Skip to main content

Getting to Know the Regions in Japan

Based on geography and culture, Japan is divided into 8 regions and 47 prefectures. Each region has its own dialect, eating habits and local

In addition to administrative divisions, Japan recognizes regional divisions based on geographic location, culture, economy, and history.

Outside of Japan, the territory of Japan is generally known only from four islands: Hokkaido, Honshu (main island), Shikoku, and Kyūsh. However, in Japan, the division of territory may vary according to the context.

1. Hokkaido


Hokkaido is the northernmost part of Japan and is the largest of the country's 47 prefectures comprising 22 percent of the country's total land area.

In winter, the average temperature is minus 7.5 degrees Celsius and snow is everywhere.

A number of ski resorts and the Sapporo Snow Festival attract visitors from all over the world.

In summer, the highest temperatures average above 25 degrees Celsius. This makes Hokkaido a popular destination for summer vacations as well.

The night view of Mount Hakodate is recognized as one of the best in the world.

Many people come to Hokkaido to enjoy fresh seafood, especially crab. Not only that, this region is also famous for its delicious dairy products.

2. Tohoku


The Tohoku region consists of six prefectures. The most famous and largest city in the region is Sendai, Miyagi Prefecture.

Aomori Prefecture is known for the highest production and quality of apples in Japan and is also known as the hometown of the prominent novelist, Osamu Dazai.

Akita, located next to Aomori, produces rice that is unrivaled in all of Japan.

For many Japanese, the first impression when visiting Akita is probably the "beauty of Akita".

3. Kanto


The Kanto region is the most populous region in Japan. This area is included in the Greater Tokyo Area and consists of seven prefectures.

Yokohama which is the second largest city in Japan is the capital city of Kanagawa Prefecture.

The famous Tokyo Disneyland tourist spot is in Chiba Prefecture. The famous Kusatsu Onsen Hot Springs in Gunma Prefecture and the Nikko Toshogu Shrine World Heritage Site in Tochigi Prefecture are all located in the Kanto region.

4. Chubu

Scroll to Continue

The Chubu region includes nine prefectures. The largest city in the region is Nagoya in Aichi Prefecture.

Nagoya is also the fourth largest city in Japan. Aichi Prefecture is also home to Toyota Motor Corporation.

Mount Fuji, which is a symbol of Japan and one of the most famous mountains in the world, is also in the area.

Not only that, in this area there is the Shirakawa-go World Heritage Site. The site is famous for its historic traditional farmhouse.

In winter, Nagano is one of the most popular destinations for ski and snowboarding lovers.

5. Kinki


The Kinki Region consists of seven prefectures and is also known as the Kansai Region if Mie Prefecture is excluded.

The Kinki region is one of the best places to explore Japan for first-time visitors to Japan.

This is because all the must-visit tourist spots such as Kyoto, Osaka, Nara, Kobe, and Himeji Castle are in this area.

The region has many valuable National Treasure and World Heritage sites.

Visitors can also find most of traditional Japanese food here.

Although Osaka is known as the country's kitchen, Kyoto sweets and Kobe beef are also very popular Japanese foods and are claimed to represent Japanese cuisine.

6. Chugoku


The Chugoku region includes five prefectures. The most popular destination here is Hiroshima City, which was badly damaged by the atomic bombing.

Considered one of the must-visit places in Japan, the Hiroshima Peace Memorial Museum attracts more than a million people every year.

Tottori Prefecture is famous for its sand dunes. This area is also famous among manga fans as the birthplace of Gosho Aoyama who is the author of the manga "Detective Conan".

7. Shikoku


The Shikoku region consists of four prefectures. The area is famous for the Shikoku 88 Shrine Pilgrimage, which attracts pilgrims from home and abroad.

One of the most popular destinations in the region is the hot springs of Dogo Onsen in Ehime Prefecture, which is said to have inspired Hayao Miyazaki's film "Spirited Away".

Meanwhile, Kagawa Prefecture is the smallest prefecture in Japan that has several big names. Naoshima is an island of modern art in the Seto Inland Sea that is part of Kagawa Prefecture.

Udon is one of the most famous and delicious Japanese dishes in Kagawa.

8. Kyushu


Kyushu Region means Nine Provinces because historically there were nine provinces located on the island.

Currently, the Kyushu Region consists of seven prefectures, including Okinawa Prefecture which is considered a separate territory by some.

Kyushu is blessed with many stunning natural landscapes. This region has beautiful beaches, volcanoes, and hot springs.

Japan's famous tonkotsu (pork bone) ramen is a specialty of Kyushu. Visitors can also enjoy Yatai food stalls in Fukuoka and socialize with the locals.

The most famous character in this area is Kumamon, a cute black bear mascot created by the government of Kumamoto Prefecture.

Okinawa is a subtropical island, even in winter when the temperature is above 10 degrees celsius.

The prefecture is known for many of the most beautiful beaches in Japan, attracting many tourists to explore its crystal clear waters and colorful coral reefs.

Related Articles