Skip to main content

Chakra Healing and Balancing

I have over 10 years of experience in the alternative healing and energy fields as a healer and learner of the ancient healing sciences.


The Origins of Chakras

The chakras became a form of awareness as early as the 1500 BC and were highlighted in the Vedas in India as well as the Buddhists, who referred to the chakras as the wheels of dharma, while the Vedas identified chakras as the "wheels of life".

The wheels of energy were understood through the practices of Yoga and the traditional medicines in the East. As exchanges took place with trade, Europeans began to adapt and write down the concept, with the first book about the chakras published in 1919.

The Chakra Symbols


The Main Chakra Centers

There are over 114 chakra centers, and in many healing practices, these are magnified with more smaller centers that spin energy throughout our subtle bodies. This is linked to the main, 7 chakra centers that allow us to maintain balance and health throughout our lives.

Each chakra carries special energy that connects to the others, allowing for one to connect to a specific force within themselves.

Root Chakra: Based on survival, sexuality, and instinct, this chakra is also identified as the primal force.

Sacral Chakra: Implications of relationships to others, connectivity, and our sense of harmony and well-being in the physical world.

Solar Plexus Chakra: The seat of power, this chakra is related to our sense of personal power.

Heart Chakra: The root of love, harmony, and the heart of the mind in how it relates to self and the world.

Throat Chakra: The chakra responsible for our vocalization and how we express our sense of self to the world.

Third Eye Chakra: Identifies with the root of the spirit and soul as well as the internal perceptions of the mind.

Crown Chakra: Relates to the higher self, sense of divinity, and the spirit world.


Are Your Chakras in Balance?

The foundation of healing for chakras is to remain in balance. The mystics believe (and could sometimes see) the spinning of the chakras in each body. When the spinning is too slow, it means that your energy centers are constricted or holding back your truth. When they are spinning too quickly, it is a sense of anticipation or trying to project outwards too much.

The balance of the chakra is "seen" as a clockwise, continuous movement of a circle. This signifies balance with what you are doing.

Another way to identify balance within your chakras is to look at reactivity in different situations. These will each come from the energy centers you are a part of and will alter your sense of well-being.

Here are some signs of being imbalanced with chakras. It's important to remember that individual experiences and imprints may change how one responds or feels.

Root Chakra: Feelings of fear that one will not be able to survive or that they are threatned by death.

Sacral Chakra: Isolation and feelings of not wanting to connect to others. Anger, resentment, and jealousy in relationship to others.

Solar Plexus Chakra: Feelings of disempowerment or inability to achieve something. Lack of confidence and self-esteem.

Heart Chakra: Inability to feel loved and respected within the self or others.

Throat Chakra: Speaking too much or too little. Feelings of restriction in the throat area.

Scroll to Continue

Third Eye Chakra: Inability to discern or identify. Inability to connect to deeper intuition or soul purpose.

Crown Chakra: Feelings of disconnection from the spirit and the greater divine universe.


The Multiple Dimensions of Chakras

The foundation of chakras has several dimensions that interplay with healing and balance. When you identify these, it is possible to become more aware of how to stay in balance and into heal.

Spiritual - Emotional - Physical Well Being

Chakras begin as a form of energy. However, it is impacted by our sense of spirit, emotion, and physical reflections. Our spiritual sense of well-being relates to our energy, sense of being, and purpose that drive us each day.

If your chakras move out of balance, you will see this first in the emotional drive you have. Emotions are energy in motion, signifying changes in your chakras. Negative emotions, such as anger, fear, resentment, or isolation, are all related to chakra imbalances.

Staying in tune with the relationship between your emotional and spiritual body can help you with preventative healing and staying in a space that is balanced with happiness and joy.

If you don't clear or change the frequencies of your chakras when it shows up with spiritual or emotional imbalances, then they will begin to show up with physical changes.

Physical illness often does not start with the body, but also in relation to the mind, energy, and emotions. It is also possible for illness to cause the chakras to lose balance first, then move into imprints and blocks within the emotional, energetic, and spiritual body.

To heal and to find balance, working holistically between the mind-body-spirit supports complete health and wellness.


Relationships of Energy Centers

A common misconception with chakras is by looking at each as an independent faction. Chakras and energy centers are connected to other centers. This means that if there is an imbalance in your first chakra, it will ultimately impact your third and fifth chakra.

An example of this is if you are in a fear state. This starts in the first chakra but then moves to the third, where your solar plexus moves out of a sense of power and disempowers you. The result is in the fifth chakra, where the voice will restrict or will speak too much.

To find balance, you not only want to identify the main energy center but also look at the emotions, spiritual, and physical relationships between each center. This can move into several dimensions between the other energy nodes that are not central to our system as well as with the main centers.


Healing from the Core

Healing is a process, not an end game. It is something that we identify for our well-being and to change who we are in our life.

To instigate healing, you can begin at the core. Identify the reactions, emotions, or physical ailments you have experienced. This will let you know where the chakras are out of balance. It's important to not look at one chakra, but also at others.

In many instances, this is from a new trauma you have. In others, the core requires healing with imprints and traumas from the past. Your chakras and energy centers will hold the imprints, blocks, and negative charges from the past.

Healing with the chakra system doesn't identify a past, present, or future. It is your omniscient, omnipresent book that helps you to clear and become your true self.

The healing you want to define then takes place by looking at any traumas, imprints, or imbalances that have occurred over time.

Empower your core and identify how your mind-body-spirit is at play. This is your own key to find your true healing.

This content is accurate and true to the best of the author’s knowledge and is not meant to substitute for formal and individualized advice from a qualified professional.

© 2022 Brooke Hart

Related Articles