Updated date:

Charmed Knits Knitting Projects Reviewed by and for Fans of Harry Potter

Brenda is an Ottawa native with a small eBay store. As Treasures by Brenda she sells a variety of new, used and vintage merchandise.

Charmed Knits Projects for Fans of Harry Potter

Charmed Knits Projects for Fans of Harry Potter

Want A Harry Potter Scarf? Charmed Knits Projects Will Help You Knit One For You Or For Your Fan of Harry Potter!

Since the very first Harry Potter movie, I have wanted a Harry Potter scarf. I even went so far as to purchase the yarn, in burgundy and gold, to make one. However, all these years have passed (the first Harry Potter movie, Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone was released in 2001) and I still don't have one.

It was therefore with interest that I read of Charmed Knits: Projects for Fans of Harry Potter by Alison Hansel. For the price of not much more than a single pattern, I have a book packed with projects for people like myself who love Harry Potter!

Granted many of the patterns are beyond my knitting ability, for remembering how to knit well enough to do a scarf is a challenge. Knitting a sweater or a pair of socks, well, let's just say THAT should prove beyond my meagre knitting ability.

On this page, find a brief review of this knitting pattern book PLUS (and more importantly) find the review of other knitters, amateur and expert and even those who are somewhere in between in knitting ability. I hope it inspires you to make a scarf or a sweater or even a pair of socks, if that is what interests you. And don't forget you can always ask a knitting grandma, aunt or friend to create an item for you, which may be the answer to your quest for a handmade Harry Potter scarf!

Harry Potter's Sweater

Harry Potter's Sweater

Charmed Knits: Projects for Fans of Harry Potter Book Description

Harry Potter's red sweater.

Use the magical knitting abilities that you did or did not know you had to conjure up some Harry Potter knitted pieces but don't go it alone. Check out this book, Charmed Knits, which offers many Harry Potter themed pieces including but not limited to a wizarding robe, an invisibility cloak, a sweater from Quidditch, a raglan sweater like the one Ron wears, a blanket and even some Christmas decorations.

It features colored photographs of each project, patterns and illustrations designed to "make it easy" for all from beginners to Mrs. Weasley's more advanced knitting level.

Use the patterns to create Harry Potter themed projects for yourself or for the other Harry Potter geeks in your family.


Harry Potter  House Socks

Harry Potter House Socks

Readers Say...

Music Lover from Wisconsin writes that she is a Muggle who has a 14-year old Potterhead and four extended family members who are batty over Harry Potter. She says this book has projects ranging from small to big and that they are sized from toddler to adult XXL. She particularly likes the invisibility cloak that is created in a "pale gray laceweight cashmere" and the house scarf bookmarks.

Manchesterunicorn says she's a bit fan and a beginning knitter. She likes this book and intends to use it to become a better knitter.

Finally, Adrienne Mueller says she loves the book and everything in it from the Weasley sweater to the quidditch socks.


Find Charmed Knits: Projects for Fans of Harry Potter on eBay.

Charmed Knits Projects for Fans of Harry Potter

Charmed Knits Projects for Fans of Harry Potter

Another Review of Charmed Knits: Projects For Fans of Harry Potter

  • Charmed Knits Harry Potter Knits Review From Knittingneels
    "Patterns are clear and well written with larger-than-normal text. Pattern difficulty is rated from First Year (easy), OWL level (moderate) to NEWT (difficult). What I like most about the book is the versatility of the patterns. Sizes for most garmen

More Harry Potter Reading

© 2010 Treasures By Brenda

Are YOU interested in a scarf, sweater or even socks knitted from Charmed Knits: Projects for Fans of Harry Potter?

Kimberly Schimmel from Greensboro, NC on May 24, 2013:

@TreasuresBrenda: The patterns in the book are very clear. The author is a very good knitter who can write excellent instructions.

Treasures By Brenda (author) from Canada on May 24, 2013:

@kimberlyschimmel: You must be a talented knitter. I have a son who would love to own a Quidditch sweater but alas, his mother does not knit.

Kimberly Schimmel from Greensboro, NC on April 21, 2013:

I love this book! I just finished the Mrs. Weasley housecoat with the fabulous sleeves. I've also done the scarves, Quidditch sweater, and socks.

anonymous on June 10, 2011:

The items featured here are smashing! I've don't plan to knit anything myself because Mrs. Wesley and Ginny keep me well stocked in charming knits.

Susan Deppner from Arkansas USA on May 02, 2011:

What great projects for Harry Potter fans! These would be fun gifts to make. Returning the lensroll to my Marie Osmond Heartfelt Giving book lens. Bet she'd enjoy these projects, too!

Related Articles