Skip to main content
Updated date:

Basic Understanding of Chakras

Riya loves to explore the spiritual journey. From the age of 16, she is practicing yoga and meditation.



Like the 7 colors in a spectrum and 7 notes of music, human body is composed of the 7 energy centers, called 'CHAKRA'. If you are new to this jargon and are still confused if chakras make sense or not, in this article I will attempt to shed light on the chakras.


The concept of the Chakra was first mentioned in Vedas, well-known with the growth in popularity of yoga and new age philosophies.The term Chakra is a Sanskrit word for the wheel or disk.

There is a total 114 different chakras from which 7 are major chakras, located in our spine, work as energy points that flow energy from the top of the head to the root of the spine. They have the loving responsibility of taking in, incorporating, and emanating energy to keep us functioning at the optimal levels. Chakras also affect our physical and emotional well-being.

Each Chakra within the human body has a corresponding symbol, mantra, and color. Recitation of the Chakra's Mantra awakens and strengthens the energy of that Chakra.

If we do not provide the proper nourishment to Chakras, they start blocking. A block Chakra means energy is stuck or hindered to flow. When energy does not flow properly it creates many emotional and physical difficulties. There are many reasons for blocking these Chakras includes negative thoughts, excessive stress, poor and inconsistent lifestyle, etc. This blockage of Chakras can be unblocked in numerous ways like yoga, meditation, color therapy, and much more practice can be performed.

seven major chakras

seven major chakras

Root Chakra (Muladhara Chakra)

Muladhara is the root chakra, which is the most basic chakra of all the 7 major chakras. The word is a combination of two Sanskrit words, moola meaning 'source' and adhara meaning 'support'. This is the entry point for a spiritual seeker, who wishes to awaken the dormant kundalini energy.

  • Location: Base of the spine.
  • Color: Red.
  • Mantra: LAM
  • Represent: Safety, Security, Stability, Basic Needs

Sacral Chakra (Svadhesthana Chakra)

Svadheshthana also called a sacral chakra, is located just above the Muladhara. In Sanskrit, the literal means of Svadheshthana is well established.

  • Location: between genital and naval.
  • Color: Orange
  • Mantra: VAM
  • Represent: Creativity, Sexuality, Center of Pleasure

Solar Plexus Chakra (Manipura Chakra)

Manipura chakra is located at that level where we were connected to our mothers and received nourishment inside the word.

  • Location: between naval and solar plexus
  • Color: Yellow
  • Mantra: RAM
  • Represent: Self-esteem, Pleasure, Will power, Personal Responsibility and power, Intellect, Clarity, Beliefs, Independence.

Heart Chakra (Anahata)

Anahata in Sanskrit literally means unhurt, unstruck, and unbeaten is a fourth primary Chakra.

  • Location: Center of the chest.
  • Color: Green
  • Mantra: YAM
  • Represent: Love, relationships, empathy, forgiveness, acceptance, transformation, the center of awareness, compassion.

Throat Chakra (Vishuddha)

Vishuddha, which literally means a purifier or a filter, is a fifth primary chakra. Vishuddha chakra is positioned at the throat region with its super activation point in the pit of the throat, it is also called the throat Chakra.

  • Location: The center of the neck.
  • Color: Light Blue.
  • Mantra: HAM
  • Represent: Effective communication, Clearly speaking, Expression and purpose.

Third Eye (Ajna)

Ajna, representation of perception beyond the dualities of existence, will make one dispassionate towards everything in existence. This is represented by Shiva(Hindu god) burning everything within sight if he opens his third eye.

  • Location: between brows.
  • Color: Indigo
  • Mantra: OM
  • Represent: Intuitive, Guided, Perceptive, Bright dreams, Spirituality, and Mental health.

Crown Chakra (Sahasrara Chakra)

Sahasara means a thousand petals lotus. It a point where Kundalini awakens and even the sense of the self is absent during meditation.

  • Location: Top of the head.
  • Color: Violet
  • Mantra: OM
  • Represent: Spiritual blessed, unity, wisdom, open-minded, peaceful, connected to the universe, strong nervous system.

How to heal chakras

For the proper function of the Chakras, it is important to heal them. The healing method is:

  • Sit in a comfortable position and close your eyes.
  • Now If you are healing "Root Chakra", imagine a red light is entering your body and giving you positive energy.
  • Now chant a mantra "LAM".
  • This procedure will be followed for every chakra.

This method takes time, initially maybe light does not enter but gradually you will fit in the method.

You can also do yoga for healing.


RIYA DHANWANI (author) from NEEMUCH on October 10, 2020:

Hello @sowspeaks glad to know that you liked this article. Sure..I will write a hub sharing my personal experience with chakra cleaning. And I will try my best to give you more understanding about this.

sowspeaks from Bengaluru on October 10, 2020:

Hi Riya, such a pleasure it was to read this clear article on the chakras. If only we could clear the chakra, blockages lots of present day problems could be solved. If you could write a hub on any personal experience on chakra healing with yourself or others, it would really help. Thank you for a useful article.

RIYA DHANWANI (author) from NEEMUCH on September 18, 2020:

Hey Megha! I will keep this thing in my mind for next article. Thank you for your feedback.

RIYA DHANWANI (author) from NEEMUCH on September 18, 2020:

@ Eric dierker Thank you!

RIYA DHANWANI (author) from NEEMUCH on September 18, 2020:

@sakshi veerwani Thank you!

Megha Ginnare from BHOPAL on September 18, 2020:

Please add some photos. I read your article and it is easy to imagine that chakra by a photo.

Sakshi veerwani on September 18, 2020:

Good job

Eric Dierker from Spring Valley, CA. U.S.A. on September 13, 2020:

I will concentrate on my Svadhesthana Chakra for a bit. While not to the outside necessarily it seems a bit "confused" of late. Thank you for the reminder and lesson. Well done.

Related Articles