Updated date:

Review of "Chapter 14 the Message" Also Known as 14 Shou the Message by Japanese Pop Music Group Morning Musume

Ara is a Journalism graduate from California State University Northridge who is always looking to explore his writing opportunities.

Introduction to Chapter 14 The Message

Chapter 14 The Message is the English title for the album 14 Shou The Message by Japanese pop music group Morning Musume. The album was released in 2014 which was the last full year of work with Morning Musume for its band leader Sayumi Michishige. This was also the last studio album for members Riho Sayashi and Kanon Suzuki. Many of the members in this album were and are still very young because they were born in the 1990’s or later. Michishige is the only member that was born in 1989 so at this time she was 25 years old. Chapter 14 The Message shows a development in the career of Morning Musume that sees them really explore the electronic music territory and this may be something that some music fans may roll their eyes over because they might think that the electronic sound on this album is overdone and it certainly is. That is something that we will discuss later in this review.

Chapter 14 The Message Songs List

1. TIKI Bun

2. Password is Zero (0)

3. You Create Tomorrow

4. A Glittery, Shining Star

5. The Truth About Becoming Lovers - I Definitely Don't Want to Know

6. What is Love?

7. I Am What I Am

8. Humorless Conversation

9. You With a Smile Are My Sun

10. No One Can Replace You

11. We Become Adults Will We Be Adults

12. Beyond Time and Space

These binary symbols represent what is going on in the song called Password is 0.

These binary symbols represent what is going on in the song called Password is 0.

How Does the Album 14 Shou The Message Begin?

The album features an electronic influence in "TIKI Bun" as well as the song "Password is 0." The group should include more song titles in English so that fans can read about the group easier and this would attract more fans for the group outside their native Japan. Japanese is considered by the United Nations to be one of the world’s hardest languages to learn and master. It is a tough language just like Finnish so interpreting the lyrical themes of the songs without lyrical translations is going to be challenging for sure.

"Password Is 0"

Chapter 14 The Message Review Continued

Is this album memorable in the decade of the 2010’s? You make that judgement because it is tough for me to say with any certainty. TIKI Bun is one of those songs I did not really enjoy at first but it has grown on me. The song speeds up and has this sort of video game kind of sound to it. It sounds like they are saying cheeky bun. How funny is that? Some of you may get a laugh out of this song. Then comes the best song in the album “Password is 0.” Even though there is repetition in it, the song is one of the catchiest and upbeat you will ever hear! The password may be zero but the song is a big vibration booster! You can listen to this album to bring up your vibration so that manifesting whatever you want becomes much easier. This is not an article on manifesting but if you need a quick mood booster, Chapter 14 The Message is one of those albums that will work very well! Writing articles (at least for some people is as easy as manifesting a slice of pizza). It is really not very common for fans in the United States to even be familiar with Morning Musume. The Truth About Becoming Lovers – I Definitely Don’t Want to Know is one of those songs that actually has English lyrics in it. You can hear the dialogue as the woman says “what is this crazy rock music?” I Am Who I Am is a song in which even though time passes and the colors can change with each season, we have to have enough strength so that we do not allow others to use us.

A Few Interesting Facts About Chapter 14 The Message

  • Even though the album sold only 30,783 copies which is the official stated number, it still became the highest selling album of Hello! Project in 2014.
  • This is the only Morning Musume album that is a non-compilation album in which Sayumi Michishige was the band leader for that she does not have a solo song for.

Rate the Album Known as 14 Shou The Message

There are a Few Similarities Between Morning Musume and Ace of Base

Chapter 14 The Message has 12 songs for 51 minutes of solid, entertaining Japanese pop and techno music. The length is similar to albums released by former Swedish pop music super group Ace of Base. Their first album The Sign was 45 minutes long and even had a French titled song as one of its tracks. This is not an article trying to compare Morning Musume to Ace of Base but just to point out that there are a few similarities between these two famous groups.

Final Thoughts About Chapter 14 The Message

Warenai Hanashi which is song #8 and depending on the translation can mean Humorless Conversation has some rap style vocals. I grew up listening to rap music at first! If We Become Adults, Will We Be Adults is song #11 and has an interesting rock feel to it. Beyond Time and Space is the last song on this album and it has some very good piano sweeping or tapping if you want to call it that.

And then, to offer such a big contrast compared to the album’s first two songs, You Create Tomorrow is this much softer and piano influenced pop song and the girls keep on singing the words “I love you.” Perhaps it is no coincidence that the first member pictured inside the CD’s booklet is Sayumi Michishige. I would say that the group felt that her image should go in the booklet first because of her popularity and influence. You Create Tomorrow in English is a song that is about living life in a way that means that you imagine how you want your future to look like without falling prey to the gossip of others. The song’s message is about falling in love but also the song is trying to say that things do not always work out the way that we want them to. The power to make what the song refers to as fun dreams is possible to humans. You Create Tomorrow is one of those songs that offers a break from the electro pop feel that is on this album. “You With a Smile Are My Sun” is one part of the triple sided single along with the song “No One Can Replace You” and “What is Love?” Those 3 songs make up what is Morning Musume’s 55th single.

Overall Chapter 14 The Message is a decent album. However, the electro pop influence that dominates the album is a bit overdone and this is one of those attributes that contributes to the somewhat lack of musical variety. The strongest songs include Password is 0, What is Love?, and the last two songs. In the song called TIKI Bun, it sounds like the girls are saying the words “cheeky bun” so some of you may laugh at this. Even with the constant singing of the words “zero, zero, zero password is zero” Password is Zero still remains one of the group’s best songs.

This content reflects the personal opinions of the author. It is accurate and true to the best of the author’s knowledge and should not be substituted for impartial fact or advice in legal, political, or personal matters.

© 2021 Ara Vahanian


Ara Vahanian (author) from LOS ANGELES on May 04, 2021:

Thank you very much for commenting. This article isn't a biography of the group but it is my hope that readers will find it easier to follow along with some of the content in there. This group has been active for over 23 years bless them!!

MG Singh from UAE on May 03, 2021:

This was a nice introduction to the Japanese pop group.

Related Articles