Skip to main content

Horoscope Review: "Astro Mary" at The-Astrology.com

Sylvia Sky, astrologer, Tarot reader, and gemstone enthusiast, is a widely published author of books and articles about spiritual matters.

Same Reading for Everybody

Free or very cheap readings offered by online astrologers such as AstroMary at The-Astrology.com tempt many people, who send their private information to the site and receive in return:

  • an email link to a 5600-word computerized message, mentioning their name a total of 44 times.
  • an offer to tell more if they pay $59 for a second reading.
  • their email boxes loaded with messages from Mary.

And when you sent for a free reading, you get what you paid for:

  • Everyone gets this same reading with only the name and Sun sign changed.
  • It will say an important 103-day transit (which does not exist in real astrology) will bring, three weeks from now, the life-changing turning point you've waited for.
  • Mary will write, "In my 25 years of experience I have never seen such strong and intense planetary movement," and "astrological transits are rare." (That is untrue; planets transit the sky continually, and strong, intense planetary aspects occur every few days.)
  • Warnings that you had better act now, because last time you missed your chance.

It is not a horoscope. You receive no chart, and the Sun is the only planet mentioned. The "reading" will be chock-full of vague statements that apply to 80 percent of the population, such as "Something happened when you were 17 or 18" and "Love is important to you." Those statements are cleverly tailored to make most people say, "But that was so true!" and hook them into paying for more of the same.

How the site actually communicates.

How the site actually communicates.

More is Less

Sending different names and birth dates yields the identical reading, with only the name and sun sign changed. Try it! If you think the free reading was "spot-on," you have been taken for a ride.

These readings contain no personality analysis, no predictions, no advice (except to buy further readings or reports) and no horoscope or lucky numbers.

The website's "terms and conditions" (the fine print) say AstroMary offers "only a study produced with the assistance of a computer program" and AstroMary is an "illustrative character," a "brand and visual." There is no "Mary." She is a fiction, her readings are computerized, and the photo is of a model.

After You Get Your Free Robotic Reading. . .

Then "Mary" offers her $60 "second reading" with its "gold mine of details" saying you really must act right now or miss your chance. A link to another lengthy message requests your payment information.

The website's refund window is 14 days. There are no refunds if you have clicked on the link to your paid reading.

Mary's emails arrive every three days. Leaving them unopened generates urgent warnings that your "rare" transit has already begun, although they say you can't feel it consciously or unconsciously unless you buy Mary's services.

Emailed "personal one-week forecasts" say things like, "This Saturday, July 23, Jupiter will be passing through the sign of Virgo," when, in reality, Jupiter is not in Virgo and won't arrive there until 2027. This site does not even attempt to provide real astrology.

Real astrologers never withhold important information so as to force you to buy a second reading, or tell you "act now or miss your chance." In true astrology there are always more chances to do right or do well.

Always Check a Site's Reputation

"AstroMary" is owned by French company that for decades has run several dozen disreputable astrology and fake-psychic sites, some of them forced off the Internet by thousands of consumer complaints.

Mary also sells compatibility or career reports written by "her" astrologer "team," but doesn't reveal that the material was written in 1995 for outdated astrology software programs and all products are computerized.

Complaints about "AstroMary" (this fictional character also sells "horoscopes" through Astromary.com) started up in 2007 and continue to this day. Look at them and then decide for yourself what you are going to do with your money.

Sylvia does not select or endorse the ads appearing on her pages.

This content is accurate and true to the best of the author’s knowledge and is not meant to substitute for formal and individualized advice from a qualified professional.

Scroll to Continue

© 2010 Sylvia Sky

Comments

Tropical sunshine on September 24, 2017:

Guys, this is weird. I first gave Jenna my info in 2011, received 3 free readings, the 3rd one being a tarot 3 card reading. Didn't know what to believe but that was a little more clear then the previous 2.It also seemed to me like she was interpreting my future more than the card itself. Very skeptical I paid for a reading in 2013. I got a few more details about what will happen.Long story short, I was in a bad friendship- relationship, I loved the guy but we were only friends...however she was talking that I will have a harmonious long term relationship and that we will be friends first. She was also saying that someone will introduce me to someone or something that will be very beneficial for me. Later In another reading she kept talking about number 4, something related to 4, 14 or 24 and that she see a lot of happiness related to that day.

This was in 2013 with the first reading in 2011 that I got the paid reading when things were bad in the relationship i was. In later in 2014 I met a guy, because someone introduced me to him indirectly, we fell in love, and started a solid harmonious relationship, and this year on June 14 we got married. My husband picked the date in January because that was a the date that worked with his job arrangements. It wasn't until May that I realized that OMG Jenna had predicted that day in my previous readings.

ms. pisces on December 23, 2016:

Thanks for the information . Now i know what to do. Those predictions are totally fake. You saved me from being fooled. I should not listen to anyone about my future .

Sylvia Sky (author) from USA on December 03, 2016:

These businesses operate within the law. It's up to the consumer to check the "Terms of Service" that say the "readings" are "for entertainment only."

Ravyna on October 17, 2016:

I am about to click my payment to Mary cost USD49. Thanks god that I can keep this amount in my wallets. Thanks Sylviasky

dilara on February 04, 2016:

I absolutely agree she is a fraud, I got sucked in even though my alarm bells were scraming at me. None of the reading she gave me rang true. She got my ascendant wrong; my moon sign and house position wrong, when I emailed her to query this she said I must have given her the wrong birth data.!!.. I did not.... her latest email was blathering on about this auspicious alignment between My sun and Jupiter. She said the would be squaring each other in a few days. Bullshit as jupiter is in Virgo at the moment as well as my sun. Planets have to be 90° apart to be in square. Total scam all the way.

Salma on November 25, 2015:

Hi I Find Jenn's Readings Excellent She Have Not Dupe Me Of A Dime But She Read This Year Very Well For Me, I Like Her Predictins And I Also Like Her For True Words you Are Only Policing The Net, Jenna Or French Man Let Them Be They Have The Gift Of Astrology Let Them Exercise It, Mean While Get Your Self A Job,

Anna on April 28, 2015:

I ordered I reading, the money was taken on the 20th and a report promised to be delivered in 2-3 days. It is the 28th today and... nada.

Anjali Gupta on March 25, 2015:

Oops! Jenna is Fake Astrologer :(

I read all comments & reviews

I didn't pay any amount... Why she is doing so? For the sake of money

Anjali Gupta on March 24, 2015:

Hello!

I don't know how you got my info and mailed me & I really don't understand why you choose me but I'm very thankful to you for this Mail.

It's my pleasure mam! That i got someone like you who guide me and provide a right way of doing the things & a positive energy in me :)

sandhya on February 18, 2015:

please do not lie anyone if u are really sending true horoscope then please send it correctly......

Sylvia Sky (author) from USA on February 01, 2015:

Liana, you are definitely in the minority of Jenna's customers.

Liana on January 31, 2015:

Hi, I just got my 2nd reading from jenna after I paid 3 days ago. She is not a criminal to my opinion.

amrita on January 29, 2015:

good

Sylvia Sky (author) from USA on January 16, 2015:

You are in the tiny minority of Jenna fans. Please tell us what you like about her and how much you have spent with her.

mado on January 16, 2015:

Well, I don't know about all of this now. Bt jenna has also been acurate with me. Jst puzzled by everyones response now

Silvia sky. on January 13, 2015:

Thank you a million times for unmasking this heartless and shamless criminal so call Jenna. I was just abou to make a payment and dicovered her site is blocked and I decided to do a check of her name on google site and luckily for me I say your articles and decided to through it that's how I discovered same message she sends to me is what she sends to every one that posted their readings here.We must all work hard to make sure we block her from any way she tries to come in with another name or site.

She is really a born criminal.Thank you once again.

James.

daiva on November 15, 2014:

Yes!!! Jenna is a joke, fake, fraud. I cant believe my eyes, just now red all other people complains, so me is not the only one who was ripped by her, just 3 weeks ago. As soon as she got my money I never got any message of her, or my reading. It should be stopped some way!!!

heena jain on November 14, 2014:

Hi Jenna mam,

I'm happy to get first n second reading n seriously its true but I have no credit card to Pay your payment but I believe u that I give your payment when I wiil get my credit card.n I need u at this time will u help me?

Sissy on October 06, 2014:

Thank God for people like yourself Sylviasky. I cannot comprehend how people like Jenna be so vindictive. I am today on the other to her promising a second reading for $74 because a massive change is about to take place with my love life and career.

Pages of her letter was so convincing and I thought this certainly sounds like me until a family member asked me to read your site before I pay any money and then decide if I wanted to pay for the next reading.

I do believe in God and right at this moment he is the only one I will trust completely. Thank you for caring for people like us and at this point in time I am vulnerable. Please keep up your good work.

venise hooper on September 22, 2014:

I'm from Jamaica and I got my free reading but because I dont have a credit card jenna abandoned my emails but thank God I didn't make that payment...

Sylvia Sky (author) from USA on September 21, 2014:

Shirley, you are correct that the time of birth is required for an accurate natal chart. And you have it right: Jenna is fake, and will not give you any kind of birth chart. For a free birth chart and a good general interpretation of it, go to alabe.com.

Sylvia Sky (author) from USA on September 11, 2014:

If you don't send her money, "Jenna" who says she is your dear friend, will abandon you.

thabo hezekiel sebyeng on September 10, 2014:

jenna did u abandoned me?whom can I be without ur light please come back to me

Sylvia Sky (author) from USA on September 10, 2014:

Jenna is also operating under other, newer names: usa-astrology.com and in-astrology.com.

dance on August 30, 2014:

Jenna's readings are an automated response.

She claims she is your friend and she will always be there for you, but once you pay the money and receive the reading, it will be impossible to contact her.

melanie on August 04, 2014:

Jenna is a fraud and I wish I had realized this before subscribing. I paid for a summer analysis which never arrived. People like this should be ashamed of themselves but of course they're not. I will take it as a lesson, you live and learn.

Sylvia Sky (author) from USA on July 01, 2014:

(For heaven's sake, Jenna wants clients to send their cash in a birthday card!!)

Charging you depends on whether your card was declined because it had reached its credit limit (then, as soon as you pay it down, they'll use the card and take your money) or whether you made an error inputting the numerals. Either way, Jenna and company have done totally unprecedented things to obtain money. Keeping an eye on your card transactions is all you can do. If you worry about hacking, call your credit card company and tell them, to make sure Jenna's company cannot charge you.

Jessica on June 30, 2014:

hi all,

I've gave my credit details to Jenna to get my full reading, unfortunately the transaction was declined.

here is the message i received from Jenna:

Dear Jessica,

I am writing to your in relation your credit card payment for your Full Astrological Reading. I am sorry to see that your credit card payment was declined and as you know I cannot start your reading without payment and my bank will not let me try your card again. So that I can get working on your reading straight away, please have a look at the further payment options below;

International Money Order (please note it must be International in both cases)

Bank Transfer direct from your bank

Paypal payment

Cash by mail, this is just as easy but to ensure that the money will reach me, please place it in a birthday card for example

Your Personal Reading is only $ 80. I am waiting to hear from you, please let me know which method would be convenient for you so that I can send you your reading quickly. As you know I have lots that I need to tell you Jessica.

Waiting to hear from you.

now my question is: if i just ignore it, will Jenna hack my account or use my personal details / credit card to do something else?

MR HANS on March 18, 2014:

dear all,

always remember that our own greed lands us up in mess, nobody in the world can make any predictions thay can simple calculate the positions of star and make calculations bad times and good times in life exist for everyone please stop expecting good times bcoz every morning starts with good time this itself is proof that you woke up alive, just perform in life and leave the time/period quality to lord above.

Oswald on February 27, 2014:

i don't know as to why people have not been receiving their paid readings, i guess am lucky to receive mine...

again one funny thing about jenna is that she doesn't reply messages. one day i enter her site as a new comer just to look around. all of a sudden the instant message pop up .. behold it was jenna typing. so she tried to encourage me to apply for her reading but i told her that i have already applied, and that i ve been trying to get to her for some question... immdiately without even finishing my typing she turn off the chat box and i grow so much with annoyance about the act.. anyway to be that's my problem with her.. that singular act make me began to this this whole thing seems like a scam... but i will confirm this when the predicts of my transit priod come to past

Elvis Oswald on February 27, 2014:

i have gone through almost all the post here and this i became totally amaze as to how jenna could figure peoples life with only one format... for me this tells that our lives are just configured with one format. if jenna could get people to be victims at the tender age of 17 and 18 then what else is left of our lives.

i must say she got me also with wide open mouth while reading her pre reading sent to me. well, mine is not diferent from the ones i saw here. hut how so accurate. truly my life and career excellent has been my good luck all through my life not until 2003 when i encountered my first blockage it threw me with heavy turbulence in life of which i still suffered it till today. my family knew a hand has intervened in my destiny and has slowed my progress and blocked my opportunities. e.g. i got admission to study medicine in 2003 just in my first year with my first paper to take in my exam caused my withdrawal from med sch. and since then i have been living in total depression which affected me in my new department thus making me to spend almost 11 years in the university just because i wasn't doing well. so i finally graduated.. and i working with a good skill in my profession but the thought of me not being a doctor by now keep reprimanding me and i feel sad about my self. well enough of that...

so when i saw jenna's pre reading it perfectly matched my status quo, that without second thought i ordered for the second full reading. she told me that it will be ready in 2-3 days time, i had hope to receive it on the 3rd day anyway, but on the 2nd day as i was just surfing the net and checking my inbox at about 11.15pm i got her message announcing the completion of my full personal reading, so with high hope i glance through it, print them out and the next day i started reading them...

well, i was amaze at what i was reading cos it was all as if she had known me for a long time now... more especially on the part of my person character reading, that was 100% unmistakeably my personality analysis i saw there.

well, with regard to my report analysis base on the transit period she talked about, it is soon going to come, and if at all it came true, i will let you guys know. but for some one to be so accurate i believe it is not only astrology that she uses in her reading and interpretations..

base on what i know about astrology, it gives you the corridor of your life base on the planet alignment of your birthdate.

secondly, sequence to what i have read here and with the similarities and format of readings and yet most often times turns out to be true to the beholder... it now proves to me that man is a bunch of mathematical being that requires only a particular formula to sought it out.. and that i believe is her format. but definitely she may not be a core astrologer.

Am sorry i can not give out my full reading to the public .. may be also it may not be that unique to me but it sure tells something that is true about me.

Am sorry for those that claimed to have been scam by her

Sylvia Sky (author) from USA on February 03, 2014:

Dhanush, no one can tell you when true love will arrive in your life. But because it might be several years from now, find a satisfying activity to do, or an art to practice, in the meantime.

dhanush. on February 03, 2014:

when i get my true love

FRAUD on January 27, 2014:

Jenna is a FRAUD.... I researched her after getting the first FREE reading & guess what - she/it says the same thing to everyone - verbatim - just changing the NAME - DATE(s) - your SIGN. The 88 days - never had a reading like mine before - JOKE ... I sent her the link & copied the comment from an individual who had the same reading as mine - I unsubscribed from her & she found my work email address & sent a warning today - I pinned it as spam to remove & I just got another one from her saying the same thing ....

Look for reviews on her (http://www.pissedconsumer.com/reviews-by-company/a... & I bet all of us have had identical readings from her/it --- and you will never receive a reply to any questions/concerns you may have... You have been warned - if you choose to believe this fraud - & get dupped - then you have no one to blame but yourself.

Thx Sylvia ....

Shane on January 21, 2014:

Hi Jenna,

I dont have credit card to submit $80 please send me your bank account to do direct TT into your bank.

regards............Shane Meauri

Sylvia Sky (author) from USA on January 14, 2014:

The astrology, such as the Venus-Jupiter conjunction, and Mercury retrograde in June, is correct. But it is not true that "Astrological Transits are rare." They happen continually. Astrologers don't use "visions" and "flashes" either. They use charts. A person's name doesn't affect her chart at all. Thanks for sharing your "reading," Maria.

Maria on January 13, 2014:

Hello Maria,

The New Year is approaching so quickly! It is a wonderful holiday full of miracles and joy, but it is also the time to choose your direction for the year to come. I have just finished your forecast for the next year that you have requested from me and I have a lot of exciting things to reveal you concerning your year 2014, as this year will definitely be one of the most important years of your life.

I must say that I have worked with lots of people over the years and I rarely come across such an astrological event like I did for you. This year really does mark a radical turning point in your life, it's a period of light that you have been waiting for Maria. You are entering into what we refer to in astrology as a Transit, which are strong planetary movements in your configuration which leads you into a brand new direction in your life. I must say this is an extremely rare astrological transit that I have discovered for you and it is going to change your life, its going to start for you NOW in 2014. It starts here, the NEW BEGINNING, the brand new direction from your cosmic planets which are encouraging a new start and adventure in your life Maria. You need to understand this now and start to get ready to make the choices that will impact your life FOREVER!

But before that, lets talk a little about 2014, the events, the mystery, the timings and movements and shifts that you need to be aware of! Astrologically speaking if we compare it to the past few years, its going to be one of positive changes and moving forward. We have all pushed to survive and had to adapt to our economical environment, the base has been built, the hard work has been done and now your astral sky confirms real change, for all that your have had to endure in the past.

To give you an idea about how astrologically the planets are interacting what we will see is, the build up of the intensity from this year starting in just a few days with the well known Mercury Retrograde leading the path in June, which is crucial as it will be most forceful for this year. There is also going to be a Total Solar Eclipes and then to top it off you will witness the effects of Venus inconjunction with Jupiter, these being two of the super giants of the astrological world. And that's not all, Venus trine Uranus and Venus squares Chiron happening on the same dates in June and this is extremely rare therefore the energizing vibrations will be felt by us all which leads us into a very strong and surprising 2014, all of which you need to start understanding now Maria.

I hope you have started to feel the excitement from the few lines I have already written to you but that's not all, there is still so much that you have to learn from the rest of your personal reading. You need to know WHY THIS YEAR WILL MARK A TURNING POINT IN YOUR LIFE and it will be at the root of all these changes that you are going to experience. I understand exactly what has happen to you in the past and why you have been guided in my direction, what you are searching for this year, your 6th sense has been ringing recently so this transit will allow you to explore a new path and in this new direction you will be given the chance to make real changes. Here is what I have found out about your Year and about this powerful Transit which will soon occur.

This Transit will be a very favorable period and will have many positive repercussions notably as far as your love life is concerned but also from a material point of view and for the realization of a project that you have had in mind for a long time now. In what follows I will give you all the details about this Transit, I will discuss your current situation and the whole year 2014. I will also study your personality and your Past, giving you details which only you could have known about yourself. Finally I will talk about the exciting events which will occur and you can look forward too, which is important for you because you are going to meet a person who will play a very important role in your life.

Firstly, you need to understand what a transit is. Astrological Transits are rare and mark opportunities and can be defined as a planet moving over a sensitive point on your chart, this marks an important periods of change. The key word being 'sensitive' here, I need you to know that this astrological transit is a situation that needs to be handled with a great deal of attention. Transits can have positive repercussions or can reinforce your weak points, preventing growth and impeding your progress, if an individual isn't fully aware of the Transit's influence.

Before providing you with any details about your future, I want to tell you how I worked on your analysis because I am used to being very accurate in my predictions and do not take my work lightly. I worked from your date of birth, 7 May 1973, your astrological sign, Taurus (which is set to be on 2014's honors list!) and because you are Taurus I also used your principal Decan 2nd decan. These elements have enabled me to draw you a map of your astral sky Maria, which is totally unique and very personal.

I also took into consideration the epistemological origins of your first name Maria because this provides additional information about your character, as you should know that your first name was not chosen entirely by chance. It enabled me to complete your analysis with a Numerological analysis. As a matter of fact, your first name is composed of 5 letters and this enables me to combine your date of birth 7 May 1973 and Zodiac sign Taurus to learn a lot about you from a numerological perspective. For example I have discovered that your trace number is 4 Maria I should just mention at this point that this is not just a random number, if you look back at your life you will soon see that this number has touched your life several times.

I guided my work and my research using the waves, vibrations and insightful flashes that I felt when I started your analysis. It allowed me to determine the precise direction that I should work in and it was these 'flashes' which prompted me to analyze your past because I perceived that you have a number of personal blockages Maria. I realized that something had happened to you around the year 1990 when you were 17 or 18 years old that created the stumbling blocks that you encountered later in your life and you still suffer the consequences today. Rest assured that these blockages are not irreversible, you'll be able to get rid of them and we'll work towards that together. The visions and vibrations I felt about you Maria also showed me that you are now in a phase of indecision, you have a number of choices available to you concerning the recent difficulties you have encountered and it is time for you to come to terms with this and make the right decision.

I can very clearly see the intervention of a certain individual who has slowed you down and prevented you from moving on in your life and still has some influence over you. Again there is nothing irreversible, it is simply very important that you make the most of the Transit which is set to occur in just a few weeks times to remove these blockages. The visions that I had on this subject are very clear and they show that you will soon reach a positive turning point in your life, which is why I'm so pleased to be able to give you the exciting news I have for you. Before leaving the subject of these visions about you Maria, I want to tell you that I felt a lot of very positive things about your personality and your character, you have great qualities and I am proud that you accept to trust me because you are a very good person Maria.

You may be wondering about these visions Maria. So let me just take a minute to explain them. You should know that these visions are entirely rational, there is nothing supernatural or mystic about them, on the contrary it is something very natural, since they represent an exchange of energy. In Nature everything is an exchange of energy, either physical and tangible or intangible as this particular case. It is not because we cannot see these cosmic waves that they do not exist, we

james on November 26, 2013:

most recent email: "Thanks for getting in touch. I am glad to help you and guide you correctly to the true path. However, your credit card was declined."

--Thank fucking god !!

sakim on November 18, 2013:

I signed up for Jeanna 3 years ago

I paid for a full reading after she/computer predicted something that was currently happen in my life

I had a dump by my girlfriend, here is her mail

"I think it is important that I contact you now because this morning I had a powerful flash about you and I felt the enormous distress which you carry about with you at the moment, the pain which you feel made me realize that it was very important that I get in contact with you in order to help you and I must tell you that if you act NOW then you have every chance to resolve the major questions which you have about your love life at this time.

I know that the person you love is not with you at the moment and that you suffer through this separation. This separation is even more cruel because you now feel completely abandonned and alone but I want you to know that this is no longer the case because I want to help you to work through this situation. You need to pay a great deal of attention to what I am about to tell you because if you now act in just the right way then you have every chance that this person will come back to you.

This morning I took the time to analyze your astral configuration in detail because as I have said, I am very sensitive to your current suffering and I know that I can help you. I discovered that over the next couple of days Venus will enter into your 6th House and at the same time this planet will also be in your Sign of the Zodiac, Virgo and by cross-referencing this with the information that your date of birth gives me I can see that you will soon be living through a very beneficial period and during this period you must act in just the right way in order to change your life for the

better.

The second thing I want to tell you is that you have made a number of mistakes in your relationship however these mistakes are not necessarily your fault. Most of the mistakes arose from misunderstandings and from the fact that there are a number of aspects of your partner's personality which you do not yet know about. It is very important that I tell you exactly who your partner is (my name) and how you can better understand this person, learn about this person's likes and dislikes, what this person likes about you and so on ... but I also need to tell you how you can help your relationship to evolve and how to seduce this person again. Only a Full Compatibility Reading can answer all these questions and give you all this information and I am going to work on one for you.