Skip to main content

Basic Beliefs: Shedding Light on Islam!

For more than 8 years I have been a writer and 2019 was my year, to be honest. Currently, I write on Hub Pages, Medium, WordPress.

Islam is the second-largest religion of the world. It’s an Arabic word which means “submission, surrender, peace and commitment”. A monotheistic faith centred around belief in the one God (Allah), makes its place throughout Arabia and surrounding countries first and then in the rest of the world. With 1.2 billion Muslims living around the globe, Indonesia and India hold the largest Muslim population.


Muhammad (P.B.U.H)

Several prophets were sent to preach the same universal message of belief in one God, and according to the Muslim’s faith, the last on the series of prophets was Muhammad (P.B.U.H). He was born in Makkah, Saudi Arabia around 570 CE. His main motive was to spread the message that there’s no other God, but Allah and people should live their lives in a way that please Allah.

Muslims Beliefs

  • There’s only one God (Allah).
  • Belief in the Angels.
  • Belief in the holy books: Tawrat (Torah) revealed to the prophet Musa (Moses), Injil (Bible) revealed to the prophet Isa (Jesus), Zabur revealed to the Prophet Dawud (David), and the Quran revealed to Muhammad (P.B.U.H).
  • Belief in the Day of Judgement.
  • Muslims have a strong faith in all the prophets sent by God.
  • The belief that God has all-powers and everyone will be questioned on the day of judgement about how they lived their lives.
First Mosque of Islam Quba

First Mosque of Islam Quba

First Mosque of Islam

The prophet Muhammad (P.B.U.H) was the one who created the first mosque in the Islamic history named Quba, where the prophet and his companions rested during their migration.

Muslim Prayer

Muslim pray five times a day. Fajr (the dawn prayer), Zhuhr (the early afternoon prayer), Asr (the late afternoon prayer), Maghrib (the sunset prayer) and Isha (the night prayer).

Five Pillars of Islam

Following are the five pillars of Islam:

Shahada (declaration of faith): faith in the oneness of God (Allah) and belief in Muhammad as the last prophet or messenger of Allah.

Salat (ritual prayer): Muslim pray daily, five times a day.

Zakat (alms tax): giving a decided amount of one’s wealth to those in need.

Swam (fasting): Muslim fast during the month of Ramadan to remind people of the blessings they have and to understand and show equality with the poor.

Hajj (pilgrimage): Make a pilgrimage to Mecca to perform hajj at least once in their lifetime.

Muslim Prayer

Muslim Prayer

Five Pillars of Islam

Five Pillars of Islam

Islamic calendar

The Islamic calendar, also known as Hijra indicates the proper Islamic days and also highlights Islamic celebrations, holidays and all the important religious days.

Religious Holidays of Islam in 2022

Monday, Feb 28, 2022, Lailat al Miraj

Scroll to Continue

Friday, Mar 18, 2022, Lailat al Bara'ah

Saturday, Apr 02, 2022, Ramadan (start)

Thursday, Apr 28, 2022, Laylat al Qadr

Monday, May 02, 2022, Eid-al-Fitr (End of Ramadan)

Friday, Jul 08, 2022, Waqf al Arafa - Hajj

Saturday, Jul 09, 2022, Eid-al-Adha

Saturday, Jul 30, 2022, Hijra - Islamic New Year

Monday, Aug 08, 2022 Day of Ashura / Muharram

Saturday, Oct 08, 2022, Milad un Nabi

Muslim festivals

A plethora of festivals are celebrated by the Muslims including New Year Muharram (Islamic new year)

Eid ul-Adha

Celebrated in the honour of Prophet Abraham’s willingness to sacrifice his son for Allah.

Eid ul-Fitr

Celebrated after the month of Ramadan (the holy month of fasting).

© 2019 Catriona Jasica


Amit banik on December 17, 2019:

Its a very good article

Related Articles