Skip to main content

Indian Mythology: The Seven Great Sages or Saptarishis



Saptarishis or the seven sages.

Saptarishis or the seven sages.

What exactly are Saptarishis

Hindu Mythology has three main Gods: Brahma, the Creator, Vishnu, the Preserver and Mahesha (Shiva),the destroyer. The Saptarishis mean Sapta=Seven Rishi(s)=Sage(s) or the Seven Rishis in Sanskrit, an Indian language from which most of Indian languages have evolved. These Seven Rishis are the great seers, caretakers, mind born sons of Brahma.In a similar way, Greeks too had seven wise men namely Cleobulos, Periandros, Bias, Pittacos, Chilon, Solon and Thales which shows that mythologies around the globe do have parallel connections though it will take another hundred years for researchers to prove it.They live for a period of time known as a manvantar (306,720,000 Earth Years). Though incredulous, that is what Indian mythology is about.

So which are the Saptarishis

There are various books written in Hindu mythology and some books have a slight variation in the listing of which exactly are the seven rishis. The most popular Seven Rishis recognized are Atri, Vashishta, Kashyapa, Vishwamitra, Jamadagni, Bharadvaja and Gautama. As given below, there is variation according to different literature

Literature Variation of Saptarishis


The Light Masters


The complex hindu time cycle

    The Hindu time cycle is fairly complex but neatly explained in this website. So delve into it only if you have patience. But I must say it is interesting.

So what is the fuss about

They are said to be 'seers' by virtue of being able to see the divine law which rules all creation and also sustains it.They are also said to be first Brahmans or the sons of Brahma. They have divine powers and are free from worldly pleasures, the circle of life and death and karma. They bring down to the earth the Knowledge required and Energies to strengthen the processes of Transition or Pralaya. They are the most evolved Light Beings in the Creation and the guardians of the Divine Laws. They are given more importance than the "Devatas" or the other Gods.

Wisdom from the ages ebook

The Big Dipper or Ursa Major

The Seven stars of The Big Dipper or the Ursa Major are known as the Saptarishis or Saptarshis in Indian Astronomy. They are said to revolve around Dhruva or the Pole Star. The Seven corresponding Ursa Majoris stars with the rishis or "sages" is as follows:

Alpha Ursa majoris: Kratu

Beta Ursa majoris: Pulaha

Gamma Ursa majoris: Pulastya

Scroll to Continue

Delta Ursa majoris: Atri

Epsilon Ursa majoris: Angiras

Zeta Ursa majoris: Vasishtha

Ita Ursa majoris: Marichi

As can be seen, again a variation in names of these rishis is observed.

The Big Dipper or Saptarshis in Indian mythology

the big dipper

the big dipper

Sites for detailed info

  • Saptarishis and Astrology
    Dear All, On Saptrarshi, by VV Raman from: and regards,Sreenadh==============================
    This link gives connection of these rishis to the stars and their stories in brief. A must read.


thanks it is good on February 24, 2017:

It helped me in many ways

ranjan kumar mohanty on June 11, 2016:

all r good

uday on May 25, 2015:

Soooo good

Related Articles