Updated date:

Movie Review and Summary: Precious

Author:

Precious Movie


I just finished watching the movie Precious, and I just had to come into the office and write a review! It affected me more than any movie has in a long, long time. You must see this film. It’s based on the novel Push, by Sapphire. It’s one of the most powerful movies I’ve ever seen. The plot is painfully raw, and the acting is so real that it’s almost like watching a documentary instead of a Hollywood creation.


Untrained actress Gabourey Sidibe shines in the title role of Claireece Precious Jones, a morbidly obese black teen from a Welfare home. Precious has been abused her entire life, by both her father and her mother. He father’s abuse was sexual. Because of his rapes, Precious has two children by him.


Precious’ mother constantly abuses her, also – verbally, emotionally, and physically. She uses the girl as a servant and as a meal ticket for her Welfare checks. The only stability in Precious’ life at this point is the grandmother, whose fear of her daughter prevents her from aiding her granddaughter.


Because of all the abuse, poor Precious has absolutely no self esteem. The two people in her life who should have been her protectors, her parents, served as her tormentors, instead. She describes herself as “ugly black grease to be washed from the street.” That's just so sad to me - that anyone could describe herself in those words.


Precious’ mother, Mary, is played by Mo’Nique. Who knew she was such an amazing actress? The scene with Mary and the social worker is truly unforgettable. In fact, it’s some of the best acting I’ve ever witnessed. As I was watching the scene, spellbound, I was wondering where Mo’Nique found all the razor-sharp emotion. There really are no words to describe it. You’ll just have to see it for yourself.


And speaking of the social worker, Mrs. Weiss – that part is played by Mariah Carey, whom I didn’t even recognize without all her glitter and makeup. She does an admirable job, also. I think it playing the part was a big step out of Ms. Carey's "comfort zone," if you know what I mean.


Precious is practically illiterate, yet in her inner city Harlem school, she’s considered a good student because she’s quiet and rarely causes any trouble. Obviously, her teachers don't care about learning - they seem to care only about classroom behavior. Because she doesn't cause the teachers problems, she receives little attention from the educators. Her life changes, however, when school officials discover that she’s pregnant and is subsequently kicked out of school. Her only option is to attend an alternative school.


The alternative class is taught by Ms. Rain, played by Paula Patton. Rain is a truly dedicated teacher who cares deeply about her students. Once Precious learns to trust and believe in Ms. Rain, she begins to believe in herself and starts to turn her life around. This really hit home with me and with many other viewers: It's amazing how one person can have such a profound impact on someone else's life.


This movie touched me on several levels, probably because of my years teaching at the high school level. Precious reminded me of several students I’ve known – lost souls searching for a way to assuage the pain in their lives. And I taught in a small town, so I can’t imagine how many teens in the crime-ridden public schools of the inner cities are suffering a similar fate to Precious. Unfortunately, far too many of these youth simply fall through the cracks. They don’t all have a Ms. Rain to catch them.


The only parts of the movie that didn’t completely work for me were Precious’ fantasies. She often daydreams about being a movie star or some other celebrity, where crowds of fans adore her. I suppose they fit in a way, however, since Precious’ ultimate goal was finding love and acceptance. I suppose one reason this was hard for me to relate to is because I had a very happy childhood, with two wonderful parents.


Precious is an inspirational story of an improbable heroine overcoming almost insurmountable obstacles. The film will shock and anger you, but in the end, you’re sure to find it uplifting.

movie-review-and-summary-precious

Read more about movies:

  • Avatar: Summary and Analysis
    Jake Sully is a combat marine who has been injured in battle. As a result, hes a paraplegic. The VA doesn't have enough money to repair his legs, so hes in a wheelchair. After his twin brother is...
  • Great Movies about the South, with Trailers and Videos
    Im a proud Southerner, and I love movies about the South not just movies set in the South but actually about the South and Southerners. All the movies mentioned give a glimpse of real-life...
  • Great Horse Movies
    I think I was born to love horses! When I was a kid, that's all I thought about. Every Christmas and birthday, I asked for horse stuff. Mainly, I asked for my own horse, but this wish was difficult for my...

Comments

guest on May 02, 2012:

It was not a good film, based on the agenda and promotion.

silentwolf on June 21, 2011:

Great job on the summary and review. I myself blog on here too, so I was wondering do you mind looking at my page. and letting me know what you think? and if you dont mind leaving comments.thankyou for your time.

Holle Abee (author) from Georgia on May 17, 2011:

Lovely, I haven't been here much, either. Good to see ya!

Renee S from Virginia on April 20, 2011:

It sounds like a very touching movie. I love tear-jerkers. Hope you're doing well, Habee. It's been a while since I've been active on here.

Holle Abee (author) from Georgia on March 11, 2011:

Nicky, get out the tissues, girl!

Nicky Smart from United Kingdom on March 06, 2011:

sounds like one I need to watch at home so I can blubber without anyone watching me. Thanks for the review

Holle Abee (author) from Georgia on February 08, 2011:

cheryl, Precious was an awesome movie. I think I'm ready to watch it again!

Cheryl J. from Houston, TX on February 08, 2011:

Habee,

A great review and summary. I was amazed. I learned so much from watching the movie. Great hub.

Holle Abee (author) from Georgia on November 14, 2010:

Thanks, Sarah!

Sarah from Melbourne, Australia on November 11, 2010:

I understand what you mean about the fantasies, I didn't really like that either. Great Review :)

Holle Abee (author) from Georgia on April 25, 2010:

Genny, hope you enjoy it!

genny2000 on April 25, 2010:

good review i think i might watch the movie i was thinkin of seeing it and now i will !!!!!!!!

Holle Abee (author) from Georgia on March 18, 2010:

Don, how old is your daughter? The language is rough.

Holle Abee (author) from Georgia on March 17, 2010:

Sneak, I didn't cry - I was inspired!

Don Simkovich from Pasadena, CA on March 17, 2010:

My daughter is wanting to go see Precious . . . sounds like it's worthwhile and thought provoking.

sneakorocksolid on March 15, 2010:

Is it a crying movie? I hate to cry at the movies! Great Hub!

Holle Abee (author) from Georgia on March 15, 2010:

Joe, isn't it awesome?? Thanks for reading!

JOE BARNETT on March 15, 2010:

whew! i just saw it and. . . whew! it's really raw;a must see! great hub!

Holle Abee (author) from Georgia on March 14, 2010:

Okie dokey, Laurel!

Laurel Rogers from Grizzly Flats, Ca on March 14, 2010:

I thought it was only in theaters now...duh!

Bye!

Holle Abee (author) from Georgia on March 14, 2010:

Great, Idunn!

I'm tellin' ya, Msannec, Mo'Nique blew me away! She was unbelievable!

msannec from Mississippi (The Delta) on March 14, 2010:

Awesome review! I just saw the movie, and it is spectacular. Monique gave an interview, and in it she revealed that she was able to play that part and put so much into it because she was sexually abused by her brother when she was younger. She was incredible! So were Gabby and Mariah. I loved this movie, although it made me want to cry. Thanks for sharing your view!

Iðunn on March 14, 2010:

Yeah I just caught the ad for selling them yesterday. I am going to get. :)

Holle Abee (author) from Georgia on March 14, 2010:

Thanks, Sis! LEt me know how you like the movie!

Holle Abee (author) from Georgia on March 14, 2010:

Idunn, it's already out on video here, so maybe you can get it soon!

Angela Blair from Central Texas on March 13, 2010:

Superb review, Habee. I had planned on seeing the movie and after your review I'm definitely gonna see it. Thanks so much. Best, Sis

Iðunn on March 13, 2010:

great review, I so want to see this movie. Mo'Nique got the Oscar for it, I think the movie ended up with 4 Oscars actually.

It's not out for rent yet, so I haven't had a chance, but it's on my list.

You sound like me. I cry at everything. Sad movies, scary movies, happy movies, even boring movies. :p

Holle Abee (author) from Georgia on March 13, 2010:

Nemi - I am a super softie! I cry at commercials!

Holle Abee (author) from Georgia on March 13, 2010:

Good, Sandy! Hope you like it!

Holle Abee (author) from Georgia on March 13, 2010:

Prasetio, you probably don't want to watch it with kids - BAD language!

Holle Abee (author) from Georgia on March 13, 2010:

Veronica, there's just a snippet of the actual sexual abuse, but I understand how such a movie would be difficult for you. You turned into a wonderful adult!!

Holle Abee (author) from Georgia on March 13, 2010:

Pam and Michael, I hope you like it, and many thanks for reading!

Holle Abee (author) from Georgia on March 13, 2010:

Duchess, refer to comment I made to Herbi!

Holle Abee (author) from Georgia on March 13, 2010:

Actually, Herbi, it didn't make me cry - and I cry at commercials!

Sandy Mertens from Wisconsin, USA on March 13, 2010:

Great review. This movie is on my list.

Holle Abee (author) from Georgia on March 13, 2010:

Oh, Granny, you are too kind!

Holle Abee (author) from Georgia on March 13, 2010:

Ethel and Bpop, it's def worth a watch!

Nemingha on March 13, 2010:

Sounds like a movie that big softies like me would find too hard to watch. Glad you enjoyed it though.

Holle Abee (author) from Georgia on March 13, 2010:

Thanks, HH! I think you'll like this film!

Holle Abee (author) from Georgia on March 13, 2010:

Sadly, James, you're right. Glad you stopped by.

Holle Abee (author) from Georgia on March 13, 2010:

Thanks, GoGranny!

prasetio30 from malang-indonesia on March 13, 2010:

good review Habee, IT looks interesting movie. I try to rent the DVD and watch it with my family. Thank you for this information. good work

Holle Abee (author) from Georgia on March 13, 2010:

Thanks, Rob. I'll check it out now!

Holle Abee (author) from Georgia on March 13, 2010:

Laurel, I rented it last night.

Veronica Allen from Georgia on March 13, 2010:

You know habee - I haven't worked up the courage yet to see this movie.

A survivor of sexual abuse by the hands of my stepbrothers; movies like these tend to be extremely hard for me to watch.

I fortunately, had a mother who was truly my life-support then and now, in addition to friends and other family memebers that supported me. (I know that that is what contributes to my fearlessness and almost lionesses like approach when it comes down to protecting my own children) I think the rawness of the film is what will effect me the most.

The fact that both her parents - the ones who she should have been able to trust the most - abused her is so unsettling, especially since we know that these things do actually happen.

I can attest to her daydreaming however - it's a way to remove yourself out of an upleasent situation, a coping mechanism.

Although I haven't seen the movie and probably never will, I think you did a great job at reviewing it.

Michael Shane from Gadsden, Alabama on March 13, 2010:

It sounds precious! I went & put it in my que...

Pamela Oglesby from Sunny Florida on March 13, 2010:

Habee, This definitely sounds like a movie I would like to see. Great review.

Duchess OBlunt on March 13, 2010:

sounds like one I need to watch at home so I can blubber without anyone watching me. Thanks for the review

theherbivorehippi from Holly, MI on March 13, 2010:

I have been dying to see this movie! My mom wanted me to go with her to see it when it was in the theater and I refused, knowing it would be one to make me cry and I hate sitting in a movie theater crying. lol Thanks for the review!

Granny's House from Older and Hopefully Wiser Time on March 13, 2010:

As always a great hub. I love the way you write!

breakfastpop on March 13, 2010:

Dear habee,

This is a terrific review. I have to see this movie.

Ethel Smith from Kingston-Upon-Hull on March 13, 2010:

I shall have to check this one out. Thanks

Hello, hello, from London, UK on March 13, 2010:

Thank you, habee for giving such a great review. It really gives the longing to see it. You were great.

Holle Abee (author) from Georgia on March 12, 2010:

Glad to see you here, Chris!

Unchained Grace from Baltimore, MD on March 12, 2010:

Habee, I've seen this and it hits. Hits hard. From a different perspective you and I both have seeen children who bear the scars of this disgusting but often silenced behavior of those who prey upon children. You've seen it in the classroom. I've seen it in the streets of Baltimore.

GoGranny from Southeastern PA on March 12, 2010:

I think you did well on this review. Your comment about this movie having the feel of a documentary was good and I agree.

Rob from Oviedo, FL on March 12, 2010:

Very nice review. I liked it a lot, too. I did my own review of it on my weekly movie review site, if you want to take a look.

Laurel Rogers from Grizzly Flats, Ca on March 12, 2010:

I'm not sure if Precious will find it's way to our small town, Habee, but given your review, I'll definitely look for it on DVD.

Thanks,

Laurel

carolina muscle from Charlotte, North Carolina on March 12, 2010:

Habee: Great review.. I really got a feel for the pic!