Skip to main content

Presidential Dollar Release Dates

  • Author:
  • Updated date:
Presidential Dollar Release Dates. Pictured above is the 2007 set of Presidential dollars.

Presidential Dollar Release Dates. Pictured above is the 2007 set of Presidential dollars.

Presidential Dollar Release Dates:

The dollar coin is finally popular again! Well at least that’s the intent of the newest Presidential Dollar Coins. This unique mintage of dollars began in 2007 and is set to mint four new President Designs yearly until all presidents have been depicted. Covered in this article is the history and intentions of the Presidential Dollar Program as well as year by year Presidential Dollar release dates.


History of the Presidential Dollar Program:

  • In 2005, Congress passed the Presidential $1 Coin Act. This act enabled the release of four new Presidential Dollars every year starting in 2007.
  • The program is meant to commemorate the work of each President. Coins will be released in the order in which the Presidents served in office.
  • Contrary to common belief, the New Presidential Dollars are not meant to be a collector’s coin. The whole drive to the Program is to stimulate the public to use the more sustainable dollar coin instead of the traditional paper dollar. Since the coins last much longer and are recyclable, it would save the Government millions in printing expenses. In all reality, we’d be doing ourselves all a favor by using these dollar coins more frequently! Don’t hoard these coins, they are meant to be spent!
  • 2009 brought the first changes to the permanent design of the Presidential Dollar. In this year, the motto, “In God We Trust”, was moved from the rim of the coin to the obverse. This measure was done to alleviate and resolve the amount of errors that were minted during earlier coinage.


Smooth Edge Washington Dollar Error Coin.

Smooth Edge Washington Dollar Error Coin.

Did You Know?

The Presidential Dollar coins are a great way to find errors. Due to the multiple-step minting process associated with the Edge Lettering, there have been many varieties of known Mint Errors. In the first issue of 2007, it is estimated that some 100,000-200,000 Washington Dollars were issued for circulation without Edge Lettering. These coins have recently been selling for around $50 for Graded MS-65. The smooth edge Washington Dollar is not the only error that exist though, there are many other known smooth edge and double edge lettering errors throughout the Presidential Dollar Collection.

Great Coin Reads:

Presidential Dollar Release Dates:

2007 –

  • George Washington
  • John Adams
  • Tomas Jefferson
  • James Madison

2008 –

  • James Monroe
  • John Quincy Adams
  • Andrew Jackson
  • Martin Van Buren

2009 –

  • William Henry Harrison
  • John Tyler
  • James K. Polk
  • Zachary Taylor

2010 –

Scroll to Continue
  • Millard Fillmore
  • Franklin Pierce
  • James Buchanan
  • Abraham Lincoln

2011 –

  • Andrew Johnson
  • Ulysses S. Grant
  • Rutherford B. Hayes
  • James Garfield

2012 –

  • Chester A. Arthur
  • Grover Cleveland
  • Benjamin Harrison
  • Grover Cleveland

2013 –

  • William McKinley
  • Theodore Roosevelt
  • William Howard Taft
  • Woodrow Wilson

2014 –

  • Warren Harding
  • Calvin Coolidge
  • Herbert Hoover
  • Franklin D. Roosevelt

2015 –

  • Harry S. Truman
  • Dwight D. Eisenhower
  • John F. Kennedy
  • Lyndon B. Johnson

2016 –

  • Richard M. Nixon
  • Gerald Ford



United States Mint

Related Articles