Skip to main content

Hope World Mixtape: The Sunshine That J-Hope Brings

What matters most in the world of entertainment is the impact it brings to the audience, and the power it holds to spread that impact.



Hope World is J-Hope’s debut mixtape which was released on March 2, 2018 under Big Hit Entertainment (now known as HYBE Labels). During the time of the album’s release, J-Hope was considered the highest charting Korean soloist for peaking at 38 on the Billboard 200, marking it as the start of his success as an individual, on top of being a BTS member.

When I listened to his album, I was captivated by the unique and invigorating beat, flow, and just about everything that J-Hope and his co-producers put into this amazing album. And when I checked the English translation to the lyrics, I deeply felt that he truly lives up to his stage name by bringing hope to people. The songs mostly speak about hope, gratitude, not giving up on your dreams, and treating challenges and hard work as the foundation of success. Through this awesome album, J-Hope and his music serve as the sunshine that brightens my day up.


1. Hope World

The album starts with a track of the same title, Hope World. It’s a very positive introduction of J-Hope's life and upbringing. The song speaks about his gratitude for his parents, and the environment he was given. J-Hope expresses how he feels towards his life and the world he lives in. My favorite line from this song is, "Above the water, we become swans."


2. P.O.P (Piece of Peace) Pt. 1

In P.O.P, J-Hope not only lives up to his stage name as someone who brings hope, but also someone who brings peace. He extends his positivity to the dreamers out there who are going through hardships and obstacles to reach their dreams, because he has experienced them, too. He wants to be the source of strength, a ray of light, a piece of peace. My favorite line from this song is, "The standard of happiness is you."


3. Daydream

Daydream is my most favorite song from this album. It's also the most that I can relate to because it expresses dreaming about not worrying and just doing what you want to do. Like getting drunk until you go crazy, not thinking about work, just being young, wild, and free. But then there's reality that wakes you up because you've just been daydreaming. My favorite line from this song is, "Y'all must've been caught like fish in a net called 'desire' with thirst in life."

Scroll to Continue

4. Base Line

Base Line talks about the foundation of J-Hope's success today. In this song, he mentions about gratitude for his work as being his base line, the source of his success. That he debuted because he worked hard. My favorite lines are, "I work hard every day. Gratitude for my work is my base."


5. Hangsang

Hangsang speaks about savoring his abundant life as a result of his hard work. The song features Supreme Boi, a South Korean rapper and one of HYBE's producers. In this song, he flaunts about luxury brands, celebrity interactions, his label, his fans, and his team (BTS) to his haters, so yes, it's that kind of song where he slaps his haters with the results of his hard work. My favorite lines are, "We're looking ahead, fair and square. The records we set, our results."


6. Airplane

Airplane speaks about how J-Hope remembers the time when he was just dreaming about being in an airplane, and now that dream was fulfilled because he travels a lot and enjoys the time he spends in an airplane because it clears his mind. The song also talks about haters talking negatively about him, and that he just laughs at them while drinking champagne in his airplane. My favorite lines are, "I remember myself back at that moment when the barren land burned me down. I ran looking at the blue sky, wanting to fly in that airplane."


7. Blue Side

Blue Side is a song that J-Hope had a hard time finishing, and was finally able to finish, making it his first song. In his blog, he shared that he was feeling homesick. That when he was young and working, he was a black canvas, painting and filling himself with whatever drew his attention. He couldn't go back in time, but he needed a blue safe haven that could comfort him. My favorite lines are, "On the rainbow, I'm singing my blues, singing my bloom, back in my room. I miss these days. I was blue with light breaths. I measure the weight between calmness and passion. But now I just want to burn blue to death."



On the third anniversary of Hope World mixtape album, J-Hope surprised ARMYs with the full version of Blue Side which was released on March 2, 2021. The song is available on SoundCloud and has become one of my ultimate favorite tracks.

© 2021 Shey Saints

Related Articles