Skip to main content

The Lingering Darkness by Jim Mittler: Book Review

I loved reading this book!

I loved reading this book!

Author Jim Mittler

This book is the inaugural one published by Jim Mittler. He is a former neighbor of ours. I was pleasantly surprised and blown away by its description of characters, machinations of the plot, and page-turning details, which makes one wish to read the book from cover to cover without interruptions after opening and delving into this fascinating novel.

The last sentence written on the back cover sums it up perfectly! “A nonstop thrill ride from beginning to end, The Lingering Darkness is a contemporary political mystery that will keep pulses racing.”

Jim Mittler in our living room

Jim Mittler in our living room

Great Neighbors

It would never have crossed my mind that our friendly neighbor had the talent to write such a novel. His wife kept telling me that Jim had led such an exciting life to date. Who knows the hidden talents of our friends or neighbors until one gets to know them better? That is our experience of familiarizing ourselves with Jim and his lovely family.

One day I was up on a ladder with a chainsaw trimming a dying redbud tree in our backyard. My husband had back problems, so he was on the ground holding the ladder. Jim, our new neighbor at the time, was in his backyard. He could see me over the six-foot wooden fence separating our two yards, and he told me to get down.

He immediately came over to help and finished cutting down that tree. Whether my age and grey hair influenced his response or merely being genuinely neighborly, we were sincerely grateful for his help. That was one of our initial interactions, and it was so beautiful to have Jim and his family as our neighbors for a time.

If some fairy godmother could grant wishes, my husband and I wish they could have remained our neighbors for a long time. Jim's wife and children are all wonderful individuals, and we loved hearing their children laughing and playing in the backyard. It was a melody that touched our hearts and made us smile.

Jim Mittler used to do underwater salvage work.

Jim Mittler used to do underwater salvage work.

Variety of Life Experiences

During his life, Jim's experiences lend credence to writing details of this thrilling novel, much of which happens upon the water. Some of it includes salvage diving, captaining a boat, knowing the ins and outs of mechanical details of small crafts to gigantic-sized ships, and more.

Jim Mittler currently works and has worked for some time in the offshore oil industry. Before moving back to Houston and becoming our back-door neighbor, he and his precious family had lived in Scotland with Jim working for the same large international company.

It is with an apparent ease that Jim can embellish this story with factual details gleaned from his life experiences and vivid imagination. It places the reader amidst this thriller with believable characters and events rapidly building to the climax.

After reading The Lingering Darkness, you will understand why I included this Queen Mary ship souvenir. Amazingly, my husband's father returned from service in Europe after World War II on the Queen Mary.

After reading The Lingering Darkness, you will understand why I included this Queen Mary ship souvenir. Amazingly, my husband's father returned from service in Europe after World War II on the Queen Mary.

The Beginning of a Series?

One of my favorite authors used to be John Ludlum. He often wrote about conspiracy theories and terrorists, with one main character being the centralized figure throughout the book and often becoming a hero.

We collected many of Ludlum’s books throughout the years, and I can see doing the same with ones written by Jim Mittler. He is already in the process of writing his second book.

The Lingering Darkness portrays the main character, Rip Atwater. He discovers and has to contend with a conspiracy that could portend a disaster of monumental proportions.

I don’t wish to spoil the book by telling too much of the plot. Suffice it to say that numerous characters make this book exciting and keep one on the edge of one’s seat as this sinister plot develops towards its electrifying ending. It leaves an opening for another possible publication with the same main character as the Ludlum books used to do.

The Lingering Darkness

This content is accurate and true to the best of the author’s knowledge and is not meant to substitute for formal and individualized advice from a qualified professional.

© 2016 Peggy Woods

Comments

Peggy Woods (author) from Houston, Texas on October 13, 2018:

Scroll to Continue

Hi Ethel,

We knew that Jim was talented and could tackle any type of home project with seeming ease. Little did we know that he was also an author and one who could spin such an engaging tale. We miss him and his family. Wish we could have remained neighbors forever!

Ethel Smith from Kingston-Upon-Hull on October 13, 2018:

Fascinating story and neighbour. People never cease to amaze do they Peggy?

Peggy Woods (author) from Houston, Texas on October 01, 2018:

Thanks, Rajan,

It is a captivating book. Once the first few pages are read it is hard to put down. The plot thickens quickly and keeps one's attention.

Rajan Singh Jolly from From Mumbai, presently in Jalandhar, INDIA. on September 30, 2018:

The book seems interesting. Thank you for the intriguing review.

Peggy Woods (author) from Houston, Texas on July 17, 2018:

Greetings Shaloo Walia,

It is a truly captivating book to read. Once you start reading the book it is hard to put aside.

Shaloo Walia from India on July 17, 2018:

Seems like an interesting book... Thanks for the review!

Peggy Woods (author) from Houston, Texas on November 14, 2017:

Hi Patricia,

We loved having Jim and his lovely wife and children as our neighbors. Sadly (for us) they moved away but we keep in touch via Facebook and telephone. It is definitely a good book and I am sure you would enjoy reading it.

Patricia Scott from North Central Florida on November 13, 2017:

Thanks for the review....I am always looking for another good book to read. How lucky you are to be up close and personal with the author.

Angels once again on the way ps

Peggy Woods (author) from Houston, Texas on June 06, 2017:

Hi William,

"Random Road" sounds like an intriguing book to read just from what you wrote regarding it. Nice to know that "The Lingering Darkness" is on your list of books to read. I will be interested in your opinion of it after you have read it. Thanks!

William F Torpey from South Valley Stream, N.Y. on June 05, 2017:

Hi, again, Peggy. I got sidetracked in my intention to read Jim's book -- I've been trying to catch up on a long list of classic books. Strangely enough a friend -- not a neighbor -- who worked only a few desks from mine at The Hour newspaper, Thomas A. Kies, penned a first book, "Random Road," which I recently read. "It's a crime scene worthy of Hieronymus Bosch, so shocking and so senseless it challenges the local law and intrigues veteran reporter Geneva Chase whose career may be dying alongside that of her small town newspaper." I was relieved that it was more about a love story than a mass murder -- and well written. I'm just starting to read Joseph Conrad's "Heart of Darkness ..." but I've put "TheLingering Darkness" next on my list.

Peggy Woods (author) from Houston, Texas on June 05, 2017:

Nice that you have relatives in the Houston area. Explore Houston With Peggy is my personal blog site. My husband and I have lived here the majority of our lives and we have yet to discover everything that there is to do and see here. Hope you get to visit here again!

manatita44 from london on June 03, 2017:

Houston, eh?

You're not far from my two sisters and their children and grandchildren. I came once. Who knows I may visit again. God bless.

Peggy Woods (author) from Houston, Texas on June 03, 2017:

Greetings manatita44,

As an author I think that you would really appreciate the work and thought that went into the writing of The Lingering Darkness by Jim Mittler. I am happy to be able to introduce our former neighbor to you.

manatita44 from london on June 02, 2017:

I sort of got to know a little about him too and I would definitely love a book that keeps me spellbound in it's grip. Thank you for introducing Jim to us.

Peggy Woods (author) from Houston, Texas on December 24, 2016:

Hi Patricia,

Yes...we got to know Jim and his lovely family when they were our neighbors living behind us. We still miss them! They are such a lovely family. I think that you will enjoy the book.

Patricia Scott from North Central Florida on December 23, 2016:

How interesting that you know him and actually found his work something to enjoy.

I will definitely give it a read.

Angels are once again on the way to you ps

Peggy Woods (author) from Houston, Texas on March 15, 2016:

Hi Frank,

I was happy to do it for our former neighbor. Wish they still lived behind us. Such a nice family! I truly enjoyed every page of his book and look forward to reading more from Jim Mittler. I predict that people will soon learn his name!

Frank Atanacio from Shelton on March 15, 2016:

you did him justice with this smart book review Peggy W.. sharing his talents was a very nice thing to do...:)

Peggy Woods (author) from Houston, Texas on March 14, 2016:

Hi Carrie,

It truly is a great read! Hope you read it and then give me your thoughts. Hope you, Iain and your kids are doing well. Are they on spring break? The kids in our area are on spring break this week.

Carriejbw on March 14, 2016:

Looks like a great read! Nice to see your review!

Peggy Woods (author) from Houston, Texas on March 13, 2016:

Hello William,

It already is a winner in my "book" and I cannot wait to read more from Jim Mittler. Hope you give it a read and let me know what you think.

William F Torpey from South Valley Stream, N.Y. on March 13, 2016:

If the book is as good as your endorsement, Peggy W, it's sure to be a winner!

Peggy Woods (author) from Houston, Texas on March 13, 2016:

Hi Louise,

So glad you enjoyed my review of Jim's book. I have never given thought to writing a book and am happy writing hubs and blogs. I certainly do enjoy reading a good book however and The Lingering Darkness is a top of the list choice.

Louise Dewey on March 13, 2016:

Lovely review, Peggy! You write extremely well, too. When is YOUR book coming out?

Peggy Woods (author) from Houston, Texas on March 12, 2016:

Hi FlourishAnyway,

It is indeed a good read with lots of suspense. One never knows the hidden talents many of our neighbors have until it becomes known by one means or another. I will certainly look forward to Jim's next book!

FlourishAnyway from USA on March 12, 2016:

It's fascinating the talents our neighbors and friends have. You give such a high recommendation to this book that it must be good reading!

Related Articles