Updated date:

WGT World Golf Tour Game Review - With Hints & Tips, Cheats

 

World Golf Tour or WGT as it is also known is the most realistic golf game available to play on the internet. This article will be a review of world golf tour and then also provide you with some WGT tips and help you to improve your all round game play. We will also take a look at how to earn those elusive world golf tour credits.

What Is World Golf Tour

World golf tour first arrived on the scene back in 2008. The game was an instant hit with thousand of people who got involved. Back then the game was very simple, just 9 holes available for full shot play mode and a couple of closest to the hole or CTTH challenges. Even though the game play was limited the basics were there, since then WGT has gone on to release more courses, different modes of game play and lots of other fun features.

The thing that sets world golf tour apart from it’s rivals is how realistic game play is. The courses are actual real courses, every detail is so precise and accurate. Currently there are nine full course you can play on WGT, these are Bethpage Black, St Georges, Olympic Club, Whistler, Cabo Del Sol, Oakmont, St. Andrews, Congressional and Kiawah Island Ocean Course. The game designers are still in the process of bringing out new courses and different challenges for players to get involved in.

WGT

wgt-world-golf-tour-game-review-with-hints-tips

Will It Cost Me?

World golf tour is a free game and you can quite easily play the game without it ever costing you anything. However to really progress in the game you need to buy virtual equipment. To do this you need WGT credits. You can purchase credits or there are other ways of obtaining them such as completing surveys or winning competitions. To really be in a position to compete on world golf tour you need to have spent quite a bit of money on some decent clubs and balls. However many players manage by just buying say $10 worth of credits at the start and then winning the rest in different forms of the game.

The creators of WGT have been very careful to try to create a fair game. They are constantly looking for cheats or people who break the rules. There are tiers set in place to ensure that players of different levels will play in the correct competitions. Players who are more advanced also play from longer tees which make the game far more challenging. World golf tour really have thought of everything in this regard.

Screenshot Of Actual Gameplay

wgt-world-golf-tour-game-review-with-hints-tips

WGT Community

One of the best things about world golf tour is the community. This is an online golf game where people can play against each other. As many as four players can be playing a WGT game at once all against each other. There are also team events where players play on the same side. On your profile you can add friends and contact other players. There is also an option to set up a private country club on world golf tour, here you can add your friends and start private tournaments and competitions.

There is also a very lively forum on world golf tour. The forum is a great place to hear all the latest news on WGT, you can also pick up some tips for game play and get help improving your game. On the world golf tour forums you can also read about latest releases varying from new avatars to new courses. You can also mention any bugs you encounter or simply have a bit of a banter with fellow online golfers on WGT.

wgt-world-golf-tour-game-review-with-hints-tips

Tips & Hints For Game Play

When it comes to tips and hints for WGT really the most simple suggestion is practice. This is a game that takes a great deal of time and effort to become a seasoned player. You need to learn the world golf tour courses and work out which shots are going to play best. Sometimes it’s better to lay up instead of blasting at the green and ending up in the thick rough. Another tip is try not to leave your approach to the green to close, you want to be hitting a full wedge in rather than a 60% shot. This will allow you greater control over the ball.

Another WGT tip would be to invest in the correct equipment. There is a massive selection of clubs and it’s good to invest as soon as new clubs become available to you. There is an option where you can hire out clubs and this is a good way to get an idea of what type of club suits you best. You should also invest in some decent balls, remember, if a ball has good ‘feel’ this mean the meter will slow down when you are taking a shot, this mean you hit more shots where you are aiming.

In recent times there have been improvements to the game and new features brought out. The latest which has come in is variable lies. This means if you are playing a shot from a slope the ball will behave differently. This is possibly the biggest change the game has ever seen and it looks like making it much more difficult. The best way to combat this latest change is to get out on the course and play. Some courses such as Kiawah Island should not be that much harder, but courses like the Olympic Club which have lots of steep slopes will prove very difficult indeed with this new feature.

Another simple tip for world golf tour is to consult the forums. This is a great place to pick up tips and get help for the game. One way to improve your game is to play with players who are better than you. You may end up losing, but you can watch how they play certain holes and learn from their experience.

Screenshot From Pebble Beach

wgt-world-golf-tour-game-review-with-hints-tips

Overall

World golf tour really is an incredibly realistic online golf game. There is so much to enjoy about WGT and so many different games you can get involved with playing. If you are really good at the game there are some amazing prizes up for grabs in some of the competitions. WGT have given away all expenses paid holidays to various golfing resorts, gift cars for hundreds of dollars, golf clubs, sunglasses and even a car! So if you really get practicing there are no limits to the things you can achieve when you play world golf tour.

Other Handy WGT Links

Comments

Bobby Webb on June 10, 2019:

The author of this idiotic report has no idea what this site is really about. If he did he would have never written such a one sided piece. I have had 3 accounts with WGT because they keep closing my accounts for calling them out for manipulating the game for profit. What people are describing as realistic is the "photos" of real courses, nothing more. Game play itself is BS. As far as "FREE" to play, that to is BS. The goal of the game is to make money and WGT makes a lot of money off the members. You can start out playing free but it doesn't take long before you will have to spend money to play or even be competitive. And that will set you back quite a bit. More than you would spend if you played golf at one of your local courses. The game manipulation starts early as WGT will make it fairly easy as long as you get used to a super fast meter. But you wont be playing long before the real manipulation takes on a whole new meaning. WGT changes the performance, accuracy and spin of the "clubs" you buy. WGT changes the course conditions when it will suit their needs, the need is money! Winds speeds, green speeds, wind direction, breaks on the greens, hazards are all manipulated to cost you hits on balls and balls themselves. If you want to be competitive then you will have to spend money and balls are the biggest expense. Ball life is absolutely ridiculous as is the price. Ive been champion and tour legend twice with my average at 51.08. So I wasn't that bad. There are others who are really good at the game and continuously shoot in the low to mid 50's. Realistic? LOL I don't think so. There are cheats, auto dingers, distance and wind calculators and putting assistants. More than that there are those members who will never be banned or accounts closed simply because they are advertising for WGT and WGT needs free advertising. These are typically your top players and always at the top of the winnings - earnings lists. All in all WGT is a scam. The setup at WGT is one sided and leaves little to be desired because of its extreme dishonest gameplay. The forums are full of the same degrading members who will troll the forums looking to belittle and bad mouth you and anyone who may ask a real question. WGT allows this as they want to weed out those who will defy their crooked logic. I never had more than one account open at one time. So I was not a multi account user. But I closed my last account myself and will not be back. If you decide to pay to play, make sure you use PayPal to pay for your credits, that way when you are sick of the BS, you can pull back the money you spent for the last 12 months. WGT cannot stop this from happening because they cannot defend the reason. Just make sure PayPal knows you are pulling the money back because " WGT did not give you what you paid for "..."item not as described"...I did this and got back every single dime I spent for that entire year. But to save yourself a headache, DONT play WGT!!!

VNMS on January 25, 2019:

Best Golf Game - No 1 theifs on the planet.

Pawpaw on April 28, 2018:

Worst golf game ever. Nothing is same from game to game. No touch around green. Chipping is impossible. No consistency. When you hit out the rough it’s a crap shoot how far the ball will go, never the same. All in all a very poor excuse for a golf game.

Terry on August 28, 2017:

Very disappointed with the game. The graphics are nice but the game freezes up too often especially after adjusting the direction of the ball flight. After the game freezes twice during a match your disqualified and you lose the coins you invested. Very frustrating.

Michael on April 08, 2016:

This game is ludicrous, they expect you to pay more for their "virtual" clubs and balls, than you would for real clubs to maintain the ability to hit the ball well. Even the balls run out after a few rounds, and you constantly need to purchase more. Don't waste your time. Its full of glitches too, rather spend what you would on WGT to purchase a console....that's right, $200-$300 is what you're likely to spend only to remain frustrated. Their service is atrocious too.

JR on June 14, 2015:

Love the game. Just started a couple days ago and moved up from hack to amateur. Lot tougher to play now but realistic. Will keep playing to improve.

Busta on August 11, 2014:

Been there 3 years now. Never been hacked,...never seen players floating over tee-boxes or balls disappearing into thin air,....and it's not because I don't play enough (lvl 89 legend with over 1000 ranked rounds.).

Vem does happen but it happens to all of us. Imagine how dead boring it would be if we all got to a level where we shot the perfect round every time?

The game would become redundant.

And remember,....no-one made you buy the upgrades. You can play the game for free with the starter equipment and still have access to all the courses and play all the tournaments for your respective level.

BobcatG on January 08, 2014:

I have tee-ed off for the last time on this game too. Not spent any money, but am tired of being held to plus 18 to 20 on 18 holes, no matter how well I do on the first 9. I complained to WGT and of course they told me to join a forum and discuss. NOT INTERESTED!

Just to show how it works, I was +6 on the front 9 of a recent game and +12 on the back. Front; parred 4 holes, 1 putt rimmed, 1 drive landed in the rough. Back; parred the last hole, 7 putts rimmed, 7 drives in the rough. I have had chip shots that are supposed to go 16 yards go 1 yard in spite of hitting the sweet spot. I have had chips onto the green that bounce 80 degrees left or right. Never seen a real ball do that.

I'm sure a good credit card can fix that

Very sad on December 20, 2013:

Dissapointing websites with lots of disconnection problems/loading errors etc. This website does not work very well. Complain and they do not want to know. Its a scam site taking your money never to get anything back. Avoid this site, there are better ones out there.

BOK on August 16, 2013:

I am glad to read so many other complaints about WGT golf. I thought it was my imagination, but after reading so many other complaints about the exact same problems I have had, makes me feel a little better. (It's not your computer). Do not waste your money on WGT! If you want to play a real game of golf against other players then I recommend Golden Tee! It still costs money but at least you will not be ripped off, and you will even have a chance to win some of your money back. Yes! Golden Tee will give you a fair game and when you do good, have a chance to get your hard earned money back!

BKeathley on June 23, 2013:

How do you move up in this game ? I have seen players that just started and are already have Pro status only after a week. I have been playing steadily for 2 months now, and I am still a 110 Hack. I have hit great shots and my long drive does not change. These thing's should be updated after each game, but are not. I love the game but I dont want to stay at a 110 Hack the rest of my playing day's. The better players will not play me because of my Tier status.

Martin Williams on March 19, 2013:

WGT is a scam, for the last year I have had to create 3 accounts as they keep disabling my accounts, I have tried now for a year to play this game and always after about 3 months I log in and it's disabled, this time they just did it again and I had $60.00 invested in it, they never respond to my queries they just shut my account down.

They are thief's and crooks, watch these guys if you put any money into this game they will steal it.

darren on February 16, 2013:

Don't expect any help from them when things go wrong.

Slicker1 on February 08, 2013:

Forgot password and got new computer, but can't play because WGT won't send me my password.

ldemon1 on December 13, 2012:

Why don't you tell us about VEM WGT? To thos players that say they ever see glitches or bugs, you simply don't pay enough. They are there, they do exist and they are built into the game. That doesn't mean it is not a fun game, but they do exist and VEM automatically adjusts your game to be more challenging as you progress to a higher tier. WGT wants the game to be realistic and that is why they use their patented VEM. Yet, the realism is not applied to everything in the game. Balls hit in to a water hazard are not necessarily placed in a drop zone that is defined but USGA or USPGA rules. On the green, one may have a putt that shows significant break, yet, when the putt is made, the ball travels in a straight line. One may also have a putt that shows absolutely no break, yet breaks when the ball is hit and dinged. The VEM (Virtual Equipment Module) is applied randomly yet shows up significantly more when a hazard is possibly in play (water hazard or OB). It is most peoples opinion that this happens so WGT can sell more balls. Mudbubble, I too never tire of playing the game and I am not surprised that you do not see "bugs" or server issues, you have been a member since 2009 and are only at a tour pro Tier. Maybe you should try moving up to play the game a little more and see what it is like at a higher Tier off of longer tees.

Mudbubble on November 02, 2012:

I've been playing for WGT for years and never tire of it. I have never experienced any "bugs" or server issues. Love this game tremendously - I'm an avid golfer and WGT is the perfect solution in between each real world round.

Brian on June 15, 2012:

Anyone else had there email hacked after becoming a member of WGT ?

Eric on May 23, 2012:

If you can get around the horrendous amount of bugs that never get fixed, then this game site is very fun. I mean literally this site does not fix the bugs. They have a forum for feedback of bugs, but never fix what is said in the forum to be fixed. If they are from the golf foundation, they are the laziest people in getting a site working right. Take 3 years in Beta still.

WGT is a SCAM on April 19, 2012:

Before any of you go and deposit your hard earned money on this website Listen up! I have been a paying member here for quite some time now, and spending a lot of money on cyber clubs, cyber balls, cyber courses, cyber cc's and on and on, only to have brand new nike balls taken after 2 games, balls lost do to Server glitches (they will tell you it's your computer) Credits lost do to server glitches, server freezes, other players disconnecting during the game (again, they will tell you it's your computer) Many, many times now I and others in the game have seen players floating in the air on the tee box, Balls being tee'd off that just disappear into outer space and getting the "out of Bounds" message, this happens to everyone in the game on the same hole (they tell you it is your computer) I have sent several screenshots and several e-mails and errors, games played, dates, other players in the game, how many credits lost (over 9000 to date) and balls lost due to server issues. Only to get NOTHING but excuses. This is a business, and it seems to me that they are doing whatever it takes to make you pull out your credit cards and deposit more money into their business. I have no problem buying into something that is enjoyable and fair, but to spend hard earned money on things that you can't hold in your hand only to have it stripped away do to the Company's errors and then not being compensated for it is just starting to feel like a Huge internet scam and plain out fraud! Again they will tell me to clear this cache, and clear that cache, update my browser, update my flash player, get a better video card and on and on. Let me just say this. I built this computer for hard core gaming, I can play any multi player game out there on full settings and not have any issues, so Please Stop disrespecting me by telling me that it is My computer! I sent the proof that you wanted regarding the credits and balls lost do too WGT glitches, SO PLEASE GIVE THEM BACK!

fishhook on February 09, 2012:

I've been playing WGT for a little over a year and I am in no wise great. I've improved dramatically from the days of Hack, but this games is not something that you play for a few months and there is no more improvement. Kind of like real golf.

glf3iron on January 16, 2012:

Thanks to the creators of WGT!!!!

Been playing a month and a half and I feel like I haven't scratched the surface of this virtual game. If you are a seasoned golfer, newbie, or just interested you MUST try this game. It's a sweet spot!

Ramsonsons202 on December 19, 2011:

keep up the good work

Bali golf course on October 17, 2011:

If you are really good at the game there are some amazing prizes up for grabs in some of the competitions....