Skip to main content

Learn About the Continent of Europe for Kids

  • Author:
  • Updated date:

Europe is the second smallest of the seven continents on Earth. Australia is the smallest. But Europe is the third most populated continent with more than 700 million people. Only Asia and Africa have more people. The most widely spoken languages in Europe are German, French, English, Italian, Polish and Spanish.

Europe is connected to Asia. Sometimes Europe and Asia are called Eurasia. Some of the largest cities in Europe are Moscow in Russia, London in the United Kingdom, Berlin in Germany, Madrid in Spain, and Paris in France. Different areas of Europe are Western Europe, Eastern Europe, Northern Europe, Central Europe, and Southern Europe.


Europe has about 50 countries. Some like Finland and Sweden are in the cold north. Others are in the sunny south, like Spain and Italy. Countries like Greenland and Iceland are very far from Europe but are still considered to be part of the continent. Countries like Monaco and Andorra are much smaller than many cities.

Russia is in both Europe and Asia. The Ural Mountains separate the European side of the country from the Asian side. Europe is bordered by the Arctic and Atlantic Oceans. The Mediterranean Sea is another large body of water.

A street in Europe

A street in Europe

The Volga River in Russia is the longest river in Europe. The tallest mountain is Mont Blanc, on the border between France and Italy.

Europe also has deserts. Many people think of deserts as very hot places. But a desert is an area with little rainfall or other precipitation. About one-third of the country of Iceland is desert.

Europe is famous for its many castles. Thousands of castles were built during a time called the Middle Ages. They were built by kings and lords.

Many castles are tourist sites today. Some are crumbling ruins. Europe still has some kings, queens, princes, and princesses, so some castles are still homes for royalty. Windsor Castle is one of the homes of Queen Elizabeth II, the queen of England.

The Countries of the World Song - Europe

Scroll to Continue

List of Countries in Europe

  • Albania
  • Andorra
  • Austria
  • Belarus
  • Belgium
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina
  • Bulgaria
  • Croatia
  • Cyprus
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • Faroe Islands
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Gibraltar
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • Ireland
  • Isle of Man
  • Italy
  • Jersey
  • Kosovo
  • Latvia
  • Liechtenstein
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Macedonia
  • Malta
  • Moldova
  • Monaco
  • Montenegro
  • Netherlands
  • Norway
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Romania
  • Russia
  • San Marino
  • Serbia and Montenegro
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • Ukraine
  • United Kingdom
  • Vatican
There are many castles in Europe

There are many castles in Europe

List of Countries in the European Union (EU)

The European Union (EU) is an economic and political union of several countries. It operates a single market that allows free movement of goods, people, capital, and services between member states. They share a single currency called the Euro.

The countries of the EU are:

Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Republic of Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, and Sweden

Location of Europe on a world map

Location of Europe on a world map

A relief map of Europe

A relief map of Europe

This content reflects the personal opinions of the author. It is accurate and true to the best of the author’s knowledge and should not be substituted for impartial fact or advice in legal, political, or personal matters.

© 2013 JoanCA


anamika on June 30, 2015:

O one of the best pages.. Helped me complete my geography project.

Related Articles