Skip to main content

What is The United Nations General Assembly?

I sit somewhere in between political parties and don't consider myself Republican,Democrat or anything else other than an American citizen


History of The United Nations

Founded in 1945 when 50 governments from around the world met in San Francisco, California with the main goal being to preserve world peace by working together , There are currently 193 member states up from the original 51 when founded. The main headquarters is based in Manhattan, New York with other offices in Geneva, Nairobi, Vienna and The Hague.

The United Nations has six organs, or branches if you will, The Security Council, Economic and Social Council, Trusteeship Council, International Court of Justice, The UN Secretariat and The General Assembly, the final one being what we'll be talking about next.

General Assembly

The United Nations General Assembly is the only one of the six principal organs of the UN where all member nations have equal representation and is typically where all the important matters are discussed and voted on. It is held in September at the headquarters in New York and can run all the way into January or until all matters that need to be decided on are decided on.

The first General Assembly was held in 1946 in London and had members from 51 nations at the time, votes are handled by a two thirds majority or a simple majority depending on the subject matter and besides budget type issues the UN can't really enforce much of what's decided, it's kind of like an honor system I suppose.

There are people that feel the world couldn't exist without the UN and there are others that consider it a complete waste of time, it is basically many world leaders getting together and making suggestions to each other about a myriad of different things such as climate change, economical issues and doing whatever we can to avoid war and famine.

Scroll to Continue

Related Articles