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Best Practices for Seo Content Writing

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Sritam is an SEO content writer with full exposure to subjects like leadership, public speaking, emotional intelligence, employee wellbeing.


What SEO content writing?

SEO content writing is the strategy of writing content that helps search engines check the quality of the content. The quality of the content is dependent on the implementation of keywords and key phrases.

Before diving into SEO content writing, it is essential to understand SEO.


What is SEO?

SEO refers to Search Engine Optimization. SEO is how a website can be better for search engines. For example, a website that provides information related to Fintech solutions should be easily visible when someone is looking for such information on Google Chrome/Mozilla Firefox/Bold etc. Visibility is dependent on the crawling of the search engine. For example, when content is uploaded on the internet, the search engine will first check the contents and the codes for every URL. With more simple words, it can be said that search engine reads website through crawling. Then search engine stores what has been found through crawling. This stage is known as indexing. Based on these two findings, the search engine provides some parts of the content which are the best results for any query. Therefore, if the content is filled with keywords that are easy to crawl, it will get better visibility and ranking. If a website page is shown on the 100th search result of Google chrome, then with the help of SEO content writing, it may get the chance to be seen on the 10th search result. To make content more search engine friendly, one has to go through a thorough keyword search.


Best Practices

Now the question may arise what the benefit of being at the top of the search results is? The answer is simple. It will help the webpage to get more traffic which will generate revenue for the page. To get more revenue, it is necessary to adopt best practices to help the content be among the top results.

First of all, it is important to set some goals. These goals can be called KPIs or Key performance indicators. Some of the common KPIs can be –

– Organic traffic – refers to the visitors who land on the page from unpaid sources. Organic traffic increases the website’s trust, which eventually increases the website traffic.

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– Conversion rate – Conversion rate depends on the total number of conversions and total ad interactions within the same period. For example, if there are 20 conversions from 400 interactions, the conversion rate will be (20/400)*100 = 5%. Conversion rates help to identify the effectiveness of advertisements.

– Backlinks – a link that links a particular webpage with another. For example, if there are two sites – A and B. Site A has an external link that connects with the backlink, which is added to site B. This appears to be a gesture of confidence and trust which will help search engines to recommend visitors to enter the site.

– Click-through rate – Click-through rate refers to the percentage of people entering into a webpage and clicking on a particular advertisement from the page.

– SERP – Search engine result pages are the snippets of the web page. This is a specific part that represents the website. It will also determine what the landing page of the website will look like. Based on the traffic and ranking system, two different websites which provide content on the same subject may look different. SERP of one website may be represented as a generic blue link, while the other one may get the opportunity to be represented with images and bold texts.

Along with KPIs, Keyword research is truly essential. Searching keywords using specific tools/software can help a website provide rich content. It is important to use those keywords and phrases very carefully as often over usage of keywords decreases the chances of higher ranking. Google Keyword Planner, Ahrefs keyword generator, and Ubersuggest are some of the popular keyword searching tools.

Knowing your audience is also a best practice that should come even before advertisement and other paid traffic. Often companies do not understand the target audience and provide content. This leads to a decrease in traffic. There has to be relevance with respect to product/service/trends or industry-related affairs.

A website has to keep all the original content under the organization’s domain. If someone has a blog, it will be wise to put all the blogs, videos, and other related content under the same domain name.

Incorporating relevant images can also attract more visitors to read the content properly. It helps the content developers to engage visitors more. Sharing content over different social media platforms like Facebook, Pinterest and other professional platforms like LinkedIn increases natural traffics.


This content is accurate and true to the best of the author’s knowledge and is not meant to substitute for formal and individualized advice from a qualified professional.

© 2022 Sritam

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