Skip to main content

Queen Drummer's New Solo Album Brings to Mind Both His Solo Work as Well as His Stuff With the Band

  • Author:
  • Updated date:

Roger Taylor's Raspy Vocal Always Complemented the Powerful Voice of Freddie Mercury


It was his high vocal that provided a highlight of “Bohemian Rhapsody”, as the film of the same title so acutely pointed out. While Roger Taylor was not the focal point of that film, Queen's drummer held a distinctive role in that band and its music.

Taylor, who along with guitarist Brian May, took active roles behind the scenes to help Bohemian Rhapsody earn several Oscar nods. Now three years later, both Taylor and May have embarked on solo records.

May has chosen to do all instrumental album, which is still in its early stages. Taylor, on the other hand, has completed his new solo album, which promises to be as solid as some of his early work from the Eighties.

Outsider is the name of album, whose first single is “We're All Just Trying To Get By.” As the title might suggest, the song centers on the world's collective experience during the pandemic of 2020.

Taylor for the album also does a cover of KT Tunstall's “Suddenly I See,” on which she shares vocals with the Queen drummer. It is easy to infer the significance of the song's chorus in terms of surviving the pandemic, since “Suddenly I see why the hell it means so much to me.”

Fourteen dates are on the calendar for a UK Tour that will feature songs from his solo work as well as some Queen classics, primarily the compositions penned and sung by Taylor himself. If you are lucky enough to attend one of the upcoming shows, here are ten songs you should want Taylor to include in his set.

1. I'm In Love with My Car from A Night at the Opera

This cut was one of the few Taylor tunes to get mentioned in Bohemian Rhapsody, and it even got some regular airplay when the LP came out in 1976.

2. Tenement Funster from Sheer Heart Attack

He had written a couple of tracks for the first two albums, but it was this rock anthem that gave us a glimpse of the attitude that would for the enxt decade serve as a complement to the operatic front man.

3. Fun It from Jazz

With the infectious beat, it surprised no one that this dance-able song was composed by a drummer.

Scroll to Continue

4. Calling All Girls from Hot Space

Taylor does have an acoustic side, less seen than his rocking aspect, and nowhere is that leaning toward ballad more apparent than on this single from an otherwise disco album.

5. Airheads from Fun In Space

“People round here call me an airhead,” Taylor mocks in the chorus of a highlight from his first solo album. “People round here ain't too refined.”

6. Man on Fire from Strange Frontiers

This single from the second solo disk exudes a lot of the energy that seemed to be sacrificed for technology on Fun In Space.

7. Sheer Heart Attack from News of the World

You would think this title would have appeared on the band's third record, but it provides a good balance to the overall seriousness of album mates like “All Dead, All Dead”, “It's Late” and “Spread Your Wings.”

8. Coming Soon from Play the Game

A short rock number with a lot of bluster, this cut would not have been out of place had it appeared on his second solo album.

9. My Country from Fun In Space

“I will not fight for my country” Taylor declares in a chorus that could very well resound today. “Won't have no part of no partisans, for one party and another's all the same.”

10. Fight From the Inside from Sheer Heart Attack

Not only did Taylor contribute two of the best songs to album six, but he also drew its brilliant cover.

Related Articles