Skip to main content

Key Learnings of Yoga: A Basic Understanding




The blessing of Lord Patanjali (500 to 200 B.C.)to mankind is uncountable concerning the development of humanity as a whole. He gifted three major precious diamonds to correct language, grow a healthy body, and perfectly civilize the mind through Mahabhasya ( Relevant to Grammar ), Ayurveda(Relevant to health and life), Yoga Sutra respectively. The book of Yoga Sutra is divided into four chapters or Padas (parts or portions). These parts cover the various aspects of life like art, science, and philosophy. It consists of 196 Sutras which are very precise, profound, and devoted to a particular approach. Each sutra is enriched with a wealth of knowledge of different ideas and a path to its aspirant regarding his real nature /soul or truth. This knowledge provides an experience of ideal freedom and a state which is beyond the common understanding.

Sadhak (Practitioner)

One who follows these paths is called Sadhak who, after the depth of understanding of these sutras and devotion to approach is finally illuminated by the lamp of exalted knowledge. Through his practice, he radiates goodwill, friendliness, positive vibes, and compassion. The knowledge which is gained by experience of his real truth or nature gives him peace, harmony, joy, and divine powers.

Concept of Approach to Yoga

Same as Bhagavad Gita different experts interpret Sutra in various ways by emphasizing their particular path towards self-realization, whether on action, wisdom, or devotion. Each commentator bases his interpretations on certain key or focal themes and weaves around them his thoughts, feeling, and experience. These all come with the experience and practice of related fields like Asanas, Pranayama, and Dhyana in the context of Yoga. Various Yogis interpret in the best possible simplest way to serve mankind.

Dharma An Initial step

Dharma is one part of eight folds of Ashtanga Yoga which Lord Patanjali describes in detail in his book of Yoga Sutra. If these eight disciplines are followed in an order with full dedication and devotion, they help the Sadhak to achieve a kaivalya state in which Sadhak can maintain himself mentally, physically, and emotionally stable in all the situations and can set an equilibrium of consistency. He learns to know about the supreme soul Brahman and to live in speech, thought, and action in relevance with the highest truth.

A Pathway of Yoga to you

Lord Patanjali has divided his Yoga Sutra into four Padas as follows

  • Samadhi (on contemplation or vision)
  • Sadhana (on practice)
  • Vibhuti (on properties and powers)
  • Kaivalya (on freedom or controlling influences)

These four Padas correspond to four stages of life, four-division of civilized man in the context of their work, four qualities of nature including Sattva, Rajas, and Tamas along with a Gunattita( quality beyond existence), and four aims of life. In the last part of sutras of Fourth Pada, Lord Patanjali states that the climax of Aim and qualities of nature is the highest goal of Yoga Sadhana.

Scroll to Continue

The ultimate desired aim of the Lord was to experience the effortless, individual state of divine or spiritual power which is being gained by Yogi who follows the pathways laid by Lord Patanjali.

Initial padas of Yoga sutra aims at the science of religious duty i.e. Dharmasastra. Dharma is a way that upholds, maintains, and supports the falling or who has fallen in terms of ethics, physical, mental, or spiritual state. It seems that the concept of the Lord's view regarding the Dharma was to free an individual from all the bondage of human life and that too lasts forever or it's an idea or pathway which is to be immortal.

If Dharma is regarded as the Seed of Yoga, Kaivalya (emancipation) will be its fruit. This explains the concluding Sutra of the book of Yoga Sutra as Kaivalya state which is free from all the controlling influences such as mores or belief and individual become motiveless and devoid of all the earthly aims and qualities of nature. In Kaivalya state yogi shines with his pure soul, sheer or Atman which is free from all the actions, senses of perception, intelligence, and consciousness. Thus, Yoga is the path to achieving the kaivalya state.

Related Articles