Skip to main content




The art of Chromotherapy, or ‘Colour Healing’ is an ancient one and can be traced back to early Egyptian times.The Hindus have used colour and it's healing benefits, as part of their Ayurvedic medicine system since ancient times.

In England it is recognised by the medical profession as well as alternative therapists of all kinds, as a powerful aid to recovery and healing.The interiors of their medical buildings, hospitals and Healing Centres are painted in appropriate healing colours to correspond with patient's dis-eases.

All Colours tell a story.

This story is like the weaving of our lives and as our lives change constantly, so too do the colours that surround us.Each human (and living thing) on the Earthplane has their own personal colours around them, and these colours can change from second to second depending upon what is happening in their life, and even as there are particular mood changes.

The field of colours that surround us all, is known as the 'Aura',

The Aura and it's colours, are in constant movement.

The human body has 7 main Chakras. Each of these Chakras resonates with a Colour:



The Base (or Root) Chakra is RED and is situated at the base of the spine.

The Base Chakra represents the 'Physical Element' and relates to: the legs, feet, bones and the large intestine. The Base Chakra houses the Karmic forces and when this chakra is active and balanced, there is a sense of purpose, a sense of belonging to the natural world, and a willingness to take personal responsibility for actions and deeds.


Red resonates to the energies of: activity, passion, heat, aggression and movement.


The Spleen Chakra is ORANGE and is located at the base of the back,and to the left-hand side of the spleen.

The Spleen Chakra is known as the 'Vitality Centre' or 'Life Force'. It relates to the endocrine glands, and governs all liquids, including the circulation of the blood, urine and the like.

When balanced, the Spleen Chakra brings a sense of self-confidence and creativity, and allows the imagination to be used constructively.It also enhances the sense of completeness and integration.


Scroll to Continue

Orange resonates with:vitality, courage, dynamic energy and good health.


The Solar Plexus Chakra is YELLOW and is located in the middle of the back, over the kidneys, and relates to the digestive system and the adrenal glands.

It also relates to the liver, spleen, stomach and small intestines.When the energies of the Solar Plexus Chakra are active and balanced, the individual enjoys general wellbeing and has a clear sense of self-determination.


Yellow relates to:Intellect, intuition, mental power and concentration.


The Heart Chakra is located between the shoulder blades, and is in line with the heart. This Chakra is seen as GREEN, PINK, or the combination of the two.

The Heart Chakra is the 'Harmonizing Element' and relates to the thymus gland, lungs, heart, arms and hands.

When open and balanced, this Chakra gives one the genuine ability to give and receive, and compassion develops. The Heart Chakra also relates to Unconditional Love on all levels.

Green and Pink:

The colour for the Heart Chakra is GREEN, although some people visualize it as PINK, or a combination of the two.

Green is the colour of balance, peace and harmony.Green loosens and equalizes the 'etheric' body and is the colour of:energy, youth, growth, inexperience, fertility and new life.

Pink is the colour which represents love and Unconditional Love on all levels.


The Throat Chakra is BLUE, and is located at the front of the throat and the base of the skull.It is our 'Communication Centre’ and relates to the neck and shoulders.

The Throat Chakra represents the power to communicate verbally, and activating this Chakra brings telepathy into consciousness.When the Throat Chakra is opened and balanced, the powers of communication and creativity come to life, adding a new dimension to our comprehension of 'experience'.


Blue represents: inspiration, healing on all levels, peace of mind and calmness.

Blue raises the consciousness to the realm of Spirit and is the colour to use in meditation.Blue is also the colour which is used to increase the metabolism and it builds vitality, yet is cooling and soothing.

The BROW CHAKRA(3rd Eye)

The 3rd Eye, or Brow Chakra is INDIGO and is located at the centre of the forehead, above the nose.It relates to the pineal gland, the eyes, sound, smell and the two hemispheres of the brain. This is the centre for 'Inspiration and Intuition'. It is also known and the 'Command Centre.'

Activating this Chakra increases the power of visualization and brings freedom at many levels, as the state of consciousness represented by this Chakra is beyond all Karmic influences.


Indigo has a cooling vibration, and is a purifier on all levels.It is stimulating and regenerating to the mind, body and soul.


The Crown Chakra is WHITE or VIOLET, and is situated at the top of the head, or crown. It is the element of 'Spiritual or Higher Consciousness. The Crown Chakra relates to the cerebral cortex, the brain, the whole body and its malfunctions or alienations.

It also represents the potential for enlightenment and is the centre of intuition and Spiritual understanding.

When balanced, the Crown Chakra brings: wholeness, completeness and realization on all levels.


White holds the qualities of:purity, new beginnings, Spirituality and upliftment.


Violet is a colour that is rarely seen in the Aura, although, when it is, it is a sign of true greatness and worthiness. Violet is the highest of Spiritual vibrations.



The Vibration and Energy of COLOUR


feenix on August 16, 2011:

Hello, PsychicJoanne,

Quite frankly, this is all very new to me but I found it very interesting, intriguing and thought-provoking.

In order for me to fully digest the information that you provided, I am going to read this post at least two or three more times.

stessily on August 15, 2011:

PsychicJoanne: Well presented, clear writing style, easy to understand. (And I know from my own research that this is actually a complex topic.)

I especially love your statement that the story of our loves is told in living colors, with changes in our lives being expressed prismatically in our auras. Lovely image!

The thought came to me that the story of each of our lives is woven into our own version of Joseph's coat of many colors.

Voted up + useful + beautiful + interesting

Related Articles