Skip to main content

Book Reviews for Book Lovers

Throne of Glass by Sarah J Maas

“You make me want to live, Rowan. Not survive; not exist. Live” -Spoken by Aelin Galathynius, in Heir of Fire

"You could rattle the stars," she whispered. "You could do anything, if only you dared. And deep down, you know it, too. That's what scares you most." -Spoken by Elena to Celaena Sardothien, in Throne of Glass

Celaena Sardothien: Assassin, broken, slave; Aelin Galathynius: Queen, fire bringer, Queen who was promised, two characters who are the same, but very different. In a land without magic, a young woman fights the darkness hidden in her world. A broken assassin, a lost queen. Enemies are everywhere. Whom do you trust? What will you sacrifice? In this thrilling fantasy series, a young woman embarks on a journey to realize her true calling. This series was an emotional rollercoaster ride, finding out about betrayals, secrets, lies, love, and most of all the challenge of survival.

Each character faces a trial; whether it is a trial with an audience or a personal trial. The trials test the characters as they are challenged for their beliefs, loyalty, and heart. Each trial shapes characters as the story continues. Many characters are impacted by the truth told by a loved one, a deceiver, or a god. And as the truth is revealed, the characters change and evolve from their previous knowledge to their new knowledge.

The order of the books is Throne of Glass, Crown of Midnight, Heir of Fire, Queen of Shadows, Empire of Storms, Kingdom of Ash. This is the original 6 books, with The Assassin’s Blade and Tower of Dawn added. I recommend reading The Assassin’s Blade before reading Throne of Glass because it will give you some insight into Celaena Sardothien’s background. Tower of Dawn can be read after the series or right after Empire of Storms, depending on what your preference is.
This was one of the best book series I have read. As a New York Times #1 Best Selling, I recommend this series for anyone who is a high fantasy lover.

Throne of Glass Series; Including The Assassin's Blade and Tower of Dawn

Throne of Glass Series; Including The Assassin's Blade and Tower of Dawn

The Mortal Instruments by Cassandra Clare

“We are all the pieces of what we remember. We hold in ourselves the hopes and fears of those who love us. As long as there is love and memory, there is no true loss.” -Spoken by Zarariah, in The City of Heavenly Fire

Scroll to Continue

In a world hidden in shadows, a race of half-humans, half-angels descend upon demons to protect the human world. In a time of darkness, shadowhunter are turning on each other fighting for their beliefs, and only Clary Fairchild, a woman who doesn’t even know who she is can save them all. Secrets are revealed as she learns why she is so important and unique to the shadow world. Shadowhunters have adapted and changed to survive and increase their numbers. In a series of action-packed adventure, our main character learns about the world she never knew. From making new friends, hard decisions, and finding romance, this series will sweep you off your feet in excitement.

This series is amazing from the characters to the plot. There are many plot twists to the entire world that Cassandra Clare has created. The books may be long but they are worth it. Starting a bit bland, the series hooked my attention as the books progressed.

The order to read the series is The City of Bones, City of Ashes, City of Glass, City of Fallen Angels, City of Lost Souls, and the City of Heavenly Fire. Once you finish this series and you realize how astonishing it is, there is a prequel and sequel to TMI. The prequel The Infernal Devices takes place in the 1800s while the sequel The Dark Artifices takes place 5 years after TMI. I recommend this series to anyone who is a vivid supernatural, action, and drama lover.

The Mortal Instruments

The Mortal Instruments

Impryium by Henry H Neff

“Not today. Not tomorrow. Not for all the gold in Impyrium.” - Spoken by Hazel Faeregine

A cataclysm shook and from the ashes, the Faeregine Dynasty rose. For three millennia, the Faeregine Empire has ruled, but slowly the magic of the family has been fading. Many nearby kingdoms believe the Faeregine Dynasty will fall and look at any chance to help crumble the kingdom further. The youngest daughter, Hazel Faeregine, and a commoner, Hob Smythe find their destiny’s intertwined when fate brings them together. The duo encounters many secrets hidden within the Faeregine Family and Impyrium itself. This unlikely duo, with help from Dáme Rascha, a vye, and Sigga Fenn assassin, will uncover the plot that threatens Impyrium, and Hazel herself. But who can you trust? Who is an enemy? Time is running out. Hazel must complete the assignment from her grandmother, The Spider. Hob must fix his mistakes, Sigga must protect Hazel, and Dáme Rascha must tutor Hazel to meet the requirements set by The Spider. Can they complete their required assignments and uncover the truth?

In this phenomenal story, the characters will develop, learn, and evolve as the truth is revealed. A very powerful thing is secrets, the same can be said about the truth, what will happen when secrets are revealed and the truth is unveiled.


© 2022 Alexandria Moser

Related Articles