Skip to main content
Updated date:

Lactose Free and Dairy Free Butter Alternatives and Substitutes

Author:

Jaydawg808 writes interesting and innovative articles from a variety of topics and interests.

Just because a butter says "dairy free" or "lactose free" does NOT mean it is

It is ALWAYS advised to READ the labels. It's important to educate yourself in knowing what are different words for meaning the same thing as lactose and milk. It's important because being that it's a hidden word, you'll really have to look for it.

Lactose Free and Dairy Free Butter Substitutes: A Beginning

Lactose intolerance is close to me as I am a sufferer of this intolerance. I first found out that I was intolerant to lactose when I was in elementary school. I felt very gassy and my stomach wouldn't feel right.

Fast forward to when I was in high school. I was a senior and just had eaten Jack in The Box's Bacon & Cheddar Potato Wedges with a Breakfast Jack for lunch. After eating, I felt severe cramping in my stomach with heartburn. I have never experienced this feeling before in my life. My parents took me to the emergency room where they treated me and I was able to go home. From that moment on, I had to watch my intake of milk and dairy products.

lactose-free-and-dairy-free-butter-alternatives

CAUTION, these items MAY CONTAIN MILK

It is advised to also take a look at these ingredients. They MAY contain milk.

  • Natural flavoring (the problem with the food industry is that they do not need to disclose what this "natural flavoring" is. It could contain milk, and we don't know. Be very cautious when seeing this in the ingredient list)
  • Flavoring (this is the same as natural flavoring. We are not sure what this "flavoring" is and derived from)
  • Caramel flavoring
  • High protein flour
  • Lactic acid (usually not a problem)
  • Lactic acid starter culture
  • Non-dairy” products may contain casein (just because the product is listed as "non-dairy" does not mean that it is okay to eat. It may contain casein, which has been shown to cause problems with people sensitive to dairy products)
  • Rice cheese
  • Soy cheese

WARNING! These items CONTAIN MILK!

It is very important to read the food labels and watch out for the following on this list. They contain milk and should be avoided if you have a milk allergy or are lactose intolerant.

Butter
(this includes the following: artificial butter, artificial butter flavor, butter, butter extract, butter fat, butter flavored oil, butt er solids, dairy butter, natural butter, natural butter flavor, whipped butter)

Casein & caseinates
(this includes the following: ammonium caseinate, calcium caseinate, magnesium caseinate, potassium caseinate, sodium caseinate, hydrolyzed casein, iron caseinate, zinc caseinate)

Cheese
(this includes ALL types of cheese, cheese flavor (artificial and natural), cheese food, cottage cheese, cream cheese, imitation cheese, vegetarian cheeses with casein]

Cream, whipped cream
Curds
Custard
Dairy product solids
Galactose
Ghee
Half & Half
Hydrolysates [casein hydrolysate, milk protein hydrolysate, protein hydrolysate, whey hydrolysate, whey protein hydrolysate]
Ice cream, ice milk, sherbet
Lactalbumin, lactalbumin phosphate
Lactate solids
Lactyc yeast
Lactitol monohydrate
Lactoglobulin
Lactose
Lactulose


Milk
(this includes the following: acidophilus milk, buttermilk, buttermilk blend, buttermilk solids, cultured milk, condensed milk, dried milk, dry milk solids (DMS), evaporated milk, fat‐free milk, fully cream milk powder, goat’s milk, Lactaid milk, lactose-free milk, low‐fat milk, malted milk, milk derivative, milk powder, milk protein, milk solids, milk solid pastes, non‐fat dry milk, non‐fat milk, non‐fat milk solids, pasteurized milk, powdered milk, sheep’s milk, skim milk, skim milk powder, sour milk, sour milk solids, sweet cream buttermilk powder, sweetened condensed milk, sweetened condensed skim milk, whole milk, 1% milk, 2% milk)


Milk fat, anhydrous milk fat
Nisin preparation
Nougat
Pudding
Quark
Recaldent
Rennet, rennet casein
Simplesse (fat replacer)
Sour cream, sour cream solids, imitation sour cream

Whey
(this includes the following: acid whey, cured whey, delactosed whey, demineralized whey, hydrolyzed whey, powdered whey, reduced mineral whey, sweet dairy whey, whey, whey protein, whey protein concentrate, whey powder, whey solids]

Yogurt (regular or frozen), yogurt powder

Beware of "dairy free" butter substitutes

Some dairy free substitutes really do contain dairy in them. Sometimes there is a little of the ingredient that is unsafe. However, people process the amount of lactose, casein, whey, and other dairy in different ways. Just because one person doesn't feel any ill effects from a product does not mean that it is safe.

There are very few alternatives out there that actually do not contain any traces of dairy for a butter substitute.

In the following examples, we'll see just what is contained in these so called "non-dairy" or "alternative" butter products.

Which butters are dairy free?

There are a few out there. Among them are Earth Balance, Smart Balance, and Melt. I personally have experience with Earth Balance and Smart Balance. In my opinion, the Earth Balance spread is the best. Tastes just like butter and displays excellent properties of melting.

Earth Balance

I recommend Earth Balance as an alternative to butter. Earth Balance melts and tastes just like the real thing. You can cook and bake with it. You can also freeze it to use later. The thing I like about this butter alternative is that it's very tasty and can be found in most grocery stores. The taste is what everyone is interested in, and this does not disappoint. Give it a try, you won't be disappointed.

lactose-free-and-dairy-free-butter-alternatives

© 2018 jaydawg808

Related Articles