is our biggest planet as well. Jupiter is our guidance planet and our luck planet. Jupiter likes travel, adventure, and pleasant experiences. Depending on where Jupiter shows up in someone’s chart will help others to understand what “fun” means.

Jupiter naturally rules the signs of Sagittarius/Pisces and the 9th/12th houses in a birth chart.


Saturn is the planet of discipline and struggle. A Saturn placement can be very helpful in determining difficulties in a person’s chart. Life is full of ups and downs; we will all experience them. However, Saturn can show us what areas of our lives will probably be challenges. Placement of this planet can better explain why some things are difficult for some people, yet not for others. Saturn can also represent the relationship with the father.

Saturn naturally rules the signs of Capricorn/Aquarius and the 10th/11th houses in a birth chart.


The outer planets begin our more generational qualities. Uranus is the planet of technology. According to, “…Uranus describes the manner in which you strive to be uniquely yourself. The House position describes the kind of life situations that demand individuation and innovative genius to free your soul, and where your "rule-breaking" behavior tends to annoy those in authority.” If you think about it, each generation has their idea of misbehaving or breaking the rules.

Uranus naturally rules the sign of Aquarius and the 11th house in a birth chart.


Neptune is quite a profound planet. It represents delusion, escapism, dreaming, drug use, compassion, confusion, and the arts. Neptune also expresses spirituality, compassion, and brotherhood. Again, if you think along generational lines, you can see the changes as Neptune moves through the constellations.

Neptune naturally rules the sign of Pisces and the 12th house in a birth chart.


Pluto is the planet representing life, death and regeneration. Everything is cyclical, as is the process of life, death and regeneration. This planet also represents the dark side of one’s personality. Pluto also reveals diseases and loss of self worth.

Generationally speaking, bullying was always here, but this generation may have less of the deep-seated feelings of self worth than their ancestors. Combined with technological desensitizing thrust upon this generation by Uranus, bullying becomes even easier to do and to accept.

Pluto naturally rules the sign of Scorpio and the 8th house in a birth chart.

The Planets

For More Information:

Thank you for your interest in my writing. I certainly hope the read was helpful and entertaining. Please feel free to comment.

"Be kind to one another" ~ Ellen

God Bless You ~ Margaret Sullivan

Related Articles