Updated date:

10 Best Websites For Music Reviews

Author:

Music is very important to me, but so is money. So when I hear that I should buy so and so's album or such and such's band ep I like to do a little investigating for myself before I fork out the $12-$20.

10. Music-reviewer.com

Music reviews that are honest, and not completely dry, are hard to come by. Introducing a non-paid off music review site. There aren't many features and it's a far throw from my number one spot, but it's better than a lot of music reviews.

9. Spin.com (aka Indie heaven)

If someone told you "You'll never hear them on the radio, but this band is AMAZING" the best place to find the review is Spin. If you are looking for a review on something that other people will listent to this is not the place. They are a little biased against people who get attention from the media, so I don't listen to their opinions on pop or anything mainstream. They'll pretty much hate on anything you can hear on the radio.

8. Altpress.com (aka Screamo/Emo/Hardcore/ Pop punk)

Alternative press reviews can be a little fluffy, but most are down to the point and honest. You can hardly find an album that has 4 or 5 stars, which means they grade pretty brutally, but fairly. If you're looking for hip hop or rap reviews this is not the place to be. These reviews are honest but tend to stick to the few core genres. I use these reviews quite often, but they don't cover all genres.

7. Billboard.com ( All encompassing)

This articles do indeed have quite a bit of shameless promotion, but if you're looking for what's gonna be big next, Billboard is the way to go. They are not completely bought out and do have some honest reviews. The reviews aren't what take me to this website, but following the charts is a pretty good determiner. If indie music is your game, this isn't the website for you, but other than that this website will help you out. Sometimes you need to just watch the market instead of reading all the reviews of the stocks, so this is the website that brings that to the music world.

6. crediblemusicreviews.com (Mainstream)

If you're looking for a review of pretty much any type of music but something you'll hear on a top 10 countdown, here is the website. The reviews are brutally honest and the star ratings don't range much higher than 2, but it's honest and it's a good comprehensive site.

5. Rollingstone.com (hear for yourself)

I'm sure you were expecting Rolling stone to be earlier or later on this list, but I don't think it's horrible or splendid. The fact that reviews are far and few between if it's not super popular, but the fact that if Rolling Stone has heard of the band you're able to listen to the songs. I love that. It gives you the chance to review music for yourself, but it doesn't give you a huge idea if it's going to stick. Sure you like that song but do you want to pay all that money for those songs? Only time will tell, so being able to listen to the songs is good, but it doesn't make up for the fac that there are so few reviews.

4. nytimes.com/pages/arts/music/

I bet you weren't expecting to see the New York Times on here. This website isn'tthe best for new music, but if you're into older music and you're looking into reviews of them and for news of them this is the website. They do include some reviews of newer super popular stuff. I would recommend this site for people who want reviews of popular stuff as well as updates on the older stuff.

3. Allmusicguide.com

This website gives comprehensible backgrounds and actually recomends artists and albums that go along with that type of music. Most websites give you popular bands that are "vaguely" similar, but this website doesn't discriminate and gives an equal spot to indie and pop. This website also, for once, has a search engine that actually works. THis website is good if you want to know about your artist as well as know if they're any good.

2. artistdirect.com

Can a music review site actually combine buying music, reviews, vides and not make it to number one? sadly yes. This website is nearly perfect, nearly. It has good honest reviews, and includes videos in the artist overview. This website also shamelessly promotes the pop and massivly huge bands. I looked up a rock band and my suggestions were Plain White T's and Panic at the Disco. I don't really mind, but I would rather have had bands that actually apply. Other than that, this website is nearly perfect.

1. iTunes Store

I know you weren't expecting that. I find that most reviews written on itunes are honest, true and nonbiased. Sure there are gonna be a few "OMG BEZT BAND EVRRRRRRR" but there are also quite a few good reviews.

To tell you the truth I think the best way to review music is to listen to it yourself. Try using Allmusicguide.com and listen to the music. Good Luck! And Happy Hunting for GREAT music.

Comments

Dallton Santos from São Paulo, Brazil on January 21, 2019:

New enjoy :) https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CV8rZUdByfk

Omari Dunwoody on February 28, 2018:

Beyoncé's music and album Lemonade is dope, hot, gorgeous and off the meat hook.

james on October 15, 2014:

https://soundcloud.com/jdcarter1980/tracks

check out my beats

DivaShane on September 01, 2014:

I just recently launched a music review site myself. It's mostly indie and "new" bands that I am reviewing though I have done some major label stuff. I get all my submissions off twitter so it's whoever asks for a review gets one. I try to be honest with all my reviews but it would be nice to get a bit of feedback from users on the site. If you get a chance to check it out leave me a note and let me know what you think. http://www.musicbank.co

Johnk471 on May 17, 2014:

I do trust all of the ideas you've presented in your post. They're very convincing and can certainly work. Nonetheless, the posts are very short for beginners. May just you please lengthen them a bit from next time? Thanks for the post. eedgckdbkkda

Chris on December 15, 2013:

I'm just going to throw my indie oriented review website out there. I also write some content on film and helping musicians out with setting up studios and such. I won't say it's "the best" out there, but I'd love to hear some opinions if anyone has some to offer.

http://www.heartheindie.com

peter fangorn on November 06, 2013:

http://www.highcut.org has really good reviews of the latest realeases in the music scene. It's all about electronic music later than 2010 releases. Avantgarde music

Blake on September 01, 2013:

SERIOUSLY, you forgot http://todaysmusicreviews.com? Best ever.

Gerry on July 31, 2013:

I like to use http://newmusicblog.eu

Jeffree Benet on July 10, 2013:

Sometimes the best music sites don't just have reviews written by snobby critics, but by the bands themselves. Few musicians would aggrandise themselves for fear of looking like fools, so you can get some really great insights into the music. http://www.gashaus.com is one such site, so if you'd like to submit a review or read a few, I highly recommend!

Woowoowoo on June 26, 2013:

Wow, I cant believe they forgot sputnikmusic. That's the best

Russell English on March 26, 2013:

Another great review site is http://www.a3musiconline.com they are a online reviews site for new music and established artists.

Dvda777 on March 15, 2013:

wow! I just received an iTunes card pin number for free from this site freeitunesforever[dot]com :D

Dmh0129 on February 20, 2013:

I just got some free iTunes from freeitunesforever com

Anon on February 18, 2013:

Pitchfork is terrible? Seriously? They may not rate music according to general preferences but they rate music as what it is, music. They comment on every single element of it based on its genre, and they review EVERYTHING.

aahhhdjsdhsidss on December 31, 2012:

I like http://todaysmusicreviews.com too

helloeveryonehere on December 31, 2012:

I like todaysmusicreviews.com

It reviews popular music

anarchyintheuk on December 08, 2012:

I would also like to add

http://indiebandsblog.com

As a good source for brand new bands

Chris on November 22, 2012:

I checked it out and Beardfood.com is great

Jake on November 03, 2012:

I like Beardfood because of the easy to read shot album reviews:

http://beardfood.com

Scott on October 12, 2012:

a new up-and-coming website featuring new bands:

http://ampkicker.com

Scott on October 10, 2012:

Check out Blues Rock Review bluesrockreview.com for lots of up and coming blue rock artist.

Luke Chant from Manchester on October 09, 2012:

I used this page as a rough guide for people to bother with my press release! Thanks!

Candice on September 12, 2012:

music emissions

Rick on August 21, 2012:

checkout http://consequenceofsound.net

Albert on June 21, 2012:

I'm going to recommend also www.romanmidnightmusic.blogspot.com for rock & metal across the spectrum, indie & mainstream, very honest (really), informative.

Lydia Holland on June 14, 2012:

This website is rubbish.

maika on April 11, 2012:

Music Video, website of ASCAP, music very, very good

http://maxiocio.net

jay on December 07, 2011:

Placing iTunes at number one is absolutely shameless.

Dick Metcalf on December 03, 2011:

Music can also be submitted for review to my magazine, IMPROVIJAZZATION NATION, up & running since 1990... at http://rotcodzzaj.com/wordpress/?page_id=42

Frankie on November 01, 2011:

Allmusicguide WAS good, but isn't any longer in my experience. They did have unbiased views on any genre for what it was, from Debussy to Placebo to Elton John to Trance, they were invariably right on the money. Something must have changed because now they tend to miss the mark on a regular basis, they're just plain wrong much of the time ...hence my search for your site reviews. Some great options. Thanks!

Carl on November 01, 2011:

A great site for reviews of both indie music and major labels is Spectrum Culture (http://www.spectrumculture.com/). Very honest, unbiased reviews, and well written

Lee Fitz on October 05, 2011:

I have another one for you; MetalTalk.net! Pretty much targeted towards rock and metal fans and not right across the board but really indepth news, features and reviews in these genres! \m/

Keith on September 14, 2011:

Music Emissions does podcasts of strictly unsigned or smaller bands every month. Been using that site for years.

gaunge on September 11, 2011:

Here is a great site that reviews unsigned bands.. www.musicreviewunsigned.com number 1 in our book..

xinaida on September 08, 2011:

Quite useful information. I also add Metacritic.com, which encompasses various magazine, newspaper & web reviews, as well as users' reviews.

lizzie c on August 08, 2011:

If you like 60s and 70s music the best review site around is www.alansalbumarchives.moonfruit.com - it has so much detailed information!

daviddwarren22 on June 06, 2011:

Thanks for the reviews.

Spineless on April 14, 2011:

err Sputnik?

Mark Brewster on April 11, 2011:

I like adriandenning.co.uk

SteelTom on April 02, 2011:

nice! thanks for the music site tips.

Lydia Kanthak from Chicago on March 26, 2011:

Great article! I love reading music reviews, so it's great to have some new places to find them.

Ronald on March 18, 2011:

I am very pleased with the product Butler Patches provided for me. Also, I was extremely impressed with the turn around time and how quickly my order arrived at my door. Well done! I will definitely order from Butler Patches again!

Buttler Patches

progfrog on February 23, 2011:

www.progarchives.com is the definitive place to go for those who like rio/avant progressive,jazz fusion, electronic music, and traditional symphonic progressive bands. A good source for listed personnel on albums, new releases. Interesting forums as well

fergus on February 10, 2011:

hi, really good stuff guys. I am based in ireland and seems to be crazy system out there ! i been recording with 3 artists who have worked with the likes of david Gray,Michael Stipes, Malcom Mc Claren, Van Morrison, Ron Wood I kid you not ! see www.stillwatersessions.com Top 10 album charts 3 times but tryin to get a few words of space in America just seems impossible. have journalists in Europe who are now taking interest but would think pedigree alone would at least count for a looksee in US at least!happening on both sides for us and the listener thanks for this info and will give it a shot guys !

Spuderrific on February 09, 2011:

For rants and stories masquerading as thorough reviews, see www.mylesreviews.com.

hindisongs on February 03, 2011:

This is a good information i got from here.

overmatik on February 01, 2011:

Pitchfork is terrible. Just read the review of the last Kanye West album. They gave it a 10.

Peter Falkenberg Brown on January 15, 2011:

I'd like to recommend "MusicViews", a column published in the Significato Journal, written by Kimmy Sophia Brown, at:

http://significatojournal.com/columns/musicviews

Reviews focus on independent music and music that Kimmy Sophia loves, and wants to share with others.

... and yes, Kimmy Sophia and I are the co-publishers of said journal :-).

Peter Falkenberg Brown

DanielCook from London on January 14, 2011:

Pitchfork is great

Album on January 10, 2011:

Wow, all these sites are pretty good

http://albumdownload.org/

lukeyg83 from Leicester on September 28, 2010:

Great hub, id like to throw my site into the ring as well if I may:

http://all-noise.co.uk

We aim for honest, well-written reviews that are comprehensive as well as entertaining.

nme.com is also a good one, although they do try too hard to be distinctive and idiosyncratic rather than actually tell you what it sounds like!

BenLowe from Austin, TX on July 09, 2010:

Some other good ones:

allmusic.com - incredible and comprehensive site

pitchfork.com - if you're into some indie, underground, and non-mainstream stuff

brian on November 03, 2009:

Altho Allmusicguide is fairly comprehensive with great reviews, there are a HUGE number of broken links, some even from the main navigation. It may be that my main areas of interest are a bit marginal - heavy gothic metal - it stills seems strange to have so many dud links.

Wyldflow3r on October 17, 2009:

Very informative!!

Devils Gurl on February 23, 2009:

I can recommend 2 others.....

www.musicemissions.com

www.cdbaby.com

Related Articles