Skip to main content

My Honest Book Reviews - Percy Jackson Series (Book 1 & 2)

I am a homemaker, mother and a wife. I have a passion for books. I always like to know about different books and love to read them.


Percy Jackson and the Olympians series is a series of five fantasy adventure books written by an American author Rick Riordan. These books are for the ages 9+ years. These books are based on ancient Greek Gods who were said to live on Mount Olympus (the highest mountain in Greece).Those who know Greek Gods will have no problem while reading and understanding these books but for those who don't know about them, the main Olympian/Olympian Gods are:

  • Zeus - The King of all Gods and God of weather, law and fate
  • Hades - God of the underworld and of the dead
  • Poseidon - God of the sea and earthquakes (and Zeus's brother)
  • Hera - Queen of the Gods and Goddess of women and marriage
  • Athena - Goddess of wisdom and defence
  • Hermes - God of travel, hospitality and trade (and Zeus's personal messenger)
  • Ares - God of war
  • Apollo - God of prophesy, music and poetry and knowledge
  • Aphrodite - Goddess of beauty and love
  • Artemis - Goddess of hunting, animals and childbirth
  • Demeter - Goddess of agriculture and grain
  • Hephaestus - God of fire, metal working and sculpture
  • Eros - God of love

Percy Jackson and the Lightning Thief

This fantasy book is about a boy called Percy Jackson who is a normal human boy with a bit of learning disability and ADHD. He goes to a normal school and is living with his mum and step-dad. Suddenly, some weird things start happening with him. He realises that his friend Grover is not a normal human child but a satyr (half human half goat). He is told that he himself is half blood and his life is in danger. He is sent to a camp by his mother where half-bloods/demigods are trained. He also comes to know who his real father is. He is told that Zeus, the God of sky thinks that he has stolen Zeus's special weapon 'lightning bolt'. He is sent on a special quest with his friends Grover and Annabeth to find that bolt, failing which, it will lead to a war of the Gods.

Whether Percy gets successful or not , where is this lightning bolt and who tries to kill him, is enthralling part of this book which readers will find when they read it.

The book is quite adventurous and interesting read for children. Those who like books with a bit of action, monsters, magic etc. will definitely love it. The book also has a bit of suspense and mystery, hence, keep the readers hooked.

Scroll to Continue

Percy Jackson and the Sea of Monsters

This is the second book in Percy Jackson series. In this book, Percy has again started going to a normal school. One day, he finds from his half-blood friend Annabeth that camp half-blood is in danger. Percy goes back to the camp where he finds that Thalia, the daughter of God Zeus, who was turned into a tree by Zeus himself was saving the camp. That tree has now got poisoned and is dying which means that the camp is not safe anymore. While staying at the camp he also starts having uncanny dreams about his very good friend Grover. In his dreams, he sees that Grover is somewhere in the sea of monsters and is in danger. He also come to know that his friend has found a Golden Fleece which can save the camp.

Percy has to save his friend as well as the camp by getting that Golden Fleece. But where is this sea of monsters and how to reach there, as both the journey and the place is full of dangers. This book is all about this journey and the hurdles on the way and also at destination itself.

Again, as the book is full of adventures and fantasy, the readers will enjoy reading it and will get engrossed in the quest.


Rick Riordan is an award winning author and his Percy Jackson and the Olympians series books are action packed and captivating. The whole idea of Percy Jackson came to Rick Riordan when he started them as bedtime stories for his son. When he penned them down and got them published, they became very popular.

These books have the capability to make children gripped to them. They take the readers to a completely different world. My own children read them more than once.

What I liked best in these books is that before every quest, a prophecy is told by the Oracle. That prophecy keeps you binding to the book till the end. I would definitely recommend them to anybody aged 9+ years.

For the next three books of the Percy Jackson series, I've written separate review.

© 2021 SD Mistry

Related Articles