Kristie Leong M.D. is a family practitioner who believes in the power of nutrition and a healthy lifestyle to prevent and fight illness.
Who doesn't like the smooth creaminess of mayonnaise on a sandwich or in a wrap? The makers of Kraft Olive Oil Mayo market their olive oil based mayonnaise as a healthier alternative to regular mayo. They also advertise it as being free of artificial flavors and preservatives.
These are all good things, but if you eat a vegan diet, there's still an important question. Is Kraft Olive Oil Mayo vegan? Despite the attempt to market a healthier product, Kraft Olive Oil Mayo is not vegan and contains animal-derived ingredients.
Non-Vegan Ingredients in Kraft Olive Oil Mayo
If you eat a vegan diet, the goal is to avoid all animal-based foods including meat and dairy. Unfortunately, Kraft Olive Oil Mayo is made with eggs, a non-vegan food. Although some vegetarians consume eggs, vegans do not, as they eat a purely plant-based diet.
If you read the label on the product, you'll see these ingredients:
- Olive oil
- Canola oil
- Soybean oil
- Modified food starch
- Mustard flour
- Phosphoric acid
- Natural flavor
- Dried onion
- Oleoresin paprika
- Potassium sorbate
- Calcium disodium EDTA
Of these ingredients, eggs are the biggest issue for vegans. Eggs are animal products and not suitable for vegans to eat, while milk comes from dairy cows which means it's another animal product that vegans avoid consuming.
It's not clear what is in "natural flavors," as manufacturers don't have to reveal its composition if it's a proprietary formula. So, this is a product you'll want to avoid if you eat a vegan diet.
It's notable that Kraft Olive Oil Mayo doesn't say that it's vegan on the label either. Many companies will mention that a product is vegan, if it is, to attract more buyers.
Other Ingredients in Kraft Olive Oil Mayo
You might have questions about other ingredients in this product like calcium disodium EDTA and whether it's vegan. EDTA is vegan since it's derived from minerals and not animal products.Manufacturers use it as a preservative to give products a longer shelf life.
Calcium disodium EDTA is an ingredient in many medicines, household products, and even cosmetics. Including it in a product does not make the product less vegan friendly. Potassium sorbate is another preservative in Kraft Olive Oil Mayo that does not come from animal sources and is vegan.
Always Read the Label
When buying a product, whether you eat a vegan diet or not, always read the label. Based on the name of this product, you might assume the only oil it contains is olive oil, one of the healthiest oils you can consume.
But if you read the full ingredient list, you'll see it contains soybean oil and canola oil too. Soybean oil is a less healthy form of olive and is highly processed. So, you're consuming various oils when you use this product, some of which are less healthy.
When evaluating a product, it's reassuring when you see on the front of the label that it says "vegan." If not, you'll need to scrutinize the ingredient list and know whether each ingredient is derived from animals. If you have any doubt, call the company, and ask. Most are eager to answer questions about their products.
Know What You’re Buying
Being vegan means you must be careful about ingredients in mayonnaise since many versions of mayonnaise contain eggs or milk. However, there are alternative forms of mayonnaise that contain no animal products and are vegan.
Natural food markets and many mainstream supermarkets carry vegan mayonnaise substitutes and they're just as creamy and satisfying. Some people make their own at home without eggs. You can find recipes for making vegan mayonnaise online. This may be a better approach since you know what goes into what you're eating.
Is Kraft Olive Oil Mayo vegan? No, it is not but there is vegan mayo out there. Do your research, read labels, and don't be afraid to ask the company whether a product is vegan. Make sure you know each ingredient and its origin.
- "Kraft Mayo, With Olive Oil: Calories, Nutrition Analysis & More - Fooducate." 24 Mar. 2011, https://www.fooducate.com/product/Kraft-Mayo-With-Olive-Oil/916C1A74-E106-11DF-A102-FEFD45A4D471.
- "What is Calcium Disodium EDTA (E385) in Food: Uses, Safety, Side Effects." 06 Feb. 2020, https://foodadditives.net/preservatives/calcium-disodium-edta/.
- "Calcium Disodium EDTA: Applications, Safety and Side Effects." 27 Oct. 2018, https://www.healthline.com/nutrition/calcium-disodium-edta.