Skip to main content

Book Review: Killer Characters by Ellery Adams


When I finished this last installment in this series, I didn’t know if I wanted to breathe a sigh of relief, dance or cry. Actually, I could have done all three.

For the first time in this series, it pretty much held my attention and while this was also the last installment, I had a strong feeling that something was going to happen to one of the main characters. In the past, there’s usually been a wedding, but I figured that one of the characters would meet their demise.

And I was correct.

As the story begins, Olivia Limoges is having lunch with her friend, Laurel Hobbs and she offers to go with her to a meeting at Tidewater Hospice. Laurel’s mother-in-law is in the final days of her life and Olivia wants to be supportive.

After the meeting, Olivia agrees to stop at Laurel’s in laws to pick up a broken Hummel figurine and she overhears the nurse on duty make a flirtatious comment about Laurel’s husband.

Feeling uneasy about the comment, Olivia goes over to Laurel’s house and repeats the comment to her. While there Olivia gets a phone call from their friend, Millay and the three head over to the nurse’s house where they find Steve and Stacy in bed.

Laurel threatens Stacy and later Olivia’s husband, Sawyer Rawlings tells her that Laurel has been taken into custody following the murder of Stacy.

Scroll to Continue

Since it’s the Christmas season, Olivia wants to get Laurel home in time to celebrate with her family, but then her mothe-in-law dies, followed by the murder of Stacy’s ex-husband, Gordon Bruce.

The climax to the series happens on New Year’s Eve with a shooting at Olivia’s restaurant, Boot Top Bistro.

I have to admit that I didn’t see it coming, but out of the previous seven installments, this was probably the best in the series.

While I was never a fan of the series, or of Olivia’s, Adams did a great job of completely growing Olivia’s character. From a mean woman to somewhat tolerable, I have to commend her for that growth.

But sadly, I would have liked to have seen this transformation earlier in the series and the events presented here could have been used earlier as well.

Also, since I had a few gap years in the series, I had forgotten about a lot of past characters and they started popping up like flies here which kind of confused me.

I would suggest that if you are interested in this series, you should start from the beginning. This way you’ll be familiar with the writing club and the characters.

Related Articles