Skip to main content

Mary Stone's Series: Ranked

I work at home as a freelance writer. I enjoy reading, writing, and television.

Mary Stone's logo

Mary Stone's logo

A bit about Mary Stone's series

Mary Stone has created 6 series thus far. A few of her series feature a second author who helped create the stories within. You can find her books on Kindle, GoodReads, and many other places where books are purchased and read.

To read about new releases and upcoming series, you can join Author Mary Stone's Task Force -- her Facebook group that brings her readers together. We often receive sneak peeks at her next book cover or details regarding which character's book we may be getting next.

If you enjoy shows like Criminal Minds, CSI, The Killing, FBI, or anything similar, then you'll love Mary Stone's series. I know I do!

1. Autumn Trent

Book 1 of the Autumn Trent series

Book 1 of the Autumn Trent series

The Autumn Trent series is essentially a continuation of the Winter Black series, although it gets far more gruesome. It's my favorite of Mary Stone's book sets so far.

Winter meets Autumn during her time in the spotlight and they become fast friends. Now, the criminal forensic psychologist is working to help uncover the dark mind of Winter's brother. There have been 8 books in the series so far, with a 9th releasing soon. The series got its start in June 2020. It is anticipated to run for the usual 9-book length Mary shoots for.

Book 5 released in June 2021, and the 6th already graced our Kindle screens by July 19th, with the 7th following on September 7th, the 8th arriving in the middle of November, and the (maybe) final book coming on January 27th.

Autumn series book order

List of Titles

Autumn's Game

Autumn's Break

Autumn's Fear

Autumn's Rage

Autumn's Chaos

Autumn's Risk

Autumn's Strike

Autumn's Prize

Autumn's Trap

2. Winter Black

The first book collection of the Winter Black series

The first book collection of the Winter Black series

Winter Black is the first series I happened upon of Mary Stone's. It's my second favorite behind Autumn who continues her journey. I came across Winter's story on Kindle and didn't want to put it down once I got into it.

Winter was beaten as a young teenager and left behind as her brother was kidnapped and her parents were murdered. Now an FBI agent, she has to work to find the serial killer who's still in the wind and hope she can find out what happened to her brother as well.

The series got its start in April 2019 and wrapped after 9 books in March 2020.

By December 2021, Mary decided to bring Winter back for a short story. Winter's Black Christmas released on December 7th. The short 87-pager offered plenty of suspense.

With so many people in love with Winter and Noah, Mary has decided to bring her back for a 10th full book. We'll have to wait a while though. With several other series in the works, Winter book 10, won't arrive until June 2022. It will be worth the wait, though. Guaranteed!

Winter series book order

List of Titles

Winter's Mourn

Winter's Curse

Winter's Redemption

Winter's Rise

Winter's Ghost

Winter's Secret

Winter's Web

Winter's Storm

Winter's End

Winter's Black Christmas (A Winter Black Christmas Mystery)

Winter Book 10 - Arriving June 2022

3. Ellie Kline

Titles in the Ellie Kline series

Titles in the Ellie Kline series

This series is co-authored by Donna Berdel. The first book was released in January 2020 and the series wrapped up with 9 books in May 2021. Detective Ellie Kline was kidnapped and tortured as a teenager. She now has to hunt down the psychopath who took her, all while solving other cold cases.

For an early Christmas surprise in 2021, Mary announced that Ellie would be back for book 10. The tentative release for that is May 2022.

Ellie series book order

List of Titles

Cold Truth

Cold Hunt

Cold Threat

Cold Highway

Cold Grave

Cold Shadows

Cold Revenge

Cold Trail

Cold Death

Ellie Book 10 - Coming (potentially) May 2022

4. Charli Cross

The first book of Charli Cross

The first book of Charli Cross

This is the newest series by Mary Stone, and it's quickly moving up as one of my favorites due to the amazing writing and captivating storylines. She partnered with Donna Berdel again for it (from the Ellie Kline series). It's essentially a spin-off from Ellie. Ellie encountered a detective named Charli near the end of her series who works in Savannah. She's a straight-to-the-point kind of person and can spout facts in a second. Readers are hoping she'll team up with Ellie on occasion so we can learn more about her character's growth. So far within the first two books, there was only one mention of Ellie though.

Mary revealed the cover for her first book in this latest series on September 30th. Charli Cross Series: Book 1, titled Dark Purpose, then arrived on October 5th, 2021 adding to her already impressive collection of stories. The second book immediately followed with a November 10th release date, with the third arriving on December 23rd. These writers are on a roll!

Charli lost her friend Madison as a teenager to murder. Now as a detective, Cross is having to relive those memories while she hunts down other killers also harming young girls, as well as taking on other gruesome cases.

Charli series book order

List of Titles

Dark Purpose

Dark Greed

Dark Power

5. Amelia Storm

The first book of Amelia Storm

The first book of Amelia Storm

Amelia Storm got its start in January 2021. It is also expected to last for 9 books, as long as the fans want it. Seven have been released so far, with the newest just coming out on November 30, 2021. The series is co-authored by Amy Wilson. FBI agent Storm works to solve cases primarily involved in human trafficking. Her co-workers are unaware of her ties to the cartel now led by her former high school boyfriend who she teams up with from time to time to help catch bad guys from opposing sides.

Amelia series book order

List of Titles

Storm's Fury

Storm's Peril

Storm's Cage

Storm's Ruin

Storm's Wrath

Storm's Rite

Storm's Justice

6. Kylie Hatfield

The first book of Kylie Hatfield

The first book of Kylie Hatfield

This was the first series Mary Stone concluded. It ended after just 5 books instead of her typical 9. She began the series in July 2019 with the help of co-author, Bella Cross. It is far less twisted in terms of cases, but still has similar elements. It focuses more on the sexual relationship between Kylie and Linc.

Kylie begins working at a private investigator firm -- but only as an assistant needed for paper filing. She soon starts taking cases on her own, despite her lack of credentials. She and her dog trainer, Search and Rescue specialist Linc Coulter, end up in some scary situations together that end up bringing them close. Although the series is last on the list, it's still a great one worth reading.

Kylie series book order

List of Titles

Deadly Act

Deadly Lies

Deadly Games

Deadly Dreams

Deadly Silence

You can't go wrong with any of Mary Stone's series!

This content reflects the personal opinions of the author. It is accurate and true to the best of the author’s knowledge and should not be substituted for impartial fact or advice in legal, political, or personal matters.

© 2021 Brandi Goodman


Brandi Goodman (author) from Holland, MI on June 01, 2021:

Absolutely. She's a great author and keeps her fans up-to-date via her Facebook page and through email if you're signed up. There's definitely some gore and shock to them though, particularly in the Winter and Autumn series, just FYI.

Pamela Oglesby from Sunny Florida on May 31, 2021:

This sounds like a very good series of books. I ;am always looking for something new to read, so thank you, Brandi.

Related Articles